We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egyptian paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Egyptian paradise!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a few days last week. Beautifully located near the beach with a wonderful infinity pool. Gorgeous rooms all with awesome views, and terrific large marble bathrooms with a great rain shower. As one of a group of hotels without a close proximity, you can use the facilities of most of those too! All the restaurant choices are extensive, and of the ones I had the pleasure of dining in, the food was delicious. Attentive staff, and really wonderful weather in January, made it an memorable visit to a fabulous holiday destination, Egypt!

Room Tip: Depending on your budget all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ger0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    279
    87
    14
    10
See reviews for
112
886
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Needed to chill out and wind down after a busy year and Christmas and the Makadi spa achieved doing this with little effort it was very clean inside outside bedrooms immaculate and service equalled by non other food excellent especially the Asian take the time to visit all the different restaurant's available you will be surprised how good they are a shame the spa is not finished yes bi would go again but I will take some cd's for the lounge bar next time

Room Tip: ask for rooms 6310 onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MAJJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned,having spent 14 nights at the Makadi Spa ,we had a fantastic time there .The room was spacious and clean,the service from room service to the waiting staff was excellent .Being Spa guests ,entitles you to use the facilities at the sister hotels ,the Makadi Palace and the Grand Makadi.
During our time there we dined in the evening at the Leonardo restaurant ,which was very good ,the Tarboush (Lebanese )which was excellent,the Carribean which was ok ,all of these being in the Grand.
We dined in the Thai garden in the Palace which was excellent.
In the Mall we used the Italian restaurant which in our opinion was poor ,both food and service wise ,the Indian was good and the Chinese was excellent.
In the Spa we used the Asian restaurant which again was excellent,but our favourite was La Taberna Espagnol which was outstanding in both food and service.
We feel this hotel represents the best value for money anywhere.
Our only moan is that there is no milk for the tea/coffee in the room ,but if you ask one of the waiters,they will supply you with a jug of fresh milk !!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank njbrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Having read various reports over the past month we arrived not quite knowing what to expect. Well there can be no doubt in anybody's mind from now on, this is a 5 start resort which is crying out for customers.
The staff are amazing, the rooms beautiful & all we can say is thank you.
Few things to mention;
Please can somebody take some CD's for the lounge bar, only so much Enrique I can take!!
Don't be afraid to ask for a better view from your room, they all are pretty good but with a little persuasion you can get the best view in Egypt.
Take 1 dollar bills with you and tip as and when necessary. There is no pressure but will make everything flow that little bit better
Lunchtime is a must at "The Cove", Dinner is outstanding in "The Asian" and for a small extra cost you must have a "Tapanyaki" served by Mahmoud - truly the best way to finish a holiday.
All in all we had a great time but one last word of caution. Do not try and bring any souvenirs back from the room - Beach Towels etc. They will check before you leave and after watching 2 guests being asked to cough up or pay up I would definitely think first.

Room Tip: Just ask for sea view on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 7 nights in Makadi Spa. It was 27 -30 degrees, the pool service was brilliant with a drinks waiter and sunglasses cleaner at your service. It's immaculate inside and out, with a lovely little chap constantly cleaning the pool side toilets and on hand to pass you hand towels.
Food is delicious, breakfast consisted of a continental breakfast as well as a cooked - something for everyone. Lunch, you have three options depending on what you fancy, casual bar food, a light snack restaurant & a three course. My birthday fell mid-week, Ibraham helped make my birthday celebrations very special, setting the table up with flowers and special cocktails, they sang to me and produced a personalised birthday cake. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Having just spent a week here I am convinced this was the best hotel on offer. Fabulous! I had a junior suite which was superb and have no complaints whatsoever. There was a great choice of food and places to eat within the hotel complex, the pool areas were lovely and the beach was great, although I would advise taking beach shoes as you have to walk on rocky coral to get out to deep enough water to swim in.
Despite the spa not being open we all had massages and fish pedicures which were being offered by professionals in the beach area. The staff are extremely courteous and nothing is too much trouble so I would whole heartedly recommend staying here. The added bonus is it is child free for those of us wanting a peaceful break!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A relaxing a comfortable hotel, no the spa is not open we all know this. I will not go over rooms again as I think with over 350 reviews people now know the are spacious and clean and the towel boy knocks even when the do not disturb is on.
We like it here it is quiet and relaxing. Mahmoud the pool boy knows what we like and when to bring it, I am beginning to think he is a mind reader, anyway he just knows!!!!!!!
we visited the Asian for teppanyaki twice and twice for the standard menu. Botanical Garden in the Palace Hotel twice and the Thai also in the Palace Hotel. The tapas restaurant in the Spa has previously had a patchy but is currently really lovely great little dishes followed by fab main courses, Jaspers is currently closed and the chef that was in charge of Jaspers is now in the Tapas therefore obviously standards have hit the roof.
Room request via Stephanie were fulfilled without problems. Mohammed Salah takes care of almost everything even if its not his remit.
Wagdy at the lobby bar thank you for our morning tea and pastries.
There are a few little issues i.e. Jacuzzi pool is out of action with tiles missing. Curtains at the lobby bar are frayed to the edges. but this is Egypt where recent issues have lead to a halt in any building or updating/upgrading work. This is not the fault of the staff they really do the absolute best with what they have. We will go again perhaps in April and November this year as it gives us just what we want - peace and quiet. See you soon Gerard

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#15 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing