We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from another fantastic experience at the Sunrise Royal Makadi (SRM) and which once again has marked all our boxes as a “Good Choice” resort. Unsatisfactory experiences at a Five Star Hotel in Soma Bay forced us to request for a transfer to this hotel and from the moment we arrived at the SRM until we left for our return homebound, everything was an excellent experience.

We arrived at the hotel and were very warmly greeted by the reception staff but more importantly by the every present, bubbly and charming personality of Hesham Lofty the Front desk Manager at the SRM who gave us the run down to make out stay comfortable and went the extra mile to make sure we were entirely satisfied with our room choice by accompanying us to our rooms and settling us down. This certainly made a big difference in the reassurance needed to justify our decision to transfer to the SRM.
The service from every staff at the SRM was superb but a particular thank you mention must go to Hesham and Ahmed at the Sharzardez Buffet Restaurant and Ashraf at the Lobby Bar for being so very pleasant and helpful at all times.

From our first to our last meal, there was nothing we would complain about. There is a huge choice available at each seating. Breakfast, lunch and dinner spreads at the main buffet restaurant were excellent thanks to the unrelenting efforts of head Chef Mohamed ,Chef Ahmed and the rest of the army of chefs who would interact with guest at each meal to offer support and take on board guest comments which was nice. Chef Manoj has just joined the team has already demonstrated his skills in providing some mouth watering spiced up dishes. With his ambition to provide a class level of Indian dishes I am sure this will be something to look forward to in the future. Food was excellent by any standards, and our confidence was boosted having had an opportunity to take a tour of the kitchen area which was immaculate with a high level of hygiene and H&S was very visible. Only complaint is that we couldn't eat it all - there was too much! Local Cocktails, good variety but should be taken in limits to adjust to the strength of the local brews. Beer fine and Egyptian table wine reasonable.
As the main buffet offered such good choice we did not find a chance to try out the other of six a la carte restaurants but did get into the Italian which was a great experience and it was appreciated that Hesham Lofty remembered to include a Birthday surprise for us at the meal. Thank you Hesham.

The Hotel beach front was excellent and gazebos over beach and four poolside areas, including at the 2 heated pools and a children’s slide, scream and shout pool, were more than adequate to accommodate full occupancy. Just pick your choice spot and relax.
We had booked though an independent travel agent who had no local representatives but support from the Guest Services representative and the larger agent representatives was not lacking. A special thanks to the Thomas Cook representative who had to make a call or two for us to arrange our local transfer to the airport. Thank you TC.
The highlight of the trip for us was the Christmas Eve Gala... Brilliant! . The food was a ginormous spread of splendidly colourful, decorative and tasty dishes; the entertainment great with a live band to dance the night away. It was certainly a lovely way to begin our Christmas and everyone appreciated the effort. The only disappointment was the video of the event which was recorded as a Video Object File (VOB) which was frustrating to open and quality was poor – there was more than adequate time to include a short 5 second clip of each table which I am sure would have gone well with all guests – tip for next time!? Nonetheless GM Saied must be very proud of his team and, well done!
Some remedial work going on at present, but this did not disturb us and it was carefully covered and managed outside working hours.
Spa/massages appear professional but have not tried the service. Great for snorkelling on the hotel beach-front and it gets better as you head up left.
Great diving starting up straight from the hotel or from a bay not far away
All in all we were very pleased with our decision to transfer to the Sunrise Royal Makadi and will look forward to visiting the resort again as well as recommend it to others. Happy New Year to all, God bless

Room Tip: Room Tip: Rooms well kept. The difference between deluxe and superior deluxe appears to be proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julius_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,225
    1,053
    418
    133
    89
See reviews for
2,774
1,813
102
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Out of all the places we've traveled, Africa has always proved itself to be one of the, if not THE best place to go. We've stayed at many different places, however out of all of them, this is my 3rd favourite place to stay, following after another Sunrise hotel and a tunisian hotel.
The staff here are very genuine and very friendly, and as they're paid next to nothing are really appriciative of any tips given. The poolside staff are willing to bring you out drinks all day long and everyone is always smiling and repeating 'welcome home'. They really did make us feel 100% at home.
The standard of food here is excellent and changed daily, yet there always seemed to be fresh seafood:). The eating hall was really noisy and busy though, so i would recommend going to find a table outside before eating your meal.
There are plenty of onsite restaurants you can eat at - however you do have to prebook.
There wasn't really much by means of evening entertainment, however the kids club that ran through the day was very entertaining for all ages. The pools were great, as were the beaches, and all the trips we were told about by our rep were just simply amazing.
Once you leave the complex it all seems to be built just for the purpose of the tourists, so if you really want to see the actual country and culture, i'd suggest going on a trip to a market or a tour of a nearby town, but i wouldn't have felt very safe going off by myself as the locals can be very intimidating and pushy.
We went on a number of different trips, yet it seems wherever you go you will end up getting harrassed by the locals, who are desperate to sell you their goods. If you simply walk away from them, they will follow you, so you must tell them simply that you don't want anything they're trying to sell, and don't mince your words, else you'll get nowhere.
The rooms were lovely, however as there were 4 of us, the room we were given was a little too small. The majority of the rooms all have balconys and the cleaners do a very good job at kepping them clean up to such a high standard.
Also the spa area was lovely.
I would definatley stay at this hotel again. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura-zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We returned on Jan 1st from what can only be described as one of the best holidays we have had in a long time. Its quite a long flight (nearly 6 hrs) but airport at Hurghada was clean and quick and its only a short journey to the Royal Makadi.
From the greeting upon arrival right through to leaving ( extra time in room at no charge, thank's Mr Yassien), we were treated with extreme courtesey and professionalism, the staff couldn't have done more if we were their family !
Rooms were a good size, immaculate, and towels and bed linen changed regularly there are 5 pools of large size some with lots of ammenities for the children and some for adults. We particularly enjoyed the company of Salah who ran one pool bar and his assistant Mahmoud.
There are 7 A la carte restaurants, suiting every taste from Italian through a steak bar an Asian to the Mexican, and many more.
The bar staff were very attentive, you could always get a drink even in the middle of the big pool ! Midnight snacks are very tempting after a few cocktails as well, there is entertainment via the animation team during the day, and they also put on some very good shows in the evenings. We came home with a very good suntan and the wish to return soon, thanks Royal Makadi.

Room Tip: For sitting out on balconies a second floor is recommended. Apartments are in blocks we were in 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HowardFylde_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent Christmas at the Sunrise Royal Makadi and had a great time. We stayed 21st - 28th December in a family room ( block 35) which consisted of two bedroom. There was plenty of space, with a large balcony area and plenty of wardrobe space for us all. We had a large bathroom with a very powerful shower.

The hotel really made an effort with Christmas decorations in all the communal areas, the reception had a lovely big tree and lots of different Christmas decorations and displays as well as Christmas music etc.

Facilities at the hotel were great, there was a busy animation programme for both adults and children. There were lots of pools, although not all heated, with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. It was also great to be right on the beach , which had clean, calm water for both paddling and swimming.

Food at the hotel in general was good. The buffet restaurant was fine, although if I had to eat in there all the time I think it would have become a bit annoying. We ate there for breakfast which was fine, plenty of variety, option to have freshly made omelettes, pancakes, also able to make your own toasties and a dedicated kids area. We also ate there one evening and a couple of lunchtimes, I though the variety was ok and standard was average for buffet, the pasta station was really good. However, beware the birds, when the restaurant is quiet they do make a beeline for the cake section feeding off the crumbs.

It was lovely to have the option of the a la carte restaurants, which we mostly ate in. You are able to book these via a touch screen in the main reception area. This was easy and straightforward, we were however surprised at how under used the a la carte restaurants were. We visited the Italian, Mexican, Greek/fish restaurant, Egyptian restaurant, and Asian. Our favourite was the Asian where we paid extra to have the Teppanyaki, great fun and great food, well worth it. Also the Egyptian Bedouin tents were a great experience, again with great food and service. There was a mix up when we visited the Mexican restaurant, which had been ridiculously over booked, but staff worked hard to serve everyone without too much delay. During the day the main pool bar served freshly made to order pizzas, burgers, hotdogs etc. Generally I found the hygiene in the restaurants to be good. All had sanitising hand gel on the entrances, however this was often ignored by guest! We also witnessed a guest dropping a serving spoon from one of the hot plates picking up and putting it back. Straightaway a member of staff was over, changing it all and cleaning up. We didn't suffer any illnesses whilst there nor heard of anyone else who did.

The Christmas Eve gala dinner was probably the highlight of the holiday. The hotel and staff worked really hard to make the gala meal an exceptional occasion for everyone. Held in a large marque which felt like the size of a football pitch, all guests were invited at no extra charge. The food was fantastic definitely something for everyone and although most of the hotel were eating at the same time, there was hardly any queuing or waiting. Entertainment on the night was from a band and also the hotel animation team, drinks services was great, very rarely had to ask for a drink, as on other nights, saw your glass was getting low and would come and top you up!

We used the Thomas Cook kids club a couple of times whilst on holiday, which was good, seems to have lots of facilities and activities going on. The hotel also had a visit from Father Christmas on his camel on Christmas Eve, which the kids ( and adults) loved.

The only thing that was a negative was the maintanence work going on during our stay, although minimal and mainly done overnight. There was work in the reception area to remove part of the water fountain, the main pool bar was shut for the first few days as it was refurbished. The around the world restaurant was also shut for refurbishment and the childrens playground was closed for a couple of days for the wooden climbing frames to be revarnished.

If you don't like to be hassled about glass bottom boat trips or massages etc while on the beach or by the pool (which you will) then when you get your towels also ask for a red flag. This indicates to the sellers that you're not interested and they will not give you the hard sell, they might say hello and ask if you are interested in what ever they are selling but if you say 'no thanks' they don't push it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hil217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Late Review due to 3 monthly time restriction for new reviews about the same property.
Special Birthday & Anniversary which since we really enjoyed our last two visits we decided no where more special than this resort to celebrate,this was made extra special by T Bones, Mr Adel, who joined us for his birthday also. Mr Said GM who called to congratulate us and sat and had a drink. Special Thankyous to so many people I will try to name as many as I Can Mr Omar New food & Beverage Manager, Mr Ayman Head Chef, Mr Salaah Night Manager Mr Yassien Duty Manager, Mr Lofty, Mohammed Ali Guest Relations. Saleh & Makmoud from VIP Pool Excellent service friendly smiling faces we felt like royalty.Mohammed from the Gym really helpful young man.All restaurants are excellent we used Mexican for breakfast nice and quiet looked after by Chef Ahmed and staff. The Italian was our favourite this visit where we were looked after by Said & Sayed with exceptional courtesy, service, and fabulous food,After 3 Visits we have still not dined in the main restaurant which shows what excellent choices there are at this resort. Our room was kept lovely by Mohammed who respected our privacy and not once did we get disturbed early, he also made fabulous towel decorations for us on our special day, Thankyou.
What a wonderful resort made extra special by pleasant surroundings, wonderful staff, and management who continually strive to maintain service and quality.Management listen to customers opinions and should anything be worthy of doing to improve the resort I have seen first hand of the improvements they continually strive to fulfil.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Transf0rmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, covering both Christmas and New Year. The whole family really enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly polite and very attentive. The food, we found to be varied, good quality and really tasty. The 7 themed a la carte restaurants offered a lovely alternative to the main buffet style restaurant, it really helped to keep things exciting throughout the fortnight.

Our room was clean, spacious and functional, and serviced by the cleaner everyday. The shower was the only negative point with the water flow being a bit hit and miss - not totally unusual at peak times though.

We were really lucky to have enjoyed the two gala dinners over the festive period. The effort the entire staff had put in was amazing. We were totally impressed and had two wonderful evenings.

Overall I feel we had a real value for money holiday. I would recommend this hotel especially to families and would consider going back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LoobyLou40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to Egypt a few times and this was the best hotel we have stayed at yet. If some people do not think it is 5 star then it must be at least 4 star plus. everything was either new or in the process of being refurbished. The restaurants were all to a very high standard and staff were all friendly and hard working. nothing seemed too much for them. most of the pools were heated and there was no shortage of sun loungers! If I am going back to Makadi bay I would definitely use this hotel again! What more needs to be said?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing