We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel ( when its finished )”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel ( when its finished )”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This adults only hotel is excellent, and may be even better when it is finished and all the construction work disappears. The Spa was still not open during our visit in April. It was so peaceful around the pool during the day, no screaming kids or running and splashing. We did vennture to the sister hotels ( Palace and Grand ) for a reminder of the noise, but soon returned to the tranquility of the Spa.
Our only real problem with the hotel, and with many other guests we spoke to, was the fact they had changed the Lobby bar into an extra charge bar, where you had to pay for all drinks. When you pay extra for All Inclusive, and then extra again for Adults only, you should not then have to pay even more just for a drink. Most nights, the bar was empty, and very few people actually used it, so that should tell the manager something.
The food was excellent, whether in the World buffet, or one of the speciality restaurants, for which you had to book each day. Previous comments about the plates being cold, was not really a problem, unless you piled your plate up so much. We ate in the buffet most evenings during our 2 week stay, and was never short of something to try, from the fresh pasta, Turkish area, Chinese area, Sushi and curries. there was always a joint of meat or chicken/duck to choose, if you didn't want the steak or fish.
The room was excellent, from the very large bed, to the balcony. The glass window between the bath/shower room and the bedroom was a little strange, and could be a little risque, especially as the rooms officially sleep 3??? Rooms were cleaned to a very high standard every day, and the towel boy came around at 7pm to deliver the next days towels.
Overall, we had an excellent two weeks, the sun was hot but the breeze kept the temperatures down. The sea was a mere 20 yards outside the doorway, which has a member of staff on duty at all times to stop guests from other hotels from entering ( especially ones with kids ). The coral was quite difficult to walk on and you definately need water shoes, but the sea was so blue it was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhiloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    279
    87
    14
    10
See reviews for
112
886
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed over the new year and stayed on new years eve. On the transfer from the airport, the guide suggested that we needed to book our return transfer back to the airport by attending the welcome meeting the next day with the red sea rep. This of course wasnt true and this opportunity was only to sell us the trips on offer.
That isn't anything to do with the hotel but does give you a flavour of what you are told not being necessarily what is the truth.

On arrival, we needed to buy some cigarettes and it was quite late at night, we were told we could buy some at the next hotel until 11, we later found out that the shop closed before 10. I'm glad we've given up now!

However, saying this, it doesn't take away the fact that the rooms were lovely with huge comfortable beds and we had a great view of the pool.

Our first breakfast was an eye opener, I loaded my plate with my favourite scrambled egg, which was stone cold. So much so I had to spit it out. When we mentioned this it was taken away for a while and came back, cold! The world restaurant had only just started doing breakfasts at that time, so I hope they have improved.

Other meals were much more successful, in the fish, steak and Asian restaurant, which was our favourite.

Due to the timing, the hotel were offering special meal and drinks packages. we decided that as the only free option would be to move sround all night and not what we wanted to do. We went for the extra 120 euro which also included a few nights drinking in the pool bar. The pool bar really is the best setting in the hotel and not all inclusive. The offer also included a BBQ on the beach, champagne breakfast, dinner at the asian and entertainment on new years eve. We were also told we could order drinks in restaurants that were not all inclusive, so maybe order a bottle of wine with dinner, this was not the case.

The entertainment on new years eve wasnt im afraid very entertaining, for this reason a few people decided to complain. I also complained about the general lack of correct information given. This all sound bad, but it all seems to be par for the course in working out what 'the rules' of an all inclusive holiday are and we took it with good humour.

You will work out what works for you and what doesn't and in the meantime you have a gorgeous setting and lovely weather to relax in. The staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you, so I hope that any teething troubles are ironed out and they settle into their stride.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vasco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is placed in a beautiful place... BUT: the service is horrible! The waiters are very impolite, you must ask your beverage 10 times before receiving. They answer in a rude way. The valet in the beach calls customer with a whistle...
We had even the situation when a waiter, after my girl asked her wine for 5 times in 20 minutes, started to take fun of her with a very rude behaviour and words. Rum service knock in the room asking for money for their "god job".
Beach were not cleaned from rubbish (we saw the same cigaret under our umbrella for 8 days).
One day we asked to speak to General Manager... But nobody came!
All persons employees are very noisy, arguing under the window of room at 1 in the night or in the beach at 2pm.
Pay attention because the hotel is still under constraction... And Makadi Spa HAS NOT Spa!!!!
In general we feel pity because place is nice but in a 5* hotel we felt worse than in a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauroM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

First time in Egypt booked to go as interested in the stay at a 5 star hotel and also a Nile Cruise . There are 3 Hotels in makadi bay in the complex , Makadi Spa adults only the one we stayed , the Makadi palace and the Makadi Grand .our whole holiday was all inclusive and we could use all the facilities at the other hotels , but they could not use ours.The Makadi Spa was the best Hotel by far. The rooms were cleaned every day and to a high standard . The food was varied and excellent . we went to the 3 a la carte restaurant on site , steak house, Spanish and Chinese and japanese . You had to book the day before , part of the all inclusive , but well worth it. We also went on a 7 day Nile Cruise on the Grand Rose . I was my first cruise ever and not disappointed the rooms were spacious and the food was great we had our own rep Asswen who was very informative when we visited the all inclusive trips e.g Valley of the Kings. It was my husband birthday when we went on the boat , the chef made a cake everyone got up and danced and sang happy birthday magical !

The only thing that may let it down for some people is that the entertainment on an evening in the hotel was lacking , but we met so many new friends it wasn't a problem for us .

The hagglers which are normally children can be a shock but it is they way they live and all you need to do is say no and carry on walking. A tip we were given by the rep was to offer 50% of the price they quote you They like sterling I did take Egyptian with me but here the smallest note they give you here is 100 Egyptian and changing it wasn't easy so take euros or sterling especially for tips

There is some construction work going on but never heard any noise and does not effect the overall look of the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View and on the Grand Rose we had. Top deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is still a work in progress but the work which was going on was not obvious to us and in no way interfered with the enjoyment of our holiday. We were upgraded to a huge room which was more suitable to 3 females sharing as the smaller junior suites are really 'couples only' I would say as there is a large window view of the shower from the bedroom!!! Pool areas beautiful, leading down to the sea and fantastic snorkelling off the beach. A la carte dining concept was excellent, we happily stuck to the all inclusive menus but there were more fine dining options available at additional cost. There were a few issues with service which, I think, were teething troubles and being addressed by the management of the hotel. I would hope to return but suspect that when this hotel is complete - with hydrotherapy pools, etc - then I may not be able to afford!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnhey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travel every year to either Sharm or Hurghada with some friends. We prefer adult only hotels so were suprised to be woken on our first morning by children playing! Although the rooms were the nicest and largest we have ever stayed in it overlooked a family hotel called the Sunwing and the balcony was never in the sun no matter what time of day. The receptionist offered to change rooms later in the week but we could not be bothered with the hassle. Many spirits were unavailable at all bars including Gin which was unacceptable! However the wine is very drinkable. Very cheap plastic cups used round the pool, similar to those at your works water fountain, they blew away in the wind so they need to purchase heavier duty plastic cups. The manager held a cocktail party to introduce the staff and listen to our suggestions. As it is a new hotel the 90% capacity they had that week was the busiest they had been and they realised they did not have enough staff in some areas, especially at breakfast and some drinks were not always available. The food is the best we have had and you could eat in any of them at lunch time but had to pre book for the evenings. Some staff were lovely, others a bit miserable especially the man taking restaurant bookings. Where did all the guests go in the evenings? The central Lobby bar is lovely but is not included in the all inclusive alcohol package, but that was where the entertainment was! The Garden Bar was tucked round the back and had no atmosphere, the Shimmers bar was outside and if it had played some lively music would have been a lovely evening area for everyone to mix and meet fellow guests. All in all we really had a great week but those little touches need addressing if we are to go back next year. They need to take some tips from the Premier le Reve or the Savoy, although this was much cheaper.

Room Tip: State that you do not want to overlook the Sunwing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spanner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned home from a lovely experience at the Makadi Spa. This is a first rate hotel that was great value for money, considering that it is still under contruction. We were not affected by any building work. Plenty of different restaurants to choose from and we particularly enjoyed the Asian. Dont bother with the french!!! The rooms were amazing. Clean, Spacious and very comfortable. Very quiet hotel. The pools are amazing, however, although it does state in the paperwork provided not to reserve sunbeds this does happen every morning before 7am!!!! The staff are as efficient as they have been trained to be but there is room for improvement. I was told to go to another bar for Gin or Vodka as they had run out at Shimmers. I would expect a 5* hotel to provide this service for me. Poolside toilets were kept clean however there was an issue with hand towels and loo roll daily. The A/C in the rooms was less that adequate-very noisy and not cool enough in temps of 30deg + The Red Sea Travel Guide was very professional. The hotel Manager would be seen on many evenings wandering the grounds which was encouraging to see. This was our 3rd visit to Egypt but far superior to any other 5* hotel we have visited. I would not hesitate in recommending the Makadi Spa and after a little tweaking here & there it could be perfect.This hotel has been built to UK HSE standards. All the food is prepared to high standards and washed in purified water so no tummy upsets for us!

Room Tip: Room 6136 is ideal for access to the pool & The World restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 27_Ladybird_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#15 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing