We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun city makadi bay great hotel , will be back...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenity Fun City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serenity Fun City Resort
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fun city makadi bay great hotel , will be back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

we visited the serenity fun city last 2 week of august 2012 ,2 adults 1 child stayed in room 5211 and from start to finish this hotel was a great place to stay , the staff where friendly the managers were helpfull and nothing was too much trouble. The pools were great the waterslides good fun entertainment team did a great job through the day and on a night time , if you didnt want to venture down to the stage there was normally a singer on in the reception area and the bar was close by. the rooms very clean cleaned every day and if you tip the cleaner your fridge gets fully stocked with soft drinks, the safe was free nothing went missing as mangers always pretty stricked with there staff and followed things up with the guess to make sure everything was o.k with the cleaners. wifi access his free in reception and a small charge if you want wifi in your room this his normal where ever you go. gym was free but only snag its across the road in the other hotel , shops in the complex on the pricey side so take plenty of snacks with you especially sweets . quad biking was great fun 2 hours in the desert did this excursion twice based on site at the side of the hotel.Luna park rides where 1 euro a go came on at night also great fun bumpers swings little rollercoaster ferris wheel and a few others overhaul great holiday and will return again thank you management at fun city your doing a great job.

Room Tip: room 5211 was right in the middle of the complex eveything was easy access .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Pen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    81
    47
    36
    41
See reviews for
321
24
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Serenity Makadi resort is divided into two hotels (Serenity beach front and Fun City). The first offers direct access to the beach and tailored for couples with no kids. We decided to stay at the Fun City (our kids aged 6 to 9) where they can enjoy the unlimited access to the water games in the morning and theme park at night. It ended to be a perfect choice and we all had enjoyed our time. Below is a summary feedback for the major hotel elements for your feedback.

Rooms: Excellent, this is a 3 months old hotel, and the rooms were brand new, we stayed at room # 5055 (ground floor) facing the pool and just beside the water park (I think this is one of the best locations). A/C was fine, hairdryer provided; TV channels are Egyptian, German, Italian, Russian and Polish. Housekeeping was doing a professional job with the daily clean up. Beds were quite uncomfortable for some reason.

F&B: Was not perfect (same applies for most other all inclusive hotels in Makadi), but was adequate to provide a decent meal. As per other reviews, Juices are of low quality (something the management must look into it). We preferred the snacks served at the aqua parks for lunch.

Kids facilities: The Aqua park is just GREAT!!!, not crowded, very safe, diversified, and they do have an elevator (comes in very handy when you have to cope with 8 years old energetic kids!!). The kids used to enjoy the aqua park from 10 am through 6 pm (there is a 2 hour break from 1 to 3 pm where they turn off the games), then after dinner they head straight to the Luna Park (in house amusement park), which you pay around EUR 1/ride. We used to enjoy our stay at Hurghada’s Jungle Aqua Park (see my review) but Serenity Fun City would easily become our favorite kids vacation destination if they maintain their current service levels.

Beach: You can walk to the beach (500 meters far) or just take the shuttle bus ride. The hotel has a nice snorkeling spot, sunbathing beds are abundant.

Room Tip: If you have Kids, choose block (5000 thru 5077), very close to the aqua park, Luna Amusement Park an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Relaxism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I am about to leave on holiday to this hotel but had the fortune of reading some of the foreign language reviews of the hotel, and have contacted the hotel and First Choice for confirmation.

DESPITE contrary advertising:
1. The Aquapark is NOT included, and you will be charged a daily rate for access
2. Wifi access is not a room amenity and is available only at reception and is separately charged for access
3. The check-out is 12 noon, which is normal, but they cut off all pool and amenity access after this point. So if you have children in tow and a late departure you are expected to stay cooped up in reception for hours. Of course, they will charge you for additional access to the amenities.

It seems that First Choice has now dropped this hotel from its offering.

I urge anyone who has booked with this hotel to try to get some redress for these hidden additional costs through their travel agent, before leaving. It is too late for me to book elsewhere.

The false and misleading advertising is unacceptable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
48 Thank Riversbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

They claim the hotel is brandnew, it is not, probably renovated and located in the middle of nowwhere. There are some issues the management has to work on: more beds at the poolsides, quite some dangerous situations with electricity (wires) hanging loose (in and outside!), cleaning swimming pools and area better. The food however was very tasteful with enough variation at the main restaurant. Also we recommend the Italian restaurant, the oriental rest. could not please us. What we missed was cooking or BBQ outside and more entertainment for adults. The kids had a great time with the slides and lunapark. Our family room was quite big, cosy and clean. Overall we would recommend this hotel, it was fine to us but not a 'showstopper'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank indiaanDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
2.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
10.0 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park
Jungle Aqua Park
#42 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
0.1 mi away
Serenity Makadi Heights
Serenity Makadi Heights
#13 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Fun City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Fun City Resort

Property: Serenity Fun City Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Fun City Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 585
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Serenity Fun City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing