We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Makadi Spa Hotel (Adults Only)
Nearby Hotels
$114
$105
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$225
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Makadi Saraya Resort(Makadi Bay)
$177
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iberotel Makadi Beach(Makadi Bay)
$249
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LABRANDA Club Makadi(Makadi Bay)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$27
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$154
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steigenberger Makadi(Makadi Bay)
$112
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveler rating
1,146
357
105
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,146
357
105
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgarden barasian restaurantcafe viennaother hotelsvanilla barworld buffetcove restaurantgerard hanssenahmed khairyfishbuilding workred sea holidaysjunior suiterelaxing holidaymakadi mallhead waiter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
859 - 864 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Makadi Spa is a lovely hotel. Right on the sea front. Luxurious accommodation, all very spacious - especially the massive beds. Overall attentive staff with some real shining stars. Some parts of the hotel aren't finished but those are out of the way and any works don't intrude on the relaxation. Five restaurants were great especially the Asian although the Tapas wasn't recommended by others...so we didn't.

The all inclusive package was perfect and not scrimped upon.

We had a quiet relaxing week with plenty of sun. If you want lots of entertainment then this may not be for you but sister hotels next door do provide this. If you want a break with sun, great food, wonderful accommodation, attentive staff then Makadi Spa is highly recommended by us. We'll be gouging back

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Otherwise all seem to be good. Hotel isn't finished yet with the spa facilities being worked on.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It’s all been said before in other reviews, the hotel has very comfortable rooms, spotless grounds, plenty of sunbathing space, no children, no animation team & no hassle, I have been to several 5* hotels in Egypt, this is the best one so far.
One of the best things about the Makadi Spar is that it is quiet and peaceful, I would estimate only half of the hotel rooms are open and those only half occupied, the staff really can’t do enough for you; they won’t even let you carry a menu back to a sunbeds. Robinson Crusoe would be all alone here as they even sweep the footprints out of the beach!
We were told at Luxor that tourism is 85% down…
Regrettably this quiet state reflects on the hotels operation and one point I would like to make is about The World Buffet, as quite a few reviewers have commented on it. I have been in catering/chef for many years and know a buffet restaurant like this with Sushi, Indian (my favourite), Oriental, Pasta, Egyptian, etc. needs to be busy to operate properly, and needs to be replenished regularly. If you want a large selection of different foods that are freshly prepared, hot, varied and interesting the chefs need to be cooking, not lifting chaffing dish lids and trying to promote/shift their individual dishes, the food is skilfully prepared though, and when this hotel is finished and fully occupied I can imagine The World Buffet open for breakfast lunch and dinner with the chefs doing what they are best at..Show Cooking..
As other recent reviewers said before, the pools are cold (it is February) and along the Nile from Qena to Luxor massive queues are outside all the garages waiting for fuel, so perhaps the truth is they can’t get the fuel to heat them, the sea was warm though.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a peaceful relaxing holiday.
Don`t forget...their will be little gripes & we can all find fault, but it is Egypt

Room Tip: overlooking the pool is good for all day sun on your balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank buggerthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday at the Makadi Spa. Had we followed the advice offered on Trip adviser when booking the holiday in October we would have been deprived of a wonderful holiday experience.
The hotel was a delightful place to experience a February break. we, and the other British holiday makers that we were with, found the hotel to be very welcoming, very clean and the staff were very effcient and extremely helpful. they were delighted to have the opportunity for a chat and were extremely obliging.
The rooms, junior suites, are very comfortable and of a very good size with a TV which keeps you in touch with the outside world through BBC World service.
There were more than adequate beds around the pools and on the beach with very comfortable mattresses and although some towel laying on beds early in the morning (mainly by British) we never failed to obtain the beds we wanted without the ceremony of towel reservation taking place.
The quality of food was excellent, breakfast was taken in the self service restaurant but you need to have a good look round as it took me several days to find the bacon.
The dine around faciltiies afforded to Makadi Spa guests only was a real boon as there were so many waiter service restaurants for dinner to choose from. In the Makadi Spa there were five with the Asian being excellent. Also there was Jaspers which is paying dining experience for that special occasion where my wife had a wonderful birthday meal. Also available to guests are five restaurants in the Mall, three at the Palace where the Thai is superb and three in the Grand Makadi where we enjoyed the Caribbean and Lebanese. All restaurants are no more than ten minutes from your room.
The only problem we encountered was one of the Egyptian Government's making and not the Makadi management. The shortage for diesel fuel meant outdoor pools were not heated.
In conclusion we would strongly recommend the Makadi Spa to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday in a modern well appointed and well run hotel.

Room Tip: An even numbered room gives more sunshine on the balcony
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WandS187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Been back 1 week from our second visit to the Makadi Spa. Last went in Sept 2012 when there were a number of issues. However this time around struggling to think of anything to moan about so i wont bother.
Greatly improved service from all members of staff both around the hotel in general and in all of the restaurants. Nothing was to much trouble, simply ask and it was sorted. Reception staff were very helpful. Cleanliness outstanding everywhere. Food quality much improved, fish restaurant at lunch was excellent. The buffet restaurant is now open for breakfast and the choice was breathtaking with much being cooked to order and freshly squeezed orange at no extra charge! Dined at Jaspers, fine dining restaurant, at the invitation of the management. My oh my was it good. Head Chef is a young lady who will definitely go on to much better things. Again the Thai restaurant in the Makadi Palace was superb, Amra and his staff go the extra mile. Every restaurant seemed to have its own wine lake which the staff were determined to empty. Lobby bar is part of the all inclusive. Issues with the WiFi in reception but reception staff could not have tried harder to assist. Looking to book again at the end of the year.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here for a week with two friends and we had a great time. All the other comments are true and I can't really add much. The food is the only thing to make a comment about. I can eat anything and have all over the world but even I left things as it was always cold a hot plate is a must the selection of food is great but it needs to be hot. Since I was there more places have opened up but the cold plate syndrome still goes on. I'm going back for two weeks on 5th April as it really is a stunning place and the sun will be a joy after this cold winter. The lobby bar is now not all inclusive which is a shame as it was the hub of the hotel at night and is a fabulous place to relax after dinner you can sit outside or inside and overlook the pool. Stunning !!! If you want peace and quiet (no kids screaming ) this is the place to go Overall a fantastic hotel Will update again on my return Jimbo

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews