We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant holiday”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Makadi Resort from the 3rd to the 10th- Got back last night.

Check in :- Welcomed with a drink in the lobby bar and our luggage was taken to the room. This did take approx 40 mins but gave us time to relax in our room before dinner.

Rooms: Simple, very clean Egyptian room. We stayed in block 12 and found it an ideal location to access all area's. The fridge was topped up daily with fresh water, which was nice after a long day the beach.

Don't forget to tip the housekeeper- we gave him either Egyptian pounds or sterling pound coins.

Food- This was our first All inclusive holday- We were in the Ultra package. Acess to 7 restaurants. We enjoyed the Asian, steak house, and the Bedouin. These were our favourite!
The greek restaurant was not as nice- we are big fish eaters so were disapointed with the fish on offer and was cooked poorly- Would not recommend this restaurant.

Dont go expecting "al a carte food"- it is presented not how we would present al a carte food, but was very tasty and more like 4 star standard food.

We choose to eat at the around the world restaurant each morning for breakfast. This is generally quieter and nicer environment. However, although there has been complaints about the food in the main restaurant we found the staff very helpful and fine for breakie, and a quick bite to eat at lunch.

The access to the towel service was very good and a nice touch to have fresh towels each morning. We never had any problems at the beach. We always managed to get a sun lounger- take a red flag from the Towel centre- stops you being hassled by the reps.

We went snoorkling in the sea, which was often warmer than the pools.

Bar- good service at all bars. We enjoyed the local drinks but if you want your branded UK drinks- you need to go the lobby bar.

Trips not to miss- the Boat trip and the quad bikes- We really enjoyed both of these on a not so sunny day.

This is a very well presented hotel, if your after a relaxing holiday and not looking to go exploring. Things to remenber, although classed as 5 star its more like 3/4 star.
Not a hotel for exploring or people wanting to eat "english food".

Spa- we had a massage and face mask- Good value for money, very relaxing!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,745
    1,096
    432
    133
    89
See reviews for
3,131
1,939
107
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very good value for money, 11 days via TC £510 all in, superb value, You must insure that you read the TC small print. this hotel has 3 all inclusive levels Std, Ultra and Vip, Ultra gives you all you need, Vip will ensure you get brand drinks all the time and access to private areas, but a small tip of £5 to £10 pounds at the start of the break to the right people ensures you get Vip plus all the time even priority tables and bookings at the al a carte restaurants.
My Wife had sweets and flowers in the room from our cleaner every day.

Look out for the sun facing rooms before you book , don't bother with the sea view rooms they are not worth the extra money. Stay off the Grass they drench it in the foul smelling waste water late at night. If you use the Spa, tip well, if you do not pay for this service and take up your inclusive offer you will get inferior service.

Number one rule as with most Egyptian hotels, tip and tip again, so take small notes not coin. they can't bank them. Use dollars $10 and $5 bills smaller value than sterling. In all we tipped $50 in 11 days we got breakfast tables in the sun, Beefeater Gin all the time ( not the local weak stuff) and booked in to all the restaurants when ever we required. If you are the sort of person that enjoys your wine glass refilled before its empty and I am, then get on the right side of these guys from the start. Friends we met at this resort did not tip at all and they still had a great time but they waited a little longer for their weaker Gin & Tonic

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timeswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

hotel food staff weather exelent 4star would go again /but dont go thomas cook sorry crook if you do make sure you go ultra inclusive or they wont tell you till the last few days then charge you 140 per wk extra.to use alacarts if you dont they are not included in your price.rip off cook

Room Tip: ask for a room near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel was rated as a 5 star establishment.......but their idea of 5 star is certainly not ours! It is more a 3 star. We stayed in Sorrento last year and the hotel was a 4 star which was far superior to this place.
On arrival we were allocated a room, 33111, this room was reminicent of 1960's Butlin's, very basic and tatty, and as it was on the ground floor you couldnt enjoy sitting outside. We were very disappointed but decided to see how we felt in the morning.
The next day we were still not happy and asked at reception to change rooms. The male receptionist that we spoke to looked at us as if we were something he had just trodden in and said he had nothing else to offer. Thank god for Mohammed, our rep, he requested a room change on our behalf and after a heated exchange they reluctantly gave us another room, 23201. This room was on the first floor and more acceptable.
The self service dining experience still makes us shudder when we think back! Having to put up with rude, ignorant Germans and Russians who seem to pile their plates up with huge amounts of food only to leave half of it. The food was mediocre; although the sparrows that inhabit the restaurant, flying around over the food and eating off the tables seem to enjoy it! Although hand sanitiser was provided at the entrance to the dining room, and we used each time we went in, we didnt see anyone else bother. We upgraded to Ultra Inclusive which should have entitled us to a wider range of drinks and use of the other restaurants. When we asked for bottled beer and showed the bar-man our card with 'VIP' on it he looked at us and laughed, he said 'I can see you are a VIP' in other words 'what a mug' and said we would have to pay extra for the beer!!
January and February are too early in the season as it is windy most of the time which brings the temperature down and makes it very cold at night.
To top it all my husband came down with 'King Tut's Revenge' and spent the last four days split between the toilet and the doctors clinic!!! I wouldnt recommend taking your children here as we would hate for a child to suffer this illness.
This holiday experience has made us vow to spend our holidays in the UK in future. In fact if either of us mention taking a foreign holiday again the other is at liberty to hit them round the head with a cricket bat in order to remind them of the pain and suffering experienced at this resort in Egypt!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't let on your British.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I have just returned from a 21 night break staying here for the first 10. The remaining 11 were spent at the Dana Beach in Hurghada. This was the best hotel I have been to in Egypt. Admittedly, we only want sun, food and drink. No children or annimation required! So this ticked all the right boxes. A different restaurant to eat in every night. Ulra all inclusive. The Beduin was the best, very authentic but should have asked for a table and chair as opposed to a cushion.
The place is spotlessly clean. We didn't like our first room and that was soon resolved. The service every where was exceptional and not tip grabbing. Plenty of sunbeds on beach and by pool. Very windy and cold at night. Would go again definitely.
Our second hotel did wine and beer by the bottle in ice buckets. Watch and learn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyLancs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've just got back after spending 12 days in Sunrise Royal Makadi Resort and Spa and can't wait to go back!! Was worried 12 days might be too long, but would have happily stayed another week or two!

The staff, in particular the animation team, were beyond fantastic! They all went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and almost like celebrities! Have to name Momo, Timo, Mido, Osama and YoYo in particular for taking so much time out to ensure we were always enjoying ourselves and getting us to participate in as many activities as poss - there are a number of exercise/dance/relaxation classes throughout the day, and the animation team put together incredible shows in the evening, my personal favourite being the cobra show and the comedy night.

The staff in the restaurants would say hello and stop to speak every time they saw us making us always feel very welcome. The chef also made a special dessert for me an a friend - its those little touches which added to the specialness of the holiday. In particular I have to mention Taha for being absolutely funny every single night at dinner and having us in stitches. He provided us with some of the best moments of the entire holiday!:-) Also Mohsin the shisha guy would keep us entertained each evening with his singing, smile and dancing - a real joy each evening.

The only downside of the resort is the spa. We booked 4 massages (2 x Egyptian, hot stone and aromatherapy). It felt as though the ladies giving the massage had no idea what they were doing. During the hot stone massage, they were unable to keep hold of the stones and these would slip out of their hands every few minutes. The staff really need to be trained and I wouldn't recommend the massages. Also, we were continually offended by Ahmed the lifeguard. Initially he had been very friendly, but as soon as I rejected his offer for a drink, he became extremely rude with us with his passing comments and would not help with moving the sunloungers etc even though he was continually happy to do this for the other guests.

Despite these downsides, I would still strongly recommend this hotel as I have had the best 12 days, and again would say this has got to be due to the friendly and incredibly warm staff at the resort. The location is stunning and the resort is simply beautiful! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L0nd0n_Girl_Tr4v3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week holiday on 3 Feb 2012 and although my wife and I thought this was cheap and cheerful it turned out to be a nice relaxing holiday with good restaurants, very helpful staff and good overall facilities.

The initial arrival is disorganised and expect to wait up to 1hr before being allocated a room. The rooms are basic but adequate in simple Egyptian styles and initially the resort is confusing with 37 blocks of apartments and is as big as many UK villages. The initial appartment we were allocated lacked any good outlook so after complaining the front of house manager (Hasem) offered a further appartment before we agreed to upgrade for an additional cost but worth it over the 2 weeks.

TOP TIP - If your not on ultra AI through Thomas Cook, make sure you are and if this means paying for it, do it ! this will give access to the restaurants, sauna, jacuzzi even a free hair cut at the salon etc.

Pro's
7 al a carte restaurants, try them all and the Asian, Itallian & Bedouin are all very authentic with excellent food choices served.
The beach front location and in particular the VIP adult pool where it was relaxing and the staff (Saleh, absolute top barmen very attentive and always ensuring a drink was brought to me and Mohamed known as Maradona the towel man who had my sunbeds reserved each day ) both were absolutely superb!
Outside snack bars for pizzas and burgers were handy at lunch and eating outside for breakfast was lovely.

Con's
The branded drinks (4 spirits) were misleading and only served in the lobby bar.
Mikadi Bay is well away from Hurghada and apart from other hotels not much to do (I was after a couple of bars etc.)
The International Buffet was merely a large canteen and I would have suicidal if I had to eat in there for 2 weeks (we enjoyed al a carte for all but the 1st night of arrival)
The lack of small notes being made available from the reception or cashier allowing you to tip the staff.
Accept there will be lots of eastern europeans being greedy (hence avoid the buffet) and rude and overrunning the night club open till 03:00.

Overall - Very good value for money (ensure you are ultra AI) but the hotel is more 4* when compared to 5* Egyptian hotels I've stayed in. Very clean with very helpful staff but in a rather limited location.

Room Tip: Request a room in block 16 or 17 for easy access to pools, beaches reastaurants etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FTMCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.8 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,213 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing