We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Nearby Hotels
$114
$105
Official Hotel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$225
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberotel Makadi Beach(Makadi Bay)
$250
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LABRANDA Club Makadi(Makadi Bay)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steigenberger Makadi(Makadi Bay)
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,546)
Filter reviews
2,546 results
Traveler rating
1,918
479
92
36
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,918
479
92
36
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunflower restaurantwater parkquiet poolcabaret bara la carte restaurantsjaz makadianimation teampool bargreat holidayegyptian restaurantbuffet restaurantcouldn't do enoughreception stafffantastic hotelkids clubspecial thankstowel art
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 2,546 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at the Makadi Saraya, it was fantastic. It was our first all inclusive deal, and I have to say what great value it was. I appreciate it was not peak time since UK school holidays haven't kicked in yet, notwithstanding my impression is that you would be hard pushed to find a better value stay.

There is a multitude of bars and four restaurants onsite to choose from. The food can be a bit repetitive, but it is delicious all the same. Any complaints are dealt with immediately, though only had one occasion to do so. The staff are friendly and cooperative.

Numerous pools, sunbeds and towels are provided.

We had a junior suit, it was clean, spacious and comfortable.

Evening entertainment could be described as hit n miss, but no real complaints. I think the kids club was a little disappointing with very little information about it and it was not widely publicised.

The beach is great, and you feel like you're still getting the same service as if you were at the hotel pool. Some people have mentioned that it is a chore to get to from the hotel, really, it's only a few minutes walk. Would strongly advise sea shoes as it is rocky in places. The red sea is warm and clear, a delight to cool off.

The splash park is a small free bus journey to and has some great rides. Access to the park is free with your hotel pass. Advice here again would be wear sea shoes, flip flops are not really suitable, and be aware you have to carry your larger water ride dingy with you up a fairly tiresome incline, so not for the feeble. My six year son managed his, but the family dinghy could be a struggle for some. Lunch is free, though limited in choice. I think half a day was enough for us at the splash park. The kids should love it.

The location is remote, so do not expect to wander outside the complex as there is very little to see. The shops on site are ok, but haggle like crazy to bring the price down. Being English it's not in my nature to do so, but I was surprised at how well I improved and got some great deals, don't be afraid, they expect it.

It is primarily a Russian and German resort, but that should not put you off visiting this great value destination.

My final comment is left for Hurghada airport, be prepared for chaos.

On arrival, and through the extended queues, you have to pay for your Egyptian Visa, which seems to vary in price from £15 pound to £20.

Departure is a complete shambles, it seems all departures are at the same time. Once through the queues and lengthy immigration process, the duty free is priced in US dollars. Be warned it is not a pleasant experience, and for me, put a black mark on whether I would return to Makadi Bay, which is a real shame.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the main pool, convenient for us.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gazzarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014
We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just returned this morning and had to put this review on straight away.
This has to be the friendliest, and safest hotel we've ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty and this continued throughout our stay. It was almost as if the staff knew what we wanted before even we did. The service was faultless in every way and they couldn't do more for us.
THE ROOM-We had a family room which consisted of a sitting area with sofa, chairs, TV etc. A sleeping area with two large single beds pushed together and a segregated area with two small beds for the kids. We were on the ground floor of Group 6 and the verandah backed on to the main pool area. The bathroom had a shower but no bath and there was a small cooking area with microwave, electric rings and a fully stocked mini-bar/fridge. The contents of the fridge were payable but you were provided with complimentary bottled water daily. Our room was cleaned daily, and it was a race into the room at the end of the day to see what the housekeeper had sculpted from whatever he could find in the room. We had everything from a croc to a man in sunglasses and a hat. The room has brilliant air conditioning which is vital with temps at night barely dropping below 35 c
FOOD-The buffet restaurants were well stocked with a variety of foods catering for all tastes and nationalities with slightly less that is suitable for the British palate. This is not a problem, as first choice/Thomson clients can use the 4 a la carte restaurants on site free of charge for dinner every night of the holiday. There is an Italian, a Chinese, a grill and an Egyptian to chose from and each one serves a variety of well cooked dishes to suit everyone. Once again, the service was spectacular with the staff remembering you each time you returned, even remembering your drinks etc. Breakfast and lunch in the buffet restaurants was plentiful and tasty with freshly cooked dishes cooked to order in front of you. Again, all the staff were so helpful and efficient and couldn't do enough for you. There is also a snack bar at the poolside which offers, a good variety of snacks throughout the day, again with super-helpful staff.
DRINKS-There are 7 bars to chose from so you will never go thirsty. All serving a great variety of drinks including cocktails throughout the day. There is even a 24 hour bar allowing you to use your all inclusive allowance 24/7. Very unusual for an 'all-inclusive' deal.
ENTERTAINMENT-There is the usual on-site entertainment team providing the usual mix of poolside and evening entertainment. However, previous experiences have left me reluctant to join in with theses activities-not here!! The team are a lovely mix of characters and nationalities and while it would be unfair to single any of them out, a special mention for Kirsty and Tito who made you feel like long lost friends and their infectious enthusiasm and a genuine desire to make your holiday better ensured that they had many satisfied customers every day. My only complaint was that they were allowed a day off!!!
WATER PARK-Don't make the mistake of leaving this day out too late into the holiday as you will want to return many times during your stay. I've never felt safer in a water park anywhere in the world and the variety of rides ensures there is something for everyone. Once again, the staff in the park were great and added to the experience rather than restrict your enjoyment. Pretty quiet with small queues for the rides too which was a bonus. The drinks and snacks in the park are all covered by your all-inclusive deal and you have to try the fried donut holes with syrup mmmmm.
EXCURSIONS-We didn't book any through the tour operator as they appeared a bit expensive. However, you will be approached poolside each day by people looking to sell you outings, beauty treatments, massages etc and with a little perseverance, you will get a good deal from them. We went for a half day snorkelling trip which was fantastic and cost about 75% of the tour operator price. My wife also went for a couple of beauty treatments. My advice is to appear interested but do not commit to anything straight away. We ended up saying no, but he returned the next day and offered the same treatments for a 50% reduction in price!
BEACH-The hotel has it's own section of beach where you again will receive a personal service from the staff all day. There are towels and snorkelling equipment available, free sun beds, snacks, drinks etc also provided as part of the all-inc deal. The beach is beautiful and the snorkelling is great. Gently sloping beach allowing safe bathing for children too. Spotlessly clean and has a lovely sea breeze to take the edge off the searing heat. There is also a lovely old man who walks up and down the beach with a camel offering 'taxi'. If you don't want anything more than a picture with the camel, he appreciates something to eat or a bottle of water as a payment.
SHOPPING-The hotel and the immediate area has several of the usual tourist shops. These are a bit dearer than what I had expected but you can still haggle your way to a price that both you and the seller are happy with. I would recommend that you wait until the airport to buy your souvenirs etc as they are less than half the price of those in the resort.
AIRPORT-The airport is total chaos!!! You will have to pay around £19 per person to enter the country but if you go to the stands immediately to the left of the arrivals area instead of heading to the thomson's desk you will be able to pay less but you are herded towards the dearer ones. This is unavoidable and left a sour taste in my mouth at the start to the holiday.
The flight home provided even more chaos as about 20 flights were scheduled to leave around the same time and there was not nearly enough staff working to cope with the numbers of people.
Once through the numerous passport checks, check in, X-rays, etc you were presented with a brilliant selection of market style shops with fantastic prices and lovely traders looking to give you good deals (and they do). There is also a good selection of food outlets with a big variety to chose from , there is also a Burger King with a queue a mile long.

Anyway, back to the hotel. I don't think I've ever felt safer and more special anywhere else in the world and we will definitely return to Egypt and in particular to this hotel as it just doesn't get any better than this.

Thank you everyone at Makadi Saraya Resort
Phillips family room 6105

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
9  Thank Gers1873ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014
We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The resort in which Saraya is located is nice but not close to any shops or city. However, there is a very lively reef just of the sandy beach where we saw stingrays, cucumber eel, lion fish and hundreds of other fish (snorkeling).
I highly recommend this resort if you are going to snorkel and maybe is planning on going out by car/taxi. We found it too hot to just lay by the pool (+40 degrees celcius). The beach worked out fine although the high temperatures did not exactly favor a tan...
All this aside the resort offers all-inclusive. This has up's and down's. To us the only problem was the homogenious buffet. By the end of one week with a 90% similar buffet every day (three times a day) it becomes a little boring. However, food is fine and the staff is very helpful if you need anything that's not already on the buffet.
We would not think twice to stay there again but would combine it with day-tours (diving) every other day - and not go during the summer months.
As a final note I think the staff deserves a big star for being super friendly during the Ramadan in which I imagine they must be under big pressure due to dehydration and hunger at times. If they did - we never noticed it.

Room Tip: There is a quite pool and a pool with more activities and music. The pool life ends at 18.00 and we did not notice any noise at night. However, the heat is likely to have kept everybody indoors...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mortenhoegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014
We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Myself and my 10 year old daughter stayed here for a week and we had a great time- although a week wasnt long enough as we were still finding new restaurants the day before we flew back home- the place is that big. On arrival- very late on a Friday evening- we were greeted with a refreshing drink and buffet meal and shown to our room. The whole stay was great and this was made better by all the lovely reception staff who were so helpful and polite. Ramy the Thomson rep was brilliant and very helpful when we were struck down by the "Pharoahs revenge". Not nice but was bearable and didnt stop us enjoying days out- just had to avoid food for a couple of days. The beach was great but will remember to bring beach shoes next time due to the coral- but snorkelling was great- although we werent brave enough to go further out. Plenty of sunbeds with shade to choose from- and the camel ride along the beach front was enjoyed by my daughter. The buffet food was something that could and was avoided as much as possible as was very much aimed at the Europeans- mostly German and Russian guests,and there wasnt much choice for the British food- was very repetitive but found that beef bacon was rather nice with a fried egg-. We visited Ninos Italian restaurant where Ibrahim, the waiter was great- very polite and would go out of his way to get you anything ( even extra fillet steak as the dessert). We also visited the Asian - which wasnt particularly fantastic- very salty and dark- having to read the menu by candlelight and mobile phone torch as no other lighting in there. The Grill was okay- lacked ambience- so by far the best was Nino's and the main pool bar which served good food. We went to the island of Mehmaya- it was absolutlely stunning. I could have easily stayed on this island for two whole weeks minimum. The snorkelling was fantastic and the food was the best we had eaten in the whole week. The boat trip was great as we managed to spot some dolphins on the way there as the boats all joined up and the skippers all whistling for the dolphins.We also spotted flying fish on the way back- a must see excursion and well worth the money- only downfall was the minibus journey- put your seatbelts on as the Egyptian drivers are maniacs haha. Nightlife was dreadful- as there was a mini disco- aimed at very young children and so my 10 year old wasnt impressed- and once again very much aimed at the miserable looking Germans and Russians. Nightlife entertainment and buffet food to be aimed at the British would make this place be worth going back to as that was the only downfall. The weather was fantastic- hitting 40 most days but very bearable due to the warm winds. Hurghada airport is a free for all and as I had read regarding visas - go to the left as soon as you enter the airport to where the bank clerks desks are- I paid £17 ppp. Also take some toilet roll in your hand luggage as they didnt seem to have any in their toilets- and maybe also a nose clip as the toilets stunk of urine. Once again a great holiday and a huge huge thanks to Ramy, and the polite Ibrahim from Ninos.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1370- ground floor terrace right by the relaxing pool- great situation and far away from the early risers yet walkable distance to all amenities. Was also in the shade so room was nice and cool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamo0477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014
We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was my wife and I first time in Hurghada as we normally go to Sharm.We were not disappointed as this hotel was excellent.The moment you arrived till the time you left the hotel the people at the hotel were always making sure everything was to your liking.The food in the hotel was good and the A La Carte's were very good as weel and being able to use them as many times as you liked was excellent.The reception staff were always very helpful and the waiters in the restaurants were all great as well.The room we had was good although the shower room could do with a refurb and the shower was not that powerful.There was always plenty going on around the pool area due to the animation team.We could not praise the animation team enough as they were excellent.We met Kirsty from the team on our 1st night and she was great and really got on with Hannah our daughter throughout our stay.All the other people on the team were excellent too.The nightly entertainment around the Shisha bar was very good but if I could suggest that maybe the hotel could take away the pillar by the steps to the stage and the wall to the left then everyone in the bar could have a good view no matter where they were sitting.Me and my wife Maggee have decided we will be going back next year and hope that everyone we met this year are still working there.Once again we would like to thank everyone at the hotel for giving us a fantastic holiday.See you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

My team and I would like to thank you for your critical and motivating comments received in TripAdvisor which had a great positive influence for us to work harder and to continuously improve the service we are offering to you.

We are very pleased that you had spent a nice and relaxing holiday in the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
It is our pleasure to forward your kind words to the entire team of our hotel.

Our efforts have resulted in being awarded by TUI Umwelt Champion 2010, 2011, TUI Eco Resort 2009-2010-2011, Hygiene Silver Award, ISO-14001-Awards for 2009 till 2012, HolidayCheck Award 2006-2010, Green Star Hotel Award, Tripadvisor Best Family Resort, TripAdvisor Travelers‘ Choice Award 2014, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 and recently the HolidayCheck Award 2014
We understand this recognition as a commitment to further improve our services in 2014.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in your Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.

With kind regards,

Klaus Reinwand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews