We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Another amazing holiday 27/09/2013 - 11/10/2013 at Sunrise royal makadi we traveled at a time when unfortunately for Egyptian tourism only flights from the UK were flying to Hurghada (Thankfully this started to change during our stay) This meant that the hotel was running at greatly reduced occupancy levels but I am happy to report guests received no reduction in the level of facilities available and we all felt the hotel provided the normal 1st class service that we have become accustomed to in all of our previous visits.

The hotels slogan "Welcome home" comes into play as soon as you enter the reception on arrival as you are made to feel as thought you are returning to a second home.

I have reviewed this hotel so many times over the last 7 years that there is no point repeating what has been said by myself in the past but the one single thing I would like to comment on is the improvement in the Guest service center team, we felt during our last visit in May that some of the then new team members where not up to the standards we had come to expect from this hotel, I can only assume the hotel management felt the same way as we found the one or two we were not impressed with had gone and been replaced with outstanding replacements even including a new Guest services Manager/Supervisor in Kseniia and excellent leader of a now great team, The two Mohamed's (previously the only guys you could rely on) are now joined with one of the most efficient and friendly people I have ever had the privilege to meet in any Guest services team in any hotel world wide Regula Aisha Steiner is just a breath of fresh air this young lady is first class and goes way above the the job description to provide all guests with any help on any issue that they may have.

Can't wait for our next visit.

John & Yvonne

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FOCUSVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear FOCUSVON,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,367 - 3,373 of 7,394 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

A wonderful place good view
Hospitality The service is good
The room was really big and it overlooked
The hotel and gardens were clean and well looked after
when i started to leave i hope to return and not leaving
it is amazing place
lovely staff
good quality of service
food is wouderful (seafood)also junk food is good
the beach and water games great
safary servive great adventure

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doaa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Mrs. doaa e,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

the hotel is great, excellent landscape, excellent animation team and night shows, great beach with lot of things to do and cheap activities, but the food was not good especially at buffet the ala carte restaurants were better try them all especially at dinner. the staff was nice especially with kids. Saad at the reception was so helpful.
although i didnt like food which is an important issue to me, yet i will go there again as the animations were excellent for kids.
as a whole i give them 8.5/10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbegad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear drbegad,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I swear this is the first hotel i ever seen to put instrest in hip hop culture and archery i really dig the design of the hotel and i like the animation team especially * Gazal , joe , marley , ossama* great programes never bored , bar is so quickly , food is great , nice staff , warm welcome , family like staff, amazing i recommend it like ten gzelleon times ;) Egypt is Safe

Room Tip: Double Rooms . family Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tacos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Tacos2013,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I just returned from the hotel. I visited with my family. We were 3 adults so at check in we were given a room in Block 10 as according to the reception staff, the rooms there were big enough to accomodate 3 adult people. The room was really big and it overlooked the family pool but the area is a bit noisy as most of the families with children are staying there.
The family pool was big but it was really cold. The beach was great, it was warmer than the pool.
At the beginning of our stay the food at the main restaurant shahrazad was excellent, however the quality and the varities declined after the Adha holidays started and the hotel got crowded with local travelers. This shouldn't be the case though as the more the hotel has guests the more the food should be varied and of a good quality. Luckily enough we had the option to dine in a la carte restaurants which were very good! We dined in the bedouin, the italian, the mexican and the steak house restaurants and all were equally great and we appreciate the service.
What we liked the most about this hotel is the staff. They are really great each and everyone! Friendly and polite and they are doing everything they can to make the guests happy. The animation team was great as well.
The hotel is extremely clean but we didn't see that the housekeeping was cleaning our room in an efficient way. The pillow covers were never changed and for 2 days there was no enough shampoo and shower gel for the 3 of us even after we complained we didn't get any.

There were some negative points about the hotel but i would like to return again and i would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear JK1981,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely hotel with very nice swimming pools and beaches.

The hotel and gardens were clean and well looked after.

The hotel staff are what made the holiday even more special as we were always made to feel welcome and they could not do enough for us time and time again to make it a holiday we will never forget. We have already recommending it to family and friends so they can to experience the holiday and the best staff I have ever know in a hotel.

I would like to give a special thanks to the animation team for their entertainment (I am not easily impressed) which was exceptional and their friendliness throughout the days and evening with smiles on their faces. We were made very welcome by all and especially( Kareem)

I would also like to thank the Pergola pool bar staff who's service was also exceptional through out, again always with a smile on their faces... thanks to Ahmed, Romany, Kerleros and Sameh.

The only disappointment in the hotel was the food especially in the A La Carte restaurants where the food was not hot and often cold with poor quality overcooked food.

Having said the above please visit this hotel as the staff will make it a special holiday and this is a safe hotel to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mrs.Kath B,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we will put more attention to food temperature.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

very good hotel, the food the room the pools and entertainment were great!
However, lounging around the pool and beach you constantly get harassed by members of staff trying to sell activities or trying to get you to take part in pool games or asking if everything ok. By the end of the holiday i was not a happy bunny. Literally EVERY 10 minutes you haf somebody coming and talking to you. I want to relax around the pool, read my book and be left alone. Not pestered constantly!!!!.i actually saw one man who was on holiday there get really angry and had a fight with the hotel staff as they wer continuously bothering his family and the staff could not understand why he was so angry. It is literally every 10 minutes. They do not leave you alone!!! I will not be returning to the hotel. Also the shops in the hotel the men were very pushy and almost seemed agressive when you didnt buy something from ther shop.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squidling75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations.

We would like to inform you about that our hotel staff didn't mind to disturb You, but only to be sure that You are enjoying Your holidays with us.
Also if we receive any negative comments about sellers we taking an action on spot.

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,395 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,248 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $71 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing