We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back.... to us this was paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Llandissilio, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back.... to us this was paradise!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated as royalty by Mohamed who recognised us straight away from a previous stay,but nothing was too much for any of the staff we come into contact with. Our room was excellent, very spacious for the four of us and outstandingly clean which was maintained thoughout the week by the bedroom staff.we looked forward to seeing what our daily towel arrangements would be ! Thankyou to Amhed. There was plenty to choose from the breakfast and dinner buffet and pool snack bar with lovely food and very good service and for two picky teenagers this was a relief, but our highlight was a superb meal at Sofra the Egyptian a la carte restaurant. A must if you can. A big thankyou to the animatian team who get you involved in their daily activites but that is your choice if you take part they are not ott as others have said., its surprising if you get your husband doing belly dancing how this breaks the ice with other families no matter what the language!!!!! Also the brilliant water park which gave us great fun is a must and this has unlimited use which only the Saraya offer with a regular shuttle service.We had a brilliant time and a relaxing week and of course the weather helps but we cant wait to go back!!A big thankyou to all involved at the Saraya .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon here, at the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    411
    80
    33
    21
See reviews for
1,093
500
53
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daugaard, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a nice stay at Saraya. There is plenty to do around the area for a weeks stay. The junior suite (in building 4) was very nice with an excellent view over the bigger pool area. We travelled in February and the larger part of the pool was unheated, and the Sunflower restaurant was closed. This has pulled my overall review down a little bit. We had all our meals in the Egyptian restaurant, since it was so convenient with the all inclusive concept and the kids could get their food right away. The staff is very helpful and friendly, they deserve some positive feedback. I've travelled before in Egypt and my experience then was that you should tip for _everything_, but here didn't seem to be expected. There were boxes around the hotel area, where you could leave tip to the staff. We did that on the day of our departure. Unfortunately we all got bad stomac after our stay here, but I don't know if it was because of the food or our sensitive stomacs - it happens to us a lot, when we travel! The hotel area is very nice and very clean.

Room Tip: Building 4, 2nd floor was a very nice location, with great view over the main pool area. In February...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annica72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon here, at the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Iberotel Saraya is one of many hotels around makadi bay and in a part of resort with a group of 9 other hotels making up Iberotel resort. This resort has a very good 18 hole golf course and an excellent splash park, with free pick up at hotels for both. U.K. holiday-makers are at minimum levels compared to other countries but don't let this put you off. Good access to beach with some hotels on beach and others (Saraya) a short walk away through grounds of hotels on the beach. Each hotel has its own beach area so that guests are looked after by their respective hotels.
The Saraya was a pleasure to stay at for two weeks with 'good food and plenty to choose from with two buffet and 4 a la carte resturaunts, Free to A.I. First choice guests but payable for other guests from other countries (Kids under 12 eat free.) The animation has 3 age groups and work hard to involve all. (Not o.t.t.) The shows in evening are quite good but dont forget this is eygpt.
The staff throughout the hotel are very efficient and work very hard to please all guests ( A big 'THANK YOU' to all we came into contact with ) Rooms are spacious, clean, and well equiped with most having poolviews and balconies. We made friends with other guests throughout our stay, some had already returned and others would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Block 12 & 13 overlook the quiet, heated pool. Only 3 floors throughout hotel (No lifts) Lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon here, at the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent place to spent time and forget your busy life back home. There is more than enough things to do and personnel is helpful and friendly. Food was good, sometimes it was little bit average.
We did have 3 room apartment for 6 person and it was spacious enough to spend time.Also we did some trips by our own and for some of those hotel reception (A. Shawky) arranged car and it was just something special. Thumps ups from that.
Hotel is more than recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tojuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon here, at the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived early evening and from the moment we walked through the door we were treated like royalty! The hotel is spotlessly clean, all the staff are polite and helpfull. Most of the frontline staff speak very good English and nothing is too much trouble. Indeed they all work very hard and seem to put in long hours but are courteous and smart in appearance. Our room 8208 was on the 1st floor and was huge, it could easily have accommodated a family of 4.We spent most days on the beach which was peacefull and once the hawkers realised you weren't interested in what they were selling you were left alone.The "animation team" however were a little too over enthusiastic! They would badger you on a daily basis trying to get you involved in games and their nightly performances in the theatre. This though was the only downside to a fantastic relaxing week. The food is varied and plentiful. We used each of the 4 a la carte restaurants and they were splendid too. I can't believe people complained about food here. If you want chicken nuggets and chips then go to Blackpool ! We are looking at booking again for November/ December.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrellsmith_45110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel, for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon here, at the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one week at the Saraya and it made all our previous package holidays seem rather lacklustre. The service is fantastic and clearly a point of great pride for the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who truly go the extra mile in ways such as the bar staff remembering your name and the drinks you like (and bringing them before you even ask).

The apartment we were first given was directly opposite the buffet restaurant with a lot of traffic outside the balcony. After asking to change we had to wait one day for a new room to become available but aside from this it was a painless process. The apartment itself was clean and spacious. The kids loved the towel art - a new animal waiting on the bed every day.

The beach is a pleasant stroll away and has a bar and some basic food at lunchtime. Sun lounges have wind shields so even on a windy day you can still enjoy some sun. There are a lot of hawkers but they are mostly polite and go away when you say you are not interested.

The waterpark is fantastic for kids and adults although the food there is pretty dismal.

The only negative during our stay were the entertainment staff in orange jumpers who constantly badger guests by the pool or beach, even more so than the hawkers. No I don't want to play water polo with you - I happen to be fully dressed right now. Yes I know there is a children's disco at 8pm but I doubt my 2- and 3-year old will even be awake then much less boogying the night away. And so on and so forth. One would think they were paid based on how many guests they managed to get up on the pool bridge and dance with them (tally at the end of the week: zero).

This aside, it was a fantastic week and we really hope to come here again!

Room Tip: Any room away from the buffet restaurant should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0nsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a 3 bedroom suite, size approx. 100 sq. meters, by the pool. Beds were comfortable (pillows not quite), rooms well cleaned, water bottles waiting in the kitchen.

Service in this hotel is absolutely fantastic. Everyone from cleaner to waiter did their best to make our holiday unforgettable.

Food is average compared to other all inclusive -hotels. There seems to be something for every taste, even a corner with organic food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinwand, General Manager at Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing the Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort for your vacation.
My team and I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.

Once again, thank you for your visit to our hotel and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.3 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
Jaz Makadi Star & Spa
#8 of 30 in Makadi Bay
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#32 of 222 in Hurghada
6,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Makadi Oasis Resort and Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort

Property: Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Makadi Saraya Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Hotel Makadi Bay
Iberotel Makadi Saraya Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing