We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wont be going back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have just come back from a ten night stay from 7th may 2013 to 17th may 2013. After the reviews I had read on trip adviser I could not wait to go to this resort.
Upon arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks and checked in at the hotel and then driven to our rooms. The rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious. The cleaner was very good and cleaned our room everyday. The problems with the room was that rather than a double bed for me and my girlfriend it was three single beds that we had to put together, initially this annoyed me as we had booked a double room but the cleaner swiftly brought us new sheets and duvets. The mini fridge in the room was not cold enough and neither was the air conditioning, this is something that definitly needs improving.
During the day was my favourite time at this resort, the many pools were big and the resort was very clean with green grass and plenty of palm trees. The animation team were brilliant getting everyone involved in the activites through out the day. However there are lots of people trying to sell you things all the time and they dont leave you time to relax, even if you have a red flag which is supposed to stop them bothering you. All th hotel staff however are very friendly and are constantly checking to make sure everything is alright and if we need anything done for us which is a good touch. The food in the daytime from the buffets and the snack bars is not to a great standard and some of it looked like it was left overw from the evening rstaurants. The weather was 38 degrees everyday which was definitly the best part.
The restaurants boast seven a la carte restaurants and this is definitly not the case. The Asian restaurant was absolutely perfect, amazing food, brilliant staff and they did an excellent birthday suprise for my girlfriend. The mediteranean restaurant was average as was the steak house, but the others were no way near a la carte standard. The italian restaurant made prezzo look like a michelin star restaurant. This was my biggest dissapointment as th evening time was ruined by poor meals which cause us to become ill. The evening entertainment is quite tedius which consisted of karaoke most nights however there was a show each night put on by the animation team which was good but they did seem to drag a bit. Also in the evenings at the outside bars all drinks were given in plastic glasses and in most occasions were not cold enough. More variation of night time entertainment would have been nice but this is nothing against the animation team as they were brilliant. Emad at the fruit stall/milshake bar was such a lovely man and brought over plates of sliced fruit and ice cream for me during the day when this is something that you have to pay for usually. Overall due to the poor quality of food and lack ov evening entertainment and cold drinks i would not go back to this resort. However the staff were excellent and the cleanliness of the resort is brilliant along with the weather. I hate to moan but i thought this might help any young couples such as myself aged 21 to think about these things when booking this resort

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,387
    1,074
    424
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,904
1,852
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I returned home on the 7th may and was crying all the way home. This was my 3rd visit and it was as amazing as the last two times the hotels just growing and getting better everytime i went with my mum for 11nights flew out from manchester on 26th april its my mums 7th visit to the hotel and she still loves it. The staff work so hard the gardens,beach,rooms everything are immaculate the food is amazing! But a massive big part of the holiday being so great was the animation team they where so so friendly and welcoming so passionate about their job and genuinly care about the guests holiday they are so bubbly and energetic and so knowlegable in their job they go out their way to be a massive help and are a huge part of the perfect holiday. Their shows and activities were amazing they are so proffesional and are a real contribution to the hotel. They made us feel safe and welcome when we went out of resort to white beach disco specially bob :-) mido oox is so cute and always smiling mido brown got me up on the kareoke which was a laugh, john tried getting me up to dance and was making a real effort to make sure i was enjoying my night but i was far too tired for a good dance that night. Fern was also really good and informed us very well of the itinery for the day :-) they where a fantastic part of a fantastic holiday and have even made me think about an animation job as i just love how driven and passionate they are about making others feel special so thankyou!! ♡

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robynfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to SRMR in April this year and we cannot praise the hotel enough. The food was good, the A La Cartes were great and the entertainment team were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from your smallest request or complaint (if you have any). They sorted it straight away. A special mention for John. He was lovely. Mustafa was great in the Lobby Bar and the omelette guy deserved a medal.
This was our 10th visit to Egypt so we are well aware of everything that can happen and we had the best laugh at mealtimes watching the Russians run for their food. My Russian friends in England have explained their behaviour to me and I now understand. Still found it amusing though.

Room Tip: Go for Blocks 11 or 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was a great holiday, the food was lovely and the waterslides were great. The room was lovely and big.You got free bottles of coke and lemonade in your fridge everyday put in by the cleaner.There are lots of Russians to and activity for kids and adults like darts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Back again next year. This was our third visit and will be returning a la carte dining good especially the Asian ,big thanks to the animation team. Who do a fantastic job keeping every one amused the two midos and fern fantastic hope to see them all again soon.hotel room was kept spotless by our cleaner a real credit.stayed around the pool most days always plenty of beds food and drink always at hand ray and Marion preston

Room Tip: Try to get rooms 10 to15 near all ammenaties
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the resort, each year has improved and we really enjoyed our two weeks, staff are always smiling and ready to help wether it is a gardener saying good morning the room cleaners wishing you a good day or the towel men, all are very pleasant, and helpful. We stayed in block 12 which was very central to all amenities, only saw one show which I wasn't too keen on the artist's act with his swords, the next night it was snakes which I don't like so didn't go. The animation team work hard to entertain and the bar staff all work hard. The food was excellent, and hand gel was available as you go into the restaurants, the ala'cart restaurants which there are 7 most were good, no problems booking was quite easy, swimming pools are very clean as is the whole of the hotel, gardens are beautiful, a very spacious hotel and relaxing atmosphere, there are water sports available on the beach, and a safe place for children as their are life guards, we love the hotel and we are going to book again next year as they do make you feel like its your home as well as theirs.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago and we loved it. the hotel was lovely and clean, the staff were great, the food was nice, it was actually all inclusive we could not believe that.The hotel was just a short distance from the airport which was great. the entertainment team did their best! Other members of staff were also amazing, friendly and helpful. It was one of out best holidays so far. Would like to go back again. thanks for a fabulous holiday experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maika28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing