We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Animation Team Big thank you to Karem!x”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Animation Team Big thank you to Karem!x”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

An excellent animation team! Karem,Marely,John,Kojow, Natalie and Coco were by far the most nicest people that made our holiday at the Sunrise Royal Makadi. They would always make time to talk no matter what time of day. Activites that we mainly taken part in was archery and shuffle board which we always enjoyed! i would say the animaion team are brilliant with most of the activites an shows that they put on and take part in. Also the both djs work very hard!

use are all very good ( Mia Mia) at the job you do and put in 110 percent effort!!

A big thank you to Abdo at the pergola bar! always made us smile and had good service! Also a big thank you to Hasan at the family pool followed by Mohammed in the pool bar(family pool)and all the staff at the lobby bar

will be coming back to the hotel!!

Melissa,Alex and hayley

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa20112111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guests

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,726
    1,096
    432
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,120
1,937
107
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My biggest problem was breakfasts. There were 2 coffee automats but one of them never worked during my 14 days holiday. You have to get into line to get a coffee but one was not enough for the full hotel. Poor machine was breaking down every 20 minutes. Several times i had to spent 20 minutes to get a coffee. Bars are opening 10 O'Clock so only coffe was in the main restaurant.
One other minus there is no real coffe in the hotel coffe is only from automats.
Second big problem was some staff not kind and even able to shouting at clients!
Rest was ok for egypt

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexanderka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Public Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Another fantastic time at the sunrise,our 10th time, gets better each time, our second home. All the staff are soooooo friendly.Just one big happy family, mahmoud at the vip pool was there every morning to greet us with his big smile.food fantastic as usual chistmas was just magical.See you all again in may Natalie and all our friends in the Asian, Italian,steak house, Mediterranean.etc.Can't wait for may.If you are thinking of going just go and try it! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: High floors good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guests

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

+ANIMATION TEAM!!!!
+Sunbed on the beach
+24hours bar
+a'la carte restaurant
+swimming pools

THE BIGGEST MINUS
First language in hotel is Russian
- Most of the cocktails tastes as TESCO VALUE vodka left for all day on sunshine
-reception not interested to help you( i have changed 2 times in same night key fob. Need to go all way to reception changed key going back to room to see that is not working again!!Again way to reception and back to room )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neo0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.


We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

An excellent animation team at this hotel really made our holiday, John, Karem, Natalie & Marley were by far some of the most friendliest people that we met during our holiday. They would always make time to talk to us no matter what time of day. The activities that they provided during the holiday were brilliant with sports activities on the beach which were highly entertaining, as well as the pool games which were really competitive. As well as this we had football matches most afternoons and pool tournaments in the evenings which were both very good. Overall I would say the animation team are fantastic at what they do and the main reason for people enjoying their holiday. Free Wi-Fi access was disappointing and often poor as once you could finally get connected it often chucked you off after only 5 or 10 minutes, this became very frustrating. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful and their spoken English was very good. The a la carte restaurants were superb but the main buffet restaurant was at times disappointing as it didn't cater for children or British tastes unless you were willing to try something new. Well maintained pools, beach and gardens. Would recommend to families at any time of the year. I think the animation team make this hotel what it is!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations,

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I visited Sunrise Makadi hotel during Christmas holidays with my family. I've been to Egypt 6 times previously ,the hotel animation team works none stop on customer care fantastic effort to them all, although rooms are a little dated this in no way reflects the hotel-whatsoever as you only spend a short time in your room,food was plentiful and a great selection to choose
The hotel is spotless and full credit to the whole sunrise team. Al a carte gives an added choice and a fantastic computer booking in system for this.
If I was to return to makadi then this would be the hotel I would return to and we have stayed in 5 so far
Well done team for a great Christmas in a lovely friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second visit to the Royal Makadi,the first being christmas 2011. It was evident that the hotel was below capacity as they weren't having christmas eve dinner in the marquee this year but in the buffet restaurant..The smaller restaurant which we had breakfast in on our last visit was closed this time so we had no choice but to eat in the main buffet restaurant every morning.In the evenings we ate mainly in the a-la-carte restaurants which were on the whole very good if at times rushed you through the meal a bit.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and as we had e-mailed ahead of our visit we got a room in the area we had requested.The animation team were lovely and very friendly and Marley especially was very helpful when we couldn't access the free wi-fi,which has very poor.connectivity The main problem for us is that there isn't a proper bar, only the lobby bars which are large open areas and are not welcoming or pleasant places to spend the evening. All in all it was what we wanted-a relaxing week in the sun in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westyorksman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations,

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,207 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing