We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly holiday location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly holiday location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Second visit - just as good as last year, we found the entertainment even better this time, the dancing was quite professional. Everyone is really helpful and friendly. Food was great. February/march is a good time to visit as the temperature is just right.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,225
    1,053
    418
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,774
1,813
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our first visit here but certainly not the last. The moment we arrived to the sad time when we had to leave was stress free, relaxing & full of smiling happy staff. The hotel cannot be faulted; helpful staff, beautiful surroundings, a choice of pools,gorgeous beach, lovely food/drink & a clean room (thank you Sayed). The animation team work so hard but aren't pushy & love to have a chat to see how you are, they really do make a difference to the atmosphere. A special mention goes to Marley.
The best snorkelling is in front the next door hotel. The coral is in good condition & the variety of fish is astonishing.
We celebrated our wedding anniversary & had a lovely meal in the Asian a la carte restaurant & were surprised by a beautiful cake & the waiters singing- thanks guys. All the a la carte restaurants are worth a visit, our favourites were the Asian & Med.
It's worth walking along the promenade in each direction & walking along the piers to see the fish if you don't fancy getting wet.
As we felt so at home here we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Block 33 is very close to reception & a quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have been to this hotel several times and this was our best holiday ever,a beautiful hotel with excellent facilities.The rooms are of a high standard and are cleaned daily.The hotel reception staff are always very helpful.The main restraurant caters for all taste and the waiters are very very helpful and nothing is to much trouble,all the al la carte restraurants are superb our favourite was the asian and a special mention to ali and mohamed for looking after us so well.The animation team are brilliant and worked their socks off to keep everybody entertained,they were always around and a great help when needed,there was always something for us to do throughout the day,we especially enjoyed the nighttime shows.We would like to mention the gardeners how hard they work to keep the gardens neat for our benefit.Look forward to coming back soon.David and Linda from st marys bay

Room Tip: Blocks 10 to 14 are good upper floor a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mr. David and Mrs. Linda,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

A wonderful place to spend your holidays. It is clean and well organized with magnificent scenery. There were plenty of activities to suite everyone. The staff members are all very friendly, decent and pleasant.
I recommend that you all take a vacation at this special place. Have a nice stay in Egypt!
P.S: Many thanks to Mr. Ghazal form the animation team

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!


We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

nice view good fresh air.
good water sports
nice green area
good staff
good night shows
good services
no swimming pools for children
and adults
no disturbance
all of this because you are in lovely Egypt

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dokdok86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

Regarding the swimming pools we do have 8 spools and 6 of them are heated for adults and children.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this wonderful resort. We were 4 friends travelling together in order to help the convalescence of one of our group from a major cancer operation last year and 50th birthdays for 2 of our group. We needed 2 rooms, one twin and another with two bedrooms (for peace and privacy to help the recovery) so a family room was our best option. We e mailed the hotel beforehand with our requirements and despite a bumpy start for the first night they did their utmost to help and by day 2 we had perfect rooms in a perfect location with a cleaner/chamber person called Anwar who was excellent.
Many thanks to the animation team (don't be put off by the word 'animation' they deal with everything like modern day 'redcoats') especially Marley and Angelika who went out of their way to help make our holiday perfect.
Never short of things to eat, all tastes are catered for. Tip.... Try to book an a la carte restaurant for each evening....the main buffet can be a bit if a free for all! There are six or seven a la cartes so plenty if choice.
Also many thanks to Ahmed and both Abdels in the lobby bar for making us feel special.
Before booking excursions with your rep take the chance to see what's available elsewhere too. We got a discount from the great guys at the beach entrance of the hotel next door (fort arabesque ) called iDive we did a snorkelling trip and a trip to see the dolphins (brilliant!)
The pools are great, as are the gardens. There's not much outside the hotel apart from other hotels which you can walk through with small souk about halfway round the bay. Shuttle buses and taxis available to take you into Hurghada if you wish trance from airport...about 40mins.
We did a two day trip to Luxor mid holiday. Felt safe at all times (booked with www.redseatranfers.com ) very quiet at the moment so no queues for the sights at Luxor and Karnak temples, valley of the kings etc.

We are all ready planning to go back this time next year......can hardly wait! Oh....when you arrive they will say welcome home! Don't worry sounds cheesy but it's only on arrival!

Don't forget a few tips in the right places go a long way! Try and get small money at the airport banks, a 10 egyptian pounds note is worth less than £1 UK.

Room Tip: Try for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marktraindriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a brilliant time at this resort and the attention to detail is outstanding. The Animation team are fantastic and deserving a special mention are Marley and Angelica who made our stay so special. Really did not want to leave and will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayestamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear our valued guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing