We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service at SRMR - It just gets better each time we go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here again at the end of April/May, just for 1 week this time. We have visited the hotel a number of times before, but I can honestly say for us, this was the best time ever.

Although we had booked via Thomas Cook and transfers to the hotel were included, we decided to book a private transfer which enabled us to get to the hotel much quicker.
On arrival we knew what to expect, we handed in our passports etc to reception, and old friends who were in the area who remembered us from previous visits came to say hello and “welcome home” which is the hotel’s greeting to anyone who stays at the resort.

We were quickly shown to our room, which was in a central location overlooking gardens and the main pool. The room was clean, fresh and had recently been painted throughout. The room consisted of a very large king size bed, a flat screen TV, fridge, containing bottled water and soft drinks, dressing table, wardrobe with built in safe, 2 easy chairs and coffee table, and a large open sunny balcony. The bathroom had a very nice vanity unit, hairdryer, large magnifying make-up/shaving mirror, and a nice walk in shower.

After unpacking we went for our first evening meal at the Steakhouse. We were given excellent service throughout our meal by Islam Ibrahim, (Waiter). The menu was appetising; the steak was beautifully cooked and well presented. The subdued lighting by candles enhances the atmosphere and makes the steakhouse a very nice restaurant to dine in the warmer summer evenings.

We ate breakfast in both the Dalila/ATW and the Mexican restaurants. Both restaurants offer a variety of cereals, yogurts, fruit, eggs (cooked how you like them), cooked/cold meats, pastries, salads, and breads. The restaurants are a pleasure to eat in, and service at both was first class. The Dalila transforms to an A la-Carte restaurant in the evening where the ambiance of the restaurant is enhanced by the ultra violet, and candle lamp lighting, giving it a very cosy and intimate feel. Two people who stand out in here, are Ayman Elferayu, (Waiter) whose attentiveness to his customers is excellent, and Mr Mohamed Rabee (Manager), who is only too pleased to welcome you and offer you hospitality in “his” restaurants. The food is lovely, well presented, and the service again given was first class. The Mexican in the evening offers it’s a la-Carte menu which is very appetising and cooked to perfection by Chef Ahmed Salem Mansiur who is extremely passionate about the food he cooks. We were given exceptional service by Hetem (Assistant Manager) well supported by Mr Mahmoud- (Manager), and waiters such as Nesma, Mamoud and Ahmed who were all attentive and very hospitable.

Our days were spent by the Entitled Guests/Adults Only pool. Again service by Soudy Ahmed (Bar Captain), and Mohamed Abel Badeaa (Pool Attendant), was exceptional. Soudy only had to “catch your eye” and a drink was immediately brought to you. He remembered what guests liked to drink without having to be reminded, and had such a lovely pleasing attitude to his work. Mohammed works (like a busy bee!) cleaning, tidying, ensuring “his” pool area is kept immaculate – both are a credit to the hotel. Basam took over the bar duties when Soudy went on vacation and again he provided excellent service.

Other staff who made our holiday so special, and whose services were faultless included
Mr Salah Mahdy – Night Manager, who keeps the hotel running smoothly through the night. We had some lovely chats with him.

Mr Hasan Yilmaz – Food and Beverages Director – always out and about checking everything was up to standard in the bars and restaurants.

Mr Ayman Hassan – Resident Manager – who was always interested in feedback from guests.

Mr Hashim Lotfy – Front Office Manager – the most jolly Egyptian person I have ever met! and has such a fabulous rapport with guests.

Mr Abd El Rahman Attallah - Assistant Front Office Manager – who was always smiling and happy to oblige.

Barbora, Mohamed, and Joanna – (Guest Relations Centre staff) – whose customer service was extremely helpful.

Mohamed Hassan and the other guys at reception – always very efficient in dealing with queries.

Mamoud – (Assistant IT Manager) – who sorted our internet access.

Memo Houssen – (who works around the reception area) – dressed in traditional Egyptian dress and helps out the Bell boys.

Mustafa Hossan – (Pergola Bar Manager) – we have known him for a number of years now, since our first visit – always has a smile and is very courteous to us.

All the members of the Animation Team – in particular, Patrick, Mido Brown, Mido Oxx, and Jade - all very enthusiastic team members.

Nazmy Van Basten – (Bar Captain) at Family Pool 2 and main pool swim-up bar, who remembered without asking us what we liked to drink from a previous visit.

Hamid – (Room attendant) – who kept our room looking clean and tidy, and one day beautifully decorated our bed with hearts and flowers, which was a lovely surprise.

We have always found the members of staff; to be courteous, willing to help, and work very hard to help guests enjoy their holiday at this hotel. The greeting “Welcome Home” is a true one, and my husband and I honestly feel it is our second home.

We cannot wait to return again later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ChrisDeanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,290 - 4,296 of 7,400 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

after reading a couple of bad reviews was dreading our wk at the sunrise select but have to say we had a fab time found the hotel rooms and grounds clean well kept and pleasing. The staff were very friendly, really liked the shared tip boxes in all the restaurants and bars.Found the free water bottles a huge saving and also the fizzy drinks and water re stocked in the room fridge everyday great. Didn't use the main restaurant only on the first night found the round the world suited us for breakfast. Enjoyed trying the different venues for evening meals particularly the Asian, Italian, and Bedouin, just don't expect good english chinese or italian and you will enjoy the food. As with any complex of this size there is always going to be maintenance gardening going on but this was not a problem. The beach was clean never a shortage of sun beds and all the pools were fantastic will def go again.

Room Tip: block 18 is nearest to the beach we were on 30 on the outskirts but it was quiet and only a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

All in all it was a good holiday. But was very dissapointed with the rooms. We were in block 27 and it was very small and also very tired. But it was in a quiet location and we were very well looked after by our "chamberman". We had clean towels everyday without asking and the sheets were also changed at least 3 times during our week long stay. A bit of a treck from the main building but the site is vast - a little too big for my taste really.

The main restaurant was very busy and a bit of a bun fight but we only ate there twice for dinner on arrival and for breakfast the next day as the 7 al-a-carte's were all brilliant, especially the greek (fish) and asian (chinese). Book the al-a-carte as soon as you can using the screen in the lobby. It is a bit slow and any problems ask at reception and they will do it for you.

We asked for a hospitality tray for tea & coffee in our room and it was given to us at no charge within the hour. Very nice to have a cup of tea first thing in the morning.

The beach is wonderful and you only have to walk along the beach for 10 mins to find fantastic snorkelling.

Although all the staff at the hotel were very helpful, we found the Thomas Cook rep was hopeless. Also beware - we booked to have seats together on the way home only to be told at the airport that it was not possible. Thomas Cook did refund our money but it did leave a bad taste...
The animation team were all very friendly but we did get a bit fed up of them constantly asking us to give a good review on tripadvisor!!! and to mention "Sparkle".

All in all a good holiday, but I would not go there again as it is such a vast site, that we found that personal touch is lacking.

We chose a Sunrise hotel as previously stayed at the Garden Beach which was smaller. The rooms however were huge and fantastically finished although the snorkelling was not as good.

Room Tip: Block 27 is quiet but in need of re-furbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We visited Sunrise last Feb/March for 2 wonderful wks. Ive written long reviews of this resort TWICE, but as soon as I attached 6 photo's i lost the lot, so gave up. However, 3rd time lucky and No Pictures this time-Sorry!
Certainly Value for Money, cant fault anything. Yes there were maintainance going on,
restuarant decorating, paths renewed etc. but hey- these things have to be done to keep this place as lovely as it is. We are pensioners and have travelled all over the world, this was just a 'try' holiday, close to home from B'ham airport, wanting some peace and quiet, good food and hopefully warm sun. Well we got the lot and more.!
1st wk weather bit iffy, windy & chilly at night, sea bit choppy, sunny most days - but still miles better than home. 2nd wk was gloriously sunny everday, went in sea every day.
This place is so well laid out, it is unbelievable, we asked for a 2nd floor,quiet place with sunny balcony, and thats what we got. Yes it was a 5min.walk to restaurants etc, but thats good for working up an appetite and keeping fit! Talking of food- the buffets were something for ev eryone - its no good moaning - be adventurious - there is such a good selection you can have whatever you like. Must say our ticket included the Al'la carte restaurants, and if you do have an option to pay-then take it - they are worth everypenny. Staff are so polite and helpful. It makes your day seeing smiling happy faces, people who want to work there, they love there job (ok I suppose there is always the exception). Even the duty Manager Mr.Attaliah became a friend, right down to the beach boys , Mosly and Mohammed to name a few-laughs all the way.
We just wanted to walk all along the sea front and relax - but if you want to , dance, keep fit etc. water sports, play pool in the local victoria pub(not our scene) its all there.
The little ones are taken care of in clubs, games etc, it was a joy to see them happy.
We did have a half day out to Hurghada = wish we hadn't! dirty, noisy full of ticket touts and nicknack shops - couldn't wait to get back to our little paradise in the desert.
If you want to hop on/off buses or go to nightclubs - forget it - its not Benedorm or Aya Nappa. Evenings are what you make with yr family & friends(make new ones). Snake charming, wonderful dancers, comedy, and dancing with the groups outside under the moonlit skies. Rooms are lovely and clean, and we were just basic, gardens equally lovely and well kept. Your never far from one of their 7 pools and childrens play areas.
One day we shall return - maybe for our 50th wedding anniversary?with ALL the family!

Room Tip: just tell them what you would like(when u book) and they will do their very best. Or what u dont wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We returned from a week at the Sunrise Royal Makadi about 2 weeks ago and i have to say it was a very good holiday. We were a little concerned by some of the negative reports but, as a regular reader of trip advisor, i really should have known better as the vast majority were pretty positive.
The checking in procedure is a bit quirky and not one i have come across before but once you understand what's happening it's quite well organised and works well when there is a large number of people checking in at the same time.
The hotel complex itself is a good size and is very clean and well looked after. The gardens in particular are excellent, with a small army of staff tending to them on a daily basis. The room we had was a family room with 2 bedrooms and it was very clean and spacious, The cleaner looking after the block was very efficient and our room was cleaned every day. He left quite a few towel designs and one in particular amused my son no end.. it was a carefully constructed crocodile! My only complaint about the room was a few ants which seemed to appear from nowhere until we discovered a small hole in the grout.. the ant problem was quickly remedied with some wet tissue pressed into the hole!
The sunbeds around all the pool areas were plentiful and there was never any problem in getting a sunbed around these areas, alas this was not the same with the beach sunbeds. You will have to get up very early indeed to get a bed on the front row, which is about 20ft from the sea. There was availability further back to the path but they are quite close together and this made sunbathing a bit difficult. The front row beds were taken up very quicky by the russians and the germans.. there were a lot of russians and germans in this resort but this didnt present any problems at all ( unless you wanted a sunbed at the front on the beach!! )
The drinks were very good and the beer was nicely chilled.. i especially enjoyed the cocktails in the lobby bar. There were plenty of areas in which to sit and chill all around the complex but people seemed to home in on the outside bar just near the ampitheatre. The booking system for the restaurants was excellent and gave you the chance to book up to three nights in advance. We dined at the restaurants five out of the seven nights and all were very good.. the Asian one was our favourite. The buffet service was also very good and the food was well cooked and varied. The staff in the buffet restaurants were very attentive and looked after you with drinks at the table. The tip box is on the way out so if you do prefer to tip at the end of your holiday then you can just pop some money in on your last visit.
The only negative experience was one of the trips we booked on,, the glass bottom boat.. it was not very good value for money and the trip had to be cut short due to the choppy waters.. not their fault i know, but even if it had been calm the trip wasn't very good VFM. The other trip we did was the Aquapark, it was brilliant and we spent a whole day there with lunch included.
The evening entertainment was good.. they had a wide variety of different themes and a lot of effort was put into the shows. The staff overall were very pleasant and at no point did we feel under pressure to tip.. they just went about their job in a quiet and efficient manner, The people in the 'on site shopping complex' are a bit pushy but a polite 'no thank you' usually did the trick!
The only other disappointment was the opening time for the gym.. it didnt open until 9am which is too late for an early morning workout. This clearly won't effect everybody but if it opened at 7am then you could have a good workout before breakfast and then have the rest of the day to do whatever. We still enjoy training even on holiday so it was a bit of an inconvenience but nothing more. It's just personal preference for when you like to workout.. if it did open earlier then at least you have the opportunity to get it done early if you wish. The equpiment in the gym was very good and in good working order. They had a small fridge inthe gym area with a good supply of bottled water.
Someone had posted a good tip on their review about eating in the smaller buffet restaurant for breakfast, we tried this and it was indeed much quieter than the main buffet restaurant.
Overall a very good holiday experience and i would definitely go back to this hotel... ( Manager.. if you read this.. open the gym earlier please )

Room Tip: Block 34 is great if you have kids.. it's near the more 'child friendly' pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Woody1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Returning from the Sunrise Royal Makadi a few weeks ago, stayed from the 20th April to 27th April (7 nights).

Absolutly wonderful stay yet again, the hotel gets better and better as this was our 4th visit to this hotel.

This hotel is fantastic for all types of people, whether you be a young couple or a family with children. The complex is so big with so many different sections, there is something for everyone!

Personally, my husband and I liked to stay by the aqua pool bar as this is quite central, and near to the beach. The snorkling is great around hotel, especially in the next hotel (Fort Arabesque) where you see hundreds of fish not too deep into the sea. There is food available around the clock in this hotel, outside of the buffet restaurant there is a pool side snack bar which provides excellent food (burgers, hot dogs, pizzas, etc) and also desserts and pasties all day long. A massive bonus for this hotel is the 7 al a carte restaurants, my favourite been the steak house and the mediterranean as they both offer excellent steak dishes! Also, the chocolate mousse in the mediterranean is delicious!!! It is also now really easy to book the al a carte restaurants as you now book on screens in the main reception and can book for up to three days in advance which really helps as you dont have to go que any more like you used to

We stayed in room 11206 this time, which is a great location as it is very central.

Evening entertainment is good, one show inparticular was fantastic during our stay, the 'las vegas' show, which was put on by the hotels recreation team, and I must say this was up to the standard of a professional dance show.

I would like to thank a few people who made our stay superb and really went that extra mile for us:

Mohammed - Aqua pool bar - wonderful man who provided us with 5* service all week long. He would fetch us drinks to our sun loungers when he wasnt serving guests and showed a genuine interest making sure we had an excellent holiday

Mohammed & Hasam - reception - helped us out with any issue we had even if it wasnt directly related to reception or their remit. Lovely men, very professional and really helped us out.

Abrahim - manager of bedouin restaurant - excellent manager and very sweet man, could not do enough to make sure all the guests in his restuarant left feeling happy. Interacted with all guests, and again showed a genuine interest in making sure all the guests had a fanatastic holiday

Jamaica - recreation team - talked to us everyday finding out more about us, even if we didnt want to join in with activities he would still come every day and talk to us which made us feel included

Barbora and Mohammed - guest services - again could not do enough to help you out with any issue, nothing is too much trouble. We really found this new addition added value to the hotel and our stay

Returning to the hotel July 2012 for our 5th stay as we love it so much!

Room Tip: Block 11 central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola-Attif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Excellent holiday, room cleaned daily clean towels whenever you need them. Large airy room with free air con and safe. Standard of cleaning excellent. Service in restaurants fantastic with a huge selection of foods available. Also included was a choice of 7 A La Carte restaurants. Service from staff at all levels fantastic, especially Mohsen who seemed to work ina different bar all the time.

The only downside was having to stay on resort all the time as it was too far from anything to go walking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cazinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,398 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,248 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $70 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing