We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel the owner needs to sort his own kids out though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a great time, beautiful surroundings very clean hotel. Only two concerns owners family runs a muck on a quad bike on the path ways which is very worrying as he is young a dangerous and has no regard for little ones running around. Staff are afraid to do anything because of who the boy is, this goes on til late at night so the noise and the pedestrian ways are something to be careful of. Food was nice plenty of it but cold to warm only .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I've just returned from Tia Heights, and all i can say is that the hotel shold have 3 stars, max. The service is verry poor, the rooms are not clean at all, the food is bad, not mutch to chose from and the staff is not friendly at all. I wouldn't go there even again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Raluca_ral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Raluca ,

Your review following your recent vacation at Tia Heights is unfair , We try so hard to ensure our guests feel that they are in a home away from home hence the reason why we are successful in attracting a great deal of repeat guests who become our firm friends. I noticed your comments regarding the whole services of the Hotel are not right, because we have a lot of good previous reviews and you can reed it in Tripadvisor.
I have one question? why you did not feed back us all of your comments before you leave the hotel , it will be helpful for us and we would do our best to satisfy you .
I hope to meet you again in the future when you have the chance .
Thank you and best regards .
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here end of August/Septemeber 2012, generally most things are good but little things let it down especially outside and everything is catered towards russian guests:

The kids club and mini disco/films are nearly all in russian if you speak any other language you are pretty much left out to fend for yourself which is difficult when you have kids

The food is general all inclusive stuff rice pasta potatoes e.t.c not excellent but generally ok we went to the italian a few times (had to pay) but made a nice change as it does get repetitive.

The beach and sea are fantastic great for swimming and snorkelling e.t.c the swimming pools are also good however the drains round the sides were very dangerous which needs looking at:
The Aqua park was also very good and included in our package and is great for kids and adults:


The staff were generally good restaurant staff especially look after you very well i personally thought the animation team was pretty poor and compared to other holidays didnt seem to do much apart from what they had to:

As many other guests said on this forum 90% of the people there are russian (or russian speaking) very few spoke english so interaction with other guest it pretty low and hardly any British Families there:

Generally the hotel was good but little things let it down personally dont think it is a 5* more like 4* but value for money was pretty good and the weather was fantastic and gained a nice tan!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_H0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Lee Holand ,

We are so happy to read that you have enjoyed your vacation with us; such positive feedback reassures us as a team that we are on the right track and keeps us motivated for the future.

As our guest, you can eat in all our restaurants and a la cart restaurants on the beach too .
It could be happened during all European countries has holiday, that some nationalities more

than others in house, but during your stay we had another nationalities not only Russians .

We hope to welcome you back soon again and wish you all the best for the future!

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time on

Zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager
TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada
Tel: +20 (65) 3590590 Ext 77001
Fax: +20 (65) 3590595

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just had a lovely week at the Tia Heights hotel. Overall we couldn't fault the hotel but we did end up at the supermarket most nights buying crisps as the food was not great!
The reception area was very clean and staff fine. Pool was huge, warm and clean and we never had a problem getting a sun bed in the area we wanted. The beach was very close to the hotel and the sand was soft and clean, again no problems getting a sunbed. The sea was as warm as a bath and was very shallow for quite a way out so would be ideal for children. A small swim out took you to some coral reefs where you could snorkle with colourful fish. There were plenty of watersport options available at the sea if you wanted to pay for them. We didn't go to the waterpark as we had the All Inclusive light package which did not include entrance so check this before you book if the waterpark is important to you. We could have paid 20 US$ a day per person to go to the waterpark.
Now to the restaurants and trying to be objective. There were very few Brits in the hotel and so we wondered if they catered for the food tastes of there target market (Seemingly Russian). Food was very repetitive and it was a lot of rice and stews/casseroles and peas were put in everything it seemed. We are not fussy eaters but in the heat just did not fancy this type of food. Salads were dismall and never fresh prawns or something light to go with it. You often had to clear a table to eat at as the clearing was not seen as a priority. Very little fresh fruit which was surprising and chips served just twice the week we were there although you could always buy them! There is a hidden 3rd retaurant upstairs which was quieter it seemed.
We had a Dune room which was huge, well cleaned, Queen size comfy bed and air conditioned.
All in all we had a great time but food not to our taste and we are not fussy English who only want chips and English food! At airport expect queues of over an hour to get through securityor pay £10pp to the man carrying the VIP person sign who then takes you to the front of the line.

Room Tip: We had a Dune room and couldn't fault it. From the tarriff on reception it seemed pretty low dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tha1land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Tha11and ,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and also that you have enjoyed your time with us .Our entire team try daily very hard to satisfy all our guests and ensuring that you have a wonderful vacation with us, and we are so happy to read that we succeeded to exceed your expectations! Regarding the food we have a lot of different restaurants ( Italian , Sea Food , , Steak house , Chinese and Lebanese ) beside the daily changeable buffet in the main restaurant .

We hope to welcome you back soon again in Tiaheights Makadi bay !

Please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on:

Zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager

TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada
Tel: +20 (65) 3590590 Ext 77001
Fax: +20 (65) 3590595

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very good hotel
Swimming pool very good.
Animation team very nice.
Location is fantastic .
View from room very good.
Room is very nice.
Food is not bad and not good!!
Snacks is good.
But this hotel need to add more activites for kids also I was not happy because I have to charge for the aqua park.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heshambek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Mr.Heshambek

Thank you for your positive comments and also that you enjoyed your time with us and our animation team. Our entire team try daily very hard to satisfy all our guests and ensuring that you have a wonderful vacation with us, and we are so happy to read that we succeeded to exceed your expectations!
It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon again in Tiaheights and we wish you all the best for the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on:

zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager
TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Terrible food. Drinking on the beach only in two plastic cups. Only Russian rude tourists. Animations and paid staff unwilling. Never again return in this dirty hotel. The hotel has everything to come. Service is a disaster and more for diesel fuel smells.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Slavomír Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Tia Heights in late June and early July. It is a difficult hotel to review because it is mostly outstanding, but could use improvement in a few areas, mainly the attitudes of a few of the staff (though not all of them). Over all, we greatly enjoyed the experience. It's a huge place with a lot to offer. The beach and pool alone are so superb that it is worth returning for them alone. The aquapark was included in our ticket and we enjoyed it so much that we went multiple times.

Tia has a lot to offer all kinds of different people. There are lots of people, but the resort is so big that it is possible to find seclusion without too much difficulty. We never felt like it was overcrowded, there was plenty of space. There were also plenty of varied activities, so you don't need to worry if you are a family, a retired couple, a young romantic couple, or a group of friends. Whether you want to relax a lot, socialize a lot, do group resort activities, or do your own thing, the resort is good at catering to all kinds of needs.

I definitely recommend waiting to go to dinner. We generally went to meals towards the end of the shift and we found plenty of hot food and didn't have trouble finding seating. We liked the main restaurant and also we enjoyed trying several of the a la carte restaurants (the Lebanese and Italian, both delicious). A lot of people have complained about the amount of Russians and I have to say that having experienced the place, I think this is unfair. The Russians were all in all completely normal vacationing tourists. They were just wanting to have a good time with their families like anyone else. I did not find them to be rude generally, quite the opposite. They were generally polite and respectful. The only few instances of "rude" behavior came from children and that can happen with any nationality (kids wanting to cut in line or not respecting boundaries). Those were only a couple of exceptional cases. Also, we saw a lot of people of various nationalities, just no Americans and hardly any Brits.

The food, while it could get bland, was generally good. My partner is a vegetarian and always found plenty of food. When we went for Lebanese, they actually made him a custom grilled vegetable menu. The desserts were fantastic. The Arabian Night was superb. There was only one night where we didn't really like any of the food. Otherwise, we often found that the food was surprisingly good.

Our biggest problem with the resort were certain staff. There were a lot of really wonderful employees, especially Ahmed, our housekeeper and Ibrahim who oversees the Dune Rooms. There were some others who went out of their way and were really excellent, for example, in the Aqua Park. The worst problem was with certain front desk staff who had bad attititudes. We had problems with ordering bottled water at night. Also, on our last day, the front desk was pretty unhelpful when we had an issue with checkout. There were a few staff members with bad attitudes who didn't really want to do their jobs. Please don't think I am badmouthing all of the staff though. It was kind of a mixed bag, some were great and some left something to be desired.

I recommend that you walk along the beach promenade to do some shopping, because there are some excellent vendors there of high quality and affordable souvenirs, not tacky at all. Also, the camel rides along the beach are excellent. I have also done camel riding somewhere else in Egypt and I have to say that it was a better experience in Makadi Bay, they are much friendlier and also kinder to the animals than where I tried it before. We also found Makadi Bay to be very safe. There's really no reason to go to Hurghada proper when you are staying there.

There are some areas for improvement, but I have to say that I recommend the hotel. We talked to others who stayed in other places in the Hurghada region and also, we visited other resorts on the way to Tia, and I will say that we were glad that we were staying both at Makadi Bay and Tia Heights. We strongly prefer Makadi Bay to anywhere else we saw around Hurghada. We did a boating excursion along the coast and saw many resorts by sea. We were very happy with our choice in comparison.

In conclusion, there are a few minor faults, but that should not put you off of staying there. The beach, pool and gardens are really unique and excellent. There is plenty of space to relax. It is one of the best value beach resorts anywhere with plenty to offer. Yes, you should go.

Room Tip: We liked our Dune Room. That area is quiet and has nice views and gardens, but then we like walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.4 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort
#6 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $35 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing