We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

stayed at the tia on the 8th of july for two weeks. read reviews about lots of rude russians but iam glad it didnt put me off. hotel was spacious lots of restaurants to choose from, although the jasmine restaurant up stairs we liked the best.food was great always a variety. and the desserts were lovely. plenty of fresh fruit. we tipped little and often and got great service. the guys all work really hard. hotel room was very spacious. we were in 4004 which is near the main building so didnt have far to walk to the main hotel. room was cleaned every day with nice little touches a bear swan flower and crocodile made from the bath towels! beach was great always sunbeds although the beds at the front go quick. lovely breeze every day which was a blessing with the heat... snorkling was good you need beach shoes as there were a lot of sea urchins. beach bar was good drinks cups were very small so you needed to get a few to take back to your sunbed. again tip little and often and they will bring your drinks to you. gardens around the hotel are lovely and are always kept clean. must mention mr hasham the duty manager very warm and friendly man who always said hello to us. entertainment was ok but got a bit repetative. julia from the animation team was lovely. always had a big smile and very chatty. went on a trip in the dessert great day out. rode horses and camels although you dont get long. quad bikes were great fun and the go karts. we teamed up with to polish men and had great fun. brownie the guy in charge likes to soak you with water so beware!!! all in all had a great holiday and would go back there even with lots of russians..

Room Tip: room 4003 4004 quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie499509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    418
    229
    158
    242
See reviews for
726
463
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a two-week family holiday at Tia Heights from 22nd July 2013, staying in two of the Dunes Rooms which were clean, spacious and in a quiet location, less than a 5-minute walk (through the well kept gardens) away from the main reception/pool/beach etc. Contrary to some of the other reviews, we found the food to be more than acceptable. We have stayed in other resorts in Egypt and compared to other hotels in this price range, the quality and choice of food is good. We were well looked after in the main restaurant by the waiters who always managed to find us a table, even at busy times. The staff in general were very friendly and even though they were extremely busy, a smile and thank you always generated a positive response. We never felt obliged to tip, although we obviously did so for the staff who went out of their way for us to show our appreciation. The helpfulness of the staff and the location of the hotel made our holiday very enjoyable. The beach and swimming/snorkelling is fantastic and, as with the pool area, there were always plenty of sun loungers available.
We had a couple of minor issues with the room which were resolved almost immediately after we reported them to reception.
It was good to see that the General Manager was easily accessible, as he was often seen at his desk in the main reception area. We saw him regularly speaking to guests, including us, asking for feedback on how the holiday was going. He is clearly working very hard to ensure that all his guests are having a good time. When we enquired about the Aqua Park, he offered us free admission.
Overall, an excellent hotel with good facilities when you consider what it would cost you to stay in a hotel like this in the UK. We would definitely consider staying at Tia Heights again.

Room Tip: The main building gets rather noisy as the main reception, bars and nightclub are there. We were pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 14John24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

i liked the resort overall and especially the ANIMATION TEAM, they were lovely and attractive i loved their shows and their personal connection with people ; i know ''BOLBOL'' he's nice having a karisma with childish soul .. they treat the tourists and the local people as well in a good way, the aqua aerobics was amazing and the evening shows .. the general atmosphere was relaxing and refreshing .. i had very much fun that i didn't wanna return back home.

Room Tip: the rooms which have a good landscape and sunny i dunno exactly where are they located
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaraSalamaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well i have never wrote any review before about any hotel but when i went for a vacation from 8th of August to the 11th of August, i thought i must warn you guys from going to this hotel.

I will try to be as fair as possible to avoid giving a wrong image about the hotel

first of all from my humble opinion and compared to other thousands of hotels, there is no way that this hotel is a 5 star hotel, so unless you just find the money in the streets, look for any other hotel other than this one. For the reservation, we made a reservation for 6 rooms through one person and 1 room by phone, but when we arrived there we found that the 6 rooms that we reserved where pool view and that was okay but the A/C was not working properly, there was no kettle to boil the water, nothing. just a room with 2 beds while we were very specific that this is a room for a married couple!! but when we complained at the reception, the staff said that there are no other rooms and we cannot help you at all..
Just to avoid wasting your valuable time, the food there was absolutly horrible (and believe me when i say that we were 10 people and 5 of us has stomach problems). The only time we had good food was on 10th of August and it was only at dinner time. There is no variety whatsoever and the cooking quality is very bad. We were all egyptians and we suffered from the food quality so i dont know how would the foreigners react to such food quality...

Just to avoid wasting your precious time, if you are someone who is looking for a 5 star hotel to relax and enjoy the food and the sea, THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR YOU

In case you are willing to go to a Hotel with Aqua park and you dont care about the food nor the A/C, then this hotel is a very good choice for you..

Room Tip: Just think before you decide to make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmedhamza12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Makadi Bay hotels

Assiut, Asyut, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The place is really excellent , it had so few approved defects but I think these defects resulted from visitors not the place.
Advice : There are 3 restaurants on this place , choose the one with less people to enjoy your meal.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms 20XX , 30XX (excellent view , away from noise ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel is very very dirty.
Dune rooms - is ok , but not have cold water , hot water is orange .
Sea - very very beautiful
Stuff - not friendly


To much Egypt children's for weeks , like millions . Parents not look to much on child . What they want working and not respect anyone .

Hotel have real 3 stars or 2 . Only is good sea and beach , rest is poor

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

i would rate this hotel as a decent 3 star ,the pool is massive but the poolside service is non exsistent,the Beach is better on this side of makadi bay but you do get hassled a lot from people trying to sell boat trips etc,the food is okay but could be more varied and a Little more imaginative,the lagoon rooms are big and clean but they are in desperate need of renovation especially the a.c. system which broke Down 4 times in the 3 weeks we where there they did come out to fix it straight away but the Whole system needs replacing it never worked properly all the time we where there,the staff are very helpful and polite and the Aqua park is 2 minutes away and good fun for all ages.the daytime animation team are very good the night entertainment leaves a lot to be desired,also the kids Club and mini disco is only in russian and run by the Stalin sisters

Room Tip: if you have a Young Family avoid the dunes its a long walk to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2.3 mi away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#23 of 30 in Makadi Bay
894 reviews
1.9 mi away
Serenity Fun City
Serenity Fun City
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Property: Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Address: Safaga Road | Red Sea, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#24 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing