We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday Highly Recomended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Dont no why people moan so much went away 24/06/11 till 8/07/11 half hour coach journey to sunrise royal makardi on arrival welcome drink and no wait handed our passport to rep and then were given our room our bags were taken up please tip bell boy as this goes along way.

Very big room there were 3 of us so we had to 2 rooms 2 televisions plenty of wardrobe space and a big bathroom you get fresh water daily and also fizzy pop drink which is replaced once a week we was in block 34 which was family rooms we over looked kids pool and you could see the pool with water slides which was across the road.

You have a choice of 6 a la carte resurants these have to be booked the day before best to be there when open at 9 oclock when opens at queen vic my favourite was asian italian mexican and steakhouse you also had mediterian and beduwin which were also nice.
Our nightimes were spent in the loby bar we were looked after by the bar staff souady and marawan there always plenty of drinks waiting for us there were 11 of us we all meet up here at sunrise royal hi to alex, chris,faye, louise, les,karen,marlane and tim they made our holiday many laughs and jokes and late nights english all inclusive have upgraded bar whch means all local and international brand are free to drink.

Resturants can be a paiin mainly the main resturant where you get pushed and shoved by rude russions but we still ate there many thanks to Emad Ahmed my waiter he always looked after us.

Also many thanks to the night manger Salah Mahdy and reception manger Mohamed Habib they also looked after my eldist daughter and her boyfriend who stayed at this hotel 2 weeks later.

Please tip all staff at the begining of holiday a small token of £2 english pound or egyptian money you can use either english egyptian euro or american dollars
This is my 7th vist to egypt to differant parts and have never had a bad experiance yet.

Please please do not listen to people who complain they suffer with gippy belly due to poor food or pool control this is due to the heat tempratures in egypt some people just have nothing better to do than moan.
I highly recommend this hotel and all the hard working staff in it many many thanks see you all at christmas

Thankyou laraine,mark and emma

Room Tip: fantastic holiday rooms good standard
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank papabigears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,100)
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,464 - 4,470 of 7,100 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just come back from here, first impressions of the place where very good, check in friendly staff, room very big but basic, lots of pools and there was problems getting a sunbed, some days walked around for she's to get one, had to do my pet hate and join in with the brigade that reserves them early, what really annoyed me is that some people who reserved them didn't turn up till lunch time or even later, never seen the pools cleaned, and the main pool in the front had a constant film on it and grime by the pool bar, if they had got this basic fundamental right, I would go back, but because of this I wouldn't recommend it, food hit and miss, Asian and Italian nice, Mexican very stange combenations, medertarian ok steak house first time really nice booked again and it was disgusting ended up throwing up, if you do go the buffet, around the world is better, albeit less choice, do tip in dollars as this does make a huge difference to your experience, had a 12 year old daughter, who they payed far to much attention to, do try jeep safari this trip was really good, and good value for money, over all I had a pleasant holiday, as this was a lot cheaper than I paid last year in Lara beach, but would rather pay a premium price and have proper 5 star and not something that barely reaches 3 , and main pool -1, if you go with low expectations you will be pleasantly supprised, and if they clean the pools this will greatly improve the whole holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lhegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had an excellent time at the Royal Makadi, from the very warm welcome to the day we left. The location is 'up and coming' with a lot of new development happening however nothing intrusive to the Sunrise Makadi.
The hotel is spread over a decent sized area with different pools and different levels of activity happening at them all.
The 2 buffet restauarants offered a reasonable choice & we received great service despite only tipping when I felt they had gone the extra yard, what does go very far are the words please and thank you. We found we were served that bit quicker & with more of a smile when we did this, however, I saw no evidence of anyone dragging their heels except in the late night bar. I had to go to the bar most nights to order a drink (not a problem !!) however the waiters looked absolutely appalled that I should do this !
I strongly recommend the a la carte restaurants, nice & relaxed and the food was very nice. Again the standard of service was great quality.
The entertainment both in the afternoon & evening was standard fare, not too exciting but there if you wanted to join in.
Our room was basic but very clean and the standard of cleanliness was the same for the whole stay. The minibar could have been stocked with cola etc a tad more but hey ho !! there was always water restocked & you really do need it.
One drawback in the hotel is they don't cash travellers cheques. They have an ATM which will work on your bank card & will also exchange £ notes for Egyptian cash.
We went a few excursions, the night shopping in Makadi is only really if you desparately want a Hard Rock T shirt or want to go to the sushi bar. The boat trip they sell on the beach is better value than that from the rep (sorry Mark ! no commission there) the desert safari was great (not wonderful for very young kids : they will tire quickly) The trip to Luxor was good although felt a tad rushed, we were their in the height of the day & it was scorching, although the biggest turnoff was the touts selling everything & anything whenever and wherever the bus stops ; be polite but firm & they'll leave you alone !
All in all we had good value for money & I would reconsider a 2nd visit to this holtel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owsunburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

As 'seasoned' travellers for business and pleasure we, like many couples new pretty much what we would get and what we wouldn't get when we booked this all-inclusive hotel. If you are looking for dawn till dusk sun shine then Egypt is a given. The hotel itself is very large with about 1700 guests when we stayed and I guess 50% were Russian, etc. The 6 al a carte speciality restaurants are definitely the best places to eat in the evening with nice menus as the main buffet restaurant is chaos! A 10-20LE (£1-2) tip to your drinks waiter now and again ensures excellent service and a new best mate for the duration of the holiday.

Positives: great beach with crystal clear water in front of the hotel, nice clean pools most with lifeguards, plenty of sunbeds and parasols, wide variety of food (varying quality) and restaurants, friendly staff throughout, fast check-in / out, close to the airport, etc.

Negatives: Some of the rooms are in need of a facelift, evening entertainment is poor or non-existing, internet cafe is expensive considering slow connection speeds.
Also beware the over-bearing Russian culture - it is very different to ours!

Tip: To avoid tummy upsets don't eat food that has been washed in local water (salads, etc) and take a good supply of hand-sanitiser gel with you before you eat bread and cakes for example as they may have been handled by others previously who let's say don't have the same hygiene habits as most of us (remember 1000 people all trying to dive into the food at the main al a carte restaurant!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for 1 week from 12/7 to 19/7 with wife and 4 kids, 17, 15, 2 and 1. We had no intention of going to Egypt and just searched for cheapest 5 star all inc within 5 hours flying distance. SRMB came up as cheapest £450 each so our expectations were not high and after reading some of the negative reviews posted recently we were worried. However, this place is superb and I'm already pricing it up to go back in December. ROOMS - we stayed in block 10 and had 2 ground floor connecting rooms which were perfectly ok. Dressing area had loads of wardrobe space (and 15 hangers), built in safe (free), bedroom had plenty of space with table and 2 chairs, vanity desk, chest of drawers and decent aircon. Shower room has ok shower, loads of space, shaving/make up mirror and hairdryer. Covered balcony with table and chairs. RESTAURANTS - I queued every moring for a la cartes and it was worth it. I joined queue at 9.10 and left at 9.40 most mornings which is a pain however its air conditioned in the Queen Vic and they serve juices, coffee and cakes while you wait. I was informed the new terminal system will be up and running within 2 weeks!. Main buffet restaurant was quite hectic and always running out of things and service poor, but around the world was very different, less choice but excellent service and much quieter. Mexican restaurant was ok but not very authentic and a bit clinical. Italian is superb, we went twice and each time we got the private dining room/area at the front which was nice. Bedoiun which is on the edge of the hotel complex was different, sitting on the floor with ground tables, food wasnt great and we left with several mosquito bites (no other bites during the week). Asian restaurant was very good (try the baked ice cream) and the Meditteranean again very good. Didnt try steak house as everyone said the choice was very limited and not very good. I saw the dress code enforced a few times at the a la cartes (men must have shorts below knees, and no plastic flip flops. leather flip flops are ok). BEACH - Is 5 rows deep with sun beds (all gone by 9.30am), all with a canopy and wind break. Mainly coarse sand with just a few rocks (dont need water shoes) snorkelling is much better at next beach (Fort Arabesque) 2 minute walk, go out before 7am and the fish flock around you! POOLS - not as cold as i expected. Stayed mainly at block 10 pool as best for young kids however tried all the pools and each one had something different to offer. You could get a sun bed nearly anytime of day at this pool however at the main pool they were all reserved by 9.30am, but if you hung around its not long before one comes available. COMPLEX - this is a very big site which is great as you would never know there are 2000 people there. Takes 6 mins to walk one end to other. 95% of the staff are incredibly helpful. Stomach upsets - My 15 year old daughter and I had dodgy belly for 2 days but not too bad, no sickness, everyone else ok. 3 things I will do differently next time we go...1) Not go in July/August - too hot, 2) go for at least 10 nights (cant fit everything into 7), tip pool bar staff and waiters in bars earlier in holiday (1 tip of $5) makes a huge difference to the service you receive. If anyone needs more info please message me (esp if you need advice for taking babies/toddlers).

Room Tip: E-mail the front desk in advance and they will try and allocate you your required room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank f1jenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

just got back from 2 fantastic weeks at the sunrise makadi bay our holiday was faultless and already trying to book to go back for christmas . all the staff are brilliant and go out of their way to ensure you have the best holiday ,a big thankyou to becky chambers who works along side pattrick on the animation team we have good memories and all the laughs we had ,a big thankyou to dina who ensured our every need was met and sabar our no 1 waiter and emand the life guard who looked after us aswell you all do a fantastic job .as a family this was the beat holiday in five years carnt wait to go back .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank melissa09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Travelled to this hotel as a family in July and we had a wonderful time. The hotel and people are lovely. You can go to the al a carte restaurants as many times as you like and I would recommend the around the world restaurant rather than the busy main one. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and beach area so no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve beds. The animation team were fantastic especially Becky, the young girl from England who has recently joined the team, she is always smiling and extremely helpful, she became a good friend.
We went on the boat trip with Blue Waves - Sam was the guy who gave us all of the information and took our booking and we had a wonderful day, even saw dolphins at the side of the boat.
Ignore any negative reports on tripadvisor, I would say go to this hotel and make up your own mind, as we will be returning quite shortly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sunmax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
6,283 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
2.4 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $100 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing