We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had an enjoyable ten day stay at Sunrise Royal Makadi. Unfortunately the weather was not as warm as we had expected at the beginning of the holiday - quite breezy and cool by around 3pm - meaning you needed warmer clothing later afternoon and in the evening. we often stayed by the pool near our block (10) which was great as there was hardly anyone else there - so it was peaceful. The bar staff were excellent and it's definitely worth using the a la carte restaurants when you can as the main restaurant can be noisy. We did a couple of trips organised by Thomas Cook - Luxor on a coach for the day was a long day - leaving 0500 returning 2200 and you do get a lot of hassle from the locals there tring to sell you stuff but would recommend Karnak Temple and Valley of Kings to visit; also did the 'Paradise' island trip which was overpriced and snorkelling was nearly as good off the hotel beach. Overall would recommend for relaxing winter sun week away

Room Tip: We had a large room in block ten on the top floor which was great - well serviced daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozzie292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,174
    1,120
    439
    134
    91
See reviews for
3,479
2,002
110
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We recently returned from our belated honeymoon at the Sunrise Select Royal Makadi Resort, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, in Egypt. We spent 10 days there from the 1st to the 11th of November. What a fantastic holiday we had, our best ever! We were treated like VIP’s from the moment we arrived to our departure back to the Airport.

After our 2 previous holidays here in 2009 and 2010, there really was no contest when it came to deciding the destination for our honeymoon and holiday. This big hotel offers us everything we want from a holiday and more. Clean, comfortable bedrooms, lots of pools to choose from, 3 with swim-up bars, a large buffet restaurant and a total of 7 A La Carte Restaurants offering wonderful meals and service! On top of all its other facilities, this hotels’ crowning glory is its staff…what a fantastic, polite, friendly and hardworking set of people they are  From the General Manager, Mr Sami Kaplanki , his management team, down to the army of cleaners, gardeners, laundry, maintenance, entertainment, kitchen, restaurant and bar staff, security personnel, reception etc., all are approachable and very keen to please and ensure you have a very enjoyable stay.

On arrival at the hotel with 2 other couples, we were quickly assigned our room by the friendly reception staff, and also the Guest Services Manager, Yasemin came over to greet us. We had lots of contact with her and Barbora, another member of the Guest Services Team, during our holiday, and nothing was too much trouble for them. One difference at this hotel compared to most other All Inclusive’s is that you don’t have to wear a wristband which is nice. Instead you are given electronic cards which operate your door lock and most of the electrical functions in your room. It also doubles as your ID in the hotel but the staff has an uncanny memory for faces and you usually never need to show it.

Most of the rooms in the hotel are located in 2 and 3 story blocks spread over a large area of the complex. The grounds are very well tended with grassed areas and many colourful plants and shrubs. You are never more than a nice 5 minute stroll from any of the hotel’s facilities and amenities however.

We had been given a nice 2nd floor room in which to celebrate our honeymoon and we were extremely pleased with it. It had a very large bed and lots of storage space. A nice large bathroom with a lovely walk in shower room with probably the best shower we have ever used. The large balcony overlooked one of the family pools, and had a lovely view of the complex. Our room had a good digital safe, again free of charge, a small fridge which was loaded with soft drinks and bottled water, a tv with lots of channels but only the BBC News in English, an hairdryer in the bathroom, 3 telephones, and good air conditioning. As well as being essential during the day to keep the room cool, it was also nice in the evenings (In early to mid November) to be able to warm up the room as most nights were quite breezy and cool once the sun had gone down and darkness fell. Temperatures during the day were nice and hot (Low 30’s) and perfect for sun bathing. I would recommend to any one holidaying here during the winter season to take along some warmer clothes for the evenings as the breeze can be quite chilly at times.

Our Room Attendant, a guy called Mohamed Said, kept our room spotless and nothing was too much trouble for him. The towels were changed daily and the bed linen regularly.

There are about 6 swimming pools at this hotel plus a small paddling pool area at each of the 2 Family Pools. The pools which are unheated in winter are too cold for all but the toughest of swimmers to bear but the sports pool and a small pool near the Main Pool are heated and these were very popular. The Family Pool 1, the one with the big slides and swim up pool bar isn’t heated but we did give it a try but didn’t last too long! Fortunately while we were there, the smaller Family Pool 2 was heated for the first time and it was lovely and warm. We spent the majority of our days by this pool and it also has a nice swim up pool bar. The bar captain there, Nazmy, gave us great service and the Pool Attendant/ towel guy called Abdo was a fantastic character keeping us entertained every day with his friendly banter and huge smile. He kept his area round the pools very clean and tidy. He was popular with all the guests, young and old, and we hope he is still there when we return again in the near future.

We did see lots of cleaning and maintenance work taking place at all the pools while we were there. A lot of this takes place very early in the morning and late at night, sometimes through the night and of course goes unseen by the majority of guests. We saw samples of the pool water being taken regularly by the engineers for quality analysis and monitoring purposes.

We used to have a late afternoon stroll down to the pool at the VIP/Entitled Guest Area where our friend Saleh, the Bar Captain, would serve us our cocktails while we relaxed looking out over the beach and sea. It was a nice place to be as the sun went down.

All the pools have lots of sun beds available and we never had a problem finding one. There are also lots of the large wooden umbrellas available to provide shade. As part of the complex re-furb, they are presently being painted dark and light blue which looks quite nice. You are provided with towel cards which you exchange on a daily basis for big beach towels so no need to take your own!

Restaurants

There are now 7 A La Carte Restaurants at this hotel and you can book one every night of your holiday if you want. These offer a great dining experience with fantastic meals and service to match. Our evenings here were the highlights of our holiday. Our favourites were the Dalila/ Mediterranean, Asian, and especially the new Mexican. On our first night back at the hotel, our friend Ayman Elrefayu, a waiter in the Dalila/Greek Fish Restaurant had remembered which was our favourite table from our previous visits and had prepared it with a heart made from flower petals to celebrate our honeymoon. After a lovely meal in the romantic setting, a large group of the waiters and chefs appeared round our table clapping and singing to celebrate with us and got us up to dance with them, a very special occasion and one we will always treasure, thank you Ayman and the rest of the guys in there.

The Asian is also a very nice restaurant with a lovely authentic atmosphere, and again superb Chinese, Indian and Thai cuisine and service. You also get the bonus of seeing the Tepenyaki chef at work displaying his great skills as he prepares speciality meals for guests. It was pretty spectacular at times as flames rose to the ceiling from his hotplate, all intentional of course!

We also enjoyed our meals at the T-Bones Steak House and the Italian Restaurant which again had a really authentic Italian atmosphere and was nice and cosy.

The real highlight for us though, was the Mexican Restaurant. This really was a nice place to spend the evening. We had seen photos of the interior from when it first opened but they didn’t do it justice. The decor was lovely, the lighting just right and Mexican style music played quietly in the background. The service and food in here was absolutely superb and we dined in here on 3 occasions we enjoyed it so much! The Chef, Ahmed Salem Mansiur came out to speak to us on each occasion to ask if we had enjoyed our meal and have a little chat. We have never met a more enthusiastic chef whose attention to detail with cleanliness, hygiene and the meals he prepared was amazing. Such a nice man too.
We had great service from all the waiters in there but especially Ahmed Ibrahim Mahmoud Minio and Hatem the Assistant Manager; nothing was too much trouble for them.

There is also a very large buffet restaurant where the majority of guests seem to take their breakfast, lunch and evening dinners. We never used it on this holiday but on previous visits found it to have a vast selection of food on offer and always found something to our liking. It did however get pretty busy and hectic at peak times.

We had breakfast every morning in the Around the World Restaurant which faces on to the beach and is lovely in the morning as the sun comes up over the Red Sea. Being early risers we were usually one of the first people in when the doors opened at 7am.
We’ve always enjoyed the relative peace and quiet in there compared to the Main restaurant at breakfast. All though nowhere near as big a selection of foods as the main buffet, it was fine for us and we had nice omelettes cooked freshly by Mohamed, natural yogurt, cereals, orange juice, toast and as much coffee as we could drink. This was served to us by the young waiter Mohamed Farag who really looked after us well during breakfast.

The Assistant Manager in the ATW at breakfast time, a guy called Mohamed Tawfik, who we remembered from the Asian Restaurant the previous year, also did a great job making sure everything was running smoothly and constantly doing his bit to keep the place clean and tidy. Air conditioning has been installed in the ATW/Dalila Restaurant since our previous visit, a definite plus during the heat of the summer season here. The Dalila/ATW Manager, Mustafa went on vacation a couple of days after we arrived, but we did have chance to have a couple of chats with him. He is a lovely guy, very courteous and respectful and it was nice to see him again.

For lunch every day we went over to the T-Bones Restaurant where they serve a selection of made to order pizza, steak ,burgers, hot dogs, liver (fortunately this was only served once in the time we was there ) and chips. There was also salad, fruit and a few other items to choose from. We enjoyed everything but the liver . It was lovely to sit in the shade from the mid-day sun with a nice breeze to keep you cool. Our friend, the Bar Captain Islam Ibrahim always came over from his bar to serve us our favourite cocktails (Non-alcoholic during the day, for us)

One of the things we like about the SRMR is that we are free to do whatever we like. We just go to basically chill out and do little else but sunbathe, rest, eat and drink…all in moderation of course  There are loads of organised activities arranged every day by the Animation Team Leader Mustafa Patrick and his guys. We came across this guy on a few occasions and he really is a larger than life character, very enthusiastic and always letting you know what was going on. We didn’t see a great deal of the night time entertainment except one night when we went down to the Beach Party and spent some time there. Everyone seemed to be having a great time and really enjoying themselves with a live band on the stage.

The Night Manager Mr Salah Mahdy is another of this hotel’s really good managers. Even tho he is one of the busiest people in the hotel, he always made time for a quick chat whenever we saw him.

One of the tests of a hotel’s popularity is its number of repeat guests. Friends of ours have visited the hotel on 13 occasions, and they have met people who have returned to the SRMR for 27 visits! Real proof that the hotel is getting most things right! We ourselves have been 3 times, already booked again for next spring and hoping to return again in the late summer. Many other guests are returning year after year. Even on our first visit we settled in quickly and found the staff to be exceptionally good. Treat them with respect, dignity and good manners and the service you receive from them will be repaid many times over.

There are a lot of sales people roaming around the complex trying to sell boat trips, spa treatments, etc, but they didn’t bother us. On the couple of occasions we were approached a simple “No thanks” was sufficient.

If you have any issues while you are at the hotel, please report it immediately to Reception where the staff will do their utmost to sort out any problem. Mohamed Hassanin speaks very good English and can usually be found there during the day.

The Hotels’ slogan “Welcome Home” is very apt as it always feels like we are returning to see old friends and we can’t wait for our next holiday to come round. As long as this hotel continues to offer us the same high standard of facilities and service, we intend to continue returning here for the foreseeable future...We love it!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DeanoCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a family holiday at the end of October / beginning of November.

The all inclusive is good but we found the a la carte dinng a useful option.

Proximity to The Red Sea for diving and snorkelling is great for trips but not very good close to the hotel beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have just came back from Sunrise Roylal Makadi bay hotel in November this was our third time at sunrise and can still say it was amazing. we had met so many friends there and each and every visit is wonderful. The staff cannot do enough for you. you will not find a better choice of restaurants anywhere in the red sea. there is 7 or 8 one nearly for every culture. As always a very big thank you to Ulla from quality management who never forgets us. As do all the staff as always. i cannot recommend this hotel enough for quality, cleanliness, value for money, also choice of food.you wont regret it, book now.

Room Tip: try block 15 or 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mckinn0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have just had a brilliant holiday at this wonderful hotel, whilst it is a large hotel we have been at larger ones that weren't as well laid out. We were very impressed from the moment we arrived, and were soon taken to our lovely room in block 12, with our luggage soon following. We ate in the main restaurant our first night and had no problems at all, from then on we enjoyed visiting all the a-la carte restaurants. It was very windy for our 2 week stay and quite chilly in the evenings so we didn't manage the steak house as it is outside.
We managed to get a sheltered spot by the pool our first day, where we were well looked after by Morsy. We spent several days on the beach as we found it to be more sheltered from the wind, and interesting watching the boats, windsurfers etc.
We tended to have breakfast at the around the world restaurant which we had almost to ourselves, but prefered lunch at the main restaurant as we could sit outside. We found the around the world too hot at lunchtime, there is aircon but it wasn't always on.
We thought all of the food was excellent and can't understand how anyone could not find anything they liked to eat.
Our room was upstairs and well cleaned and looked after throughout our stay, we had a large double bed. The shower didn't have much power but there was always hot water. Lovely clean towels and sheets were provided every day.
The grounds are well kept up, the only thing that we found was that some of the outside tiles were broken and needed to be replaced.
We used the lobby bar in the evenings as it was too cold to sit outside, more chairs are probably needed inside or some other sheltered area.
The entertainment team worked hard and there were things on all day. I went to yoga a few times and was often the the only one! We went to a professional dance show and also a snake show which were both excellent, but generally the cool evenings didn't make us want to go out to the arena. Athough we didn't do much the team were always around for a chat and telling us what was going on.
We weren't troubled by people selling much, maybe we were too old!
I would say this is probably a good 4 star hotel, the staff and the new dining options definately make it! We would love to go back next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LinjEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Recently returned from 2 weeks in the Sunrise, nights were cold and days deceivingly hot. Staff at the Sunrise really appreciate return visitors and made our holiday feel just that little bit more special. The Sunrise now has seven al carte restaurants, we visited all of them and also treat ourselves to a lobster dinner for approximately £20 for two persons, a must if you are a lobster fan. Our favourite restaurants were the Asian, Italian and the Steakhouse which had improved dramatically since our first visit, downside is it was cold sat outside. The new Greek seafood restaurant was a little disappointing although a seafood restaurant it has no meat/vegatarian dishes on it which would be awkward for group who are dining with people who don't like fish. The hotel is undergoing some asethetic renovation and is dramatically benefiiting from it. For children the hotel and staff are fantastic, however I think all the restaurants need to cater for children more, two weeks of chicken nuggets, fries, spaghetti, and pizza can make children difficult to please (a tin of baked beans would go along way). We are returning in August 2012 and are already counting down the days, one tip is if you want anything do not be afraid to ask, if you have a complaint tell the staff and they will bend over backwards to assist. Special thanks to Ayman (Dalila restaurant), El Sayed (Italian), Mohamed (Pergola bar), Nazmy (family pool 2) and our room cleaner Alaa he was fabulous, and kept our room beautiful. Also the guys that work in the photo boot (united brothers) are fabulous and took some fantastic family photos for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gibbisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to this resort.I must say it was just as good as our previous visits,all the better for the additional ala carte restaurants,this made the choices better,we managed to get in them all apart from the asian,unfortunately.by booking in the late afternoon save queing in the victoria pub, albeit there was only 2 of us.checking in no problem,we were in block 30,which was on the perimeter,of the blocks,not a bad spot at all,quiet for most of the time.3 minutes to the beach,slightly longer to reception.but all in all not bad.the staff are the main reasons for returning,must say that certain areas require attention URGENTLY.to keep up with the up and coming resorts in the area.reception is 1 area,also the rooms need looking at,although still comfortable,just the general decor needs looking at,most areas kept spotless by the tireless efforts of staff.the GYM.what a disaster.apparently I was told this was going back above the spa this week,sooner rather than later,in its present state it canot be classed as a GYM!!still enjoyed our stay would definately go back.WIFI was available but the signal was very patchy in areas,in our room it went up and down.cost us 270 LE for 6 days.pay for 3 get 3 free

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank todareistodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
11.5 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Property: SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing