We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel - the best in Egypt !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding hotel - the best in Egypt !”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is now our 7th visit to the Sunrise and it gets better every time. With its selection of 7 a la carte restaurants, there is something for even the most fussiest of eaters (the new touch screen reservation system in Reception works brilliantly). Yes the main buffet restaurant can get busy, but there is still lots of choice. All the staff and management are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The Animation Team make every effort to ensure you enjoy your holiday - well done guys - Mido, Mido Brown, Soso, Marley, Ahmed, Olga, John, Boca, Silvia and many more!.
Having spoke to many experienced divers, the coral reef and fish are outstanding for snorkelling.
Our room was very clean and spacious. There are 6 pools with daily activities. There are plenty of sun beds (with pool towels changed daily) - space is not a problem. The weather was excellent, although it can be cool in the evenings.
Our perfect holiday destination. We will certainly be returning later this year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaB225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,909
    1,105
    433
    133
    90
See reviews for
3,244
1,977
108
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort and again it exceeded our expectations. The Weather was first class with hardly a cloud to be seen all week. The staff were excellent but special mention has to be made for Sameh who works La Pergola bar. His service was exceptional and really made the holiday and one of the reasons we will definitely be returning! The hotel is spotless and the whole team works incredibly hard to ensure every request is attended to. The reception team were very helpful and this permeated through every level of the staff. The animation team creates an excellent environment with a great range of entertainment and activities. The food choice was excellent and executive chef Ayman is to be congratulated for the food that his team presents. For anyone thinking about visiting Egypt please make this your choice of venue. We will be definitely be returning for a third visit later this year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 812jamesl812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the SRRMB - excellent weather, good food and plenty of activities with the enthusiastic, fun entertainment team.
Buffet restaurant was bit manic with lots of choice but not our favourite place. A la carte restaurants were much better, with good service(although on our visit the Mexican was a bit like faulty towers but in a funny way) Asian was super as was t-bones steak house.
Best part of this hotel is the animation team who work tirelessly from early morning to late at night doing everything from archery to aerobics, Arabic lessons and Zumba, and evening shows and dancing til late. Many thanks to Marley who taught us all archery and Boca for being such fun-always laughing!
One negative would be the shortage of glasses at the pool bar- but all in all great holiday and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Although big resort all rooms in easy walk of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Calahonda103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all let me say that we had a 18month old son with us so we were very picky when it came to cleanliness ! But as u can see by my rating there was not one problem !!
We stayed in block 10 , room 10122 and our cleaner was fab always fresh bedding towels ect and if we was in the room whilst he came to clean he would always take notice of our little boy which i thought was lovely as it must been hard as he spoke little english - he was a lovely man so hardworking !!
Next is the food . Well what more can i say other than 7 restaurants and all of them amazing and staff can not do anymore for you ! Especially mamhood in the childrens corner of main restaurant , he was fab !!
Pools are very clean and some heated (kids pools are lovely and warm )
Staff are all lovely polite and helpful !!
I wish i could comment on the night entertainment but i cant as we were all asleep buy 10 everynight because of our little boy but we didnt mind as the kids disco at 8 everynight was fab to watch !!
Now im going to finish with a special mention of one truly genuine lovely kind man that works at the family pool bar by day and lobby bar by night , his name is saleh ! Well what a hard working truly lovely man ! He MADE our holiday as u can imagine with a small baby we spent our days by the pool in and out all day with our little one ! There was nothing he wouldnt do for us ! Our little boy is very shy normally but took a very big liking to saleh and so did we , me and my partener cried as we drove out of the gates not because we was sad to go home but because we didnt want to say goodbye to him ! I cannot praise him enough !! Honestly if u go there and meet him u will understand !
Overall our holiday was amazing ..
We will be back the end of september an look forward to seeing all the staff again !
Adam , jess and baby ollie (mcgrath family )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jessiemcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me, my partner and 17 month old boy have just returned from a weeks stay here and it was brilliant. From arriving at the hotel until going into the airport on the way home we had a fantastic time and was made to feel so welcome.
The staff here are unbelievable and the management should be very proud of there staff as they will do anything for you and are so good with children and that is all the staff even the chefs who make the food make an effort to make the kids happy.
We stayed in block 12 and it's was kept spotless and the cleaner (kareem) I think his name is spelt was always asking if everything was ok and if he could help us to which one day I asked where I could get some milk from for my child's bottle and he told me, the next thing I knew he knocked on the door with a cartoon after he had been to get us some.
The food is very good anywhere u eat but there are many restaurants to go eat which are all good. Go to the Mexican restaurant for your breakfast as is much calmer and more space.
I can't recommended this resort highly enough as we has a great time and will be returning I September for another 10 nights

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 125MarkG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really lovely hotel, The staff are out of this world, always happy to help and chat and go the extra mile for everyone to enjoy and have a great holiday, we stayed in block 10 which was so clean and got cleaned everyday, the chap was 1st class at his job and always did a towel art each day, which was lovely. The pool areas, beach and gardens are spotlessly clean, everyone that works there have so much pride in what they do :0) The food and drink are fabulous, just book up and visit the al carte restaurant's as many times as you like,,,,we did a trip out on the buggies arranged by Thomas cook, that was great fun, best times were with the guys at the T bones so friendly and 110% service.welldone Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay,,,would I go back,,,,try and stop me lol

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michele1965Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Everybody was really friendly. Especially the animation team John and all the others great kids . Food was great with lots of choice . Great pools and beaches. Would go back any time . Weather was great very hot just what we needed at this time of year. Hotel very clean staff couldn't do enough for you. Plenty of activities going on so you didn't get bored . If you wanted to relax in peace that was good to .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
11.5 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing