We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makadi Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Makadi Spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Makadi Spa, our group consisted of 6 adults. We all had a fantastic time. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to give that extra service. The food was very varied and plentiful. The steakhouse was our favourite with well cooked and presented food. The overall cleanliness of the place was superb, and the rooms were of a higher standard than we have experienced in the past at other resorts. Clean towels ( including towels for the sunloungers) every day. The beach was also kept to a very high standard with no sign of litter. The poolside service was excellent as was the service in the Lobby bar.
There is still building work going on but it is very discreet and did not spoil the holiday in any way.
Being able to use the other hotels in the resort is a bonus if you would like a change of scenery, but believe me nothing came up to the standard of the spa.
We are planning to return in October this year as it was the best value for money any of the group had experienced.
The reps for the trips spoke very good english as did the staff, they were friendly had a great sense of humour and were all committed to customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 841clarabelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    273
    86
    15
    9
See reviews for
109
865
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent two weeks 21st dec ~4th jan 2013.Our christmas and newyear was ruined please do not book to go here for the xmas holiday. The hotel and staff were brilliant but the food was cold at nearly ever restaurant, the plates were always cold they ran out of vine ,brandy,we had to ask for soap and toilet rolls in this standerd of hotel this is not exceptable.When we spoke to the red sea rep we got passed on to someone else then someone else no one wanted to know the only time they were interesed was when they wanted more money for xmas garla dinner and new year garla dinner 50euros each for xmas and 120euros each for newyear when we were on all inclusive ,we paid extra to go for xmas and newyear and to have to pay that amount again for cold food was shameful.The management need to get there act together and take notice of the people paying there wages,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ianandangie708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent a week here Jan 25-Feb 1 2013. The purpose was for a weeks rest & relaxation. I read many Trip Advisor reviews before deciding on this Hotel - the reviews were very fair & helpful.
The Makadi Spa is a terrific Hotel. Stylish, very well maintained and (for the most part) very friendly & helpful staff. It is BY FAR, the best of the Hotels within Makadi Bay. BY A LONG SHOT. There's 4-5 good restauarants withing the Makadi Spa. Generally the food was of a very good standard, well prepared & well presented. Plenty of variety for all tastes.
Yes - there are faults that you could find if you looked hard enough (my one complaint was the unreliable wi-fi in the lobby area), but this is a terrific Hotel and the management genuinely seem to want to be of help & to improve their service. So in short, I don't have any real complaints at all for this Hotel. If you want to just relax and unwind, then this is a terrifc place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AndyMSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We're just back from 2 weeks (from Fri 11 Jan) at the Makadi Spa and had a wonderful time. Our flights to and from Hurghada were on time and uneventful (although the return landing at Gatwick was a bit exciting!). The weather was great 25c + on most day.
As all other reviewers have said, the hotel is not finished but the building work was no problem. Our room (6229) was north facing, looking over the Makadi Palace hotel. It was large, clean and in perfect order.
We used the buffet restaurant, and most of the others within the hotel more than once. The buffet was fine, the fish restaurant was lovely especially for lunch, the steak bar was OK, the Asian (Chinese and Japanese) very good until our last night when it was just not quite so good. The View for lunch was vey good. We tried the Spanish Tapas a couple of times and that was fine, especially if you're not quite so hungry. We also tried Jaspers, the only restaurant that is not included in the All Inc package. We were the only diners and given a few 'complimentaries' such as drinks and appetizers which were lovely. The menu is small and very reasonably priced - our 2-course meal cost 9euros each- the bottle of wine, like many UK restaurants was about 20euros. Well worth the extra, look at the menu and treat yourself! All the restuarants are very nicely styled and decorated.
We didn't try any of the restaurants in Makadi Mall which are part of the All Inc package.
All the staff are well trained, friendly, cheerful and have a good sense of humour. They appreciate a tip but do not expect it. Please don't tip them in coins - either £ or E! They cannot exchange coins and have to ask other tourists to change them into notes. You might as well give shirt buttons!
We had no problems with hygiene, tummy troubles or anything (and I have the weakest stomach ever!). Another tip though, be extra careful when handling local currency.
The very best thing about the hotel is it's Adult Only.
We'll certainly seriously consider going again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank over56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is a gem although not complete it still offers great service.. beautiful accommodation and good food. although the buffet is not at its full standard ..we were assured that when it is it will be full of world wide cuisine...looking forward to our next visit.
The hotel is a very tranquil place and your comfort is very important to the hotel management.

Our plane journey home was delayed due to bad weather but rather than taking us to the airport they delayed our departure from the hotel...
Thanks Red Sea Holidays

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and very well equiped, rooms facing the pool have more sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KentJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a one week holiday with Red Sea Holidays at the Makadi Spa Hotel. 4th-11th Jan 2013
Flights with Monarch from Gatwick – No Entertainment on Flight, Reasonable meal provided.

The Hotel – This is a huge hotel complex made up of three hotels. The Makadi Spa being the nicest of the three. We were booked into a junior suite, Room 6210, which had a sea/pool view, was quiet, with a nice outlook. The rooms were large, clean, and airy. The bathroom consisted of a large tiled bath and wet room with a large window looking onto the bedroom. Separate basin area with Jack and Jill basins which had excellent mirrors and reasonable fixed hair dryer, poor toiletries. A glass door into a toilet with bidet.
The bathroom lacked bath robes. Air con. was quite noisey.
There was plenty of hanging and shelf space. From the bedroom area there is open shelving unit looking onto a seating area with large TV and small fridge containing, beer, bottled water, Pepsi, 7 up and fizzy orange. Sliding doors open on to a balcony with chairs, foot rests and a table.
Back to the hotel entrance, off the reception area, there is a buffet style restaurant called the World. This appeared to be fairly newly opened and they were still finding their feet. As the week went on and the hotel became quieter the food stations and selection of food on offer was reduced. A few tweaks and the breakfast could have been improved. Great selection of pastries but all dry. Very watery porridge and mashed potatoes. There seemed to be a shortage of jam and butter. Nice omelettes and lovely fresh bread. The most popular station was the pancake and waffle station but this disappeared half way through the week.
The food and service in the Asian Restaurant, off the reception, was outstanding and the Thai restaurant was very good. Food at the Infinity pool bar and Lagoon area near the jetty were not bad. We tried the food in the Mumbai restaurant but felt our experience was tainted by the rudeness of the manager and small portions.
Two of our party of four were struck down with diarrhoea and sickness that lasted for more than five days and continued even after taking Imodium. We were confined to our rooms for at least two of those days. We are seasoned travellers and are very careful about what we eat and do not over indulge in food or drink. This is our fourth visit to Egypt but our first to this hotel and were really quite poorly as were many of the other guests.
The Staff in the hotel were polite, helpful and hard working, nothing being too much trouble.
The hotel itself is unfinished with building work continuing but this doesn’t have too much impact. The hotel complex on the surface is quite impressive. It is large and kept clean and tidy. It has a huge amount of loungers and umbrellas so no need to get up early and reserve them. The beach area runs the length of the three hotels and has loungers with wicker windbreaks and umbrellas. There is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the jetty which still requires some work on the step area but is great for snorkelling from. Although when the tide is out it is difficult to get out of the water on to the steps. If you swim to the right of the jetty there are some amazing fish and it is a great experience.
We did like the complex but there is a lot of effort going into finishing the spa and not enough on general maintenance. We had a screw missing of the large handle on the glass door in the bathroom. Our daughter had a tile missing of the floor in her bathroom and the pool in another part of the complex was missing a great number of tiles. Just little things but if left will escalate into bigger ones. I think they are cutting back on the standard/hygiene of buffet food as there are so few guests and one wonders how they make it pay. With a few tweaks this good hotel could be great but being unwell definitely took the shine off our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent hotel. We were there first week of December and we had the most relaxing holiday ever.

Hotel is really nice and spotless clean, room was massive. Wherever we would go we were greeted with a big smile, staff are extremely polite and would do anything to please you - and no we didn't tip a lot - did all the tipping at the end of our holiday.

I was so pleased that we had our snorkeling gear with us - we spent hours in the sea watching the beautifully colored fishes it was an amazing experience and would strongly recommend it.
Breakfast in The Cove was the best - special thanks to the Manager there who made our mornings very pleasant and looked after my other half when he was ill.
For lunch I would recommend eating in The View and for dinner we tried a couple different places but we absolutely loved the food and the service in The Steak restaurant so we kept going back - Youseff could give 5 star lessons to all other restaurant staff in the resort - he was excellent! we were sorry we didn't get to say goodbye before we left
There is not much entertainment in this hotel but if you are looking for entertainment neighboring hotels have plenty - we preferred it that way as having very busy lives in London, all we wanted was complete relax and this is what we got. We were gutted that we discovered The beach bar and Sheriff only in our last evening though

There are plenty of activities for you to do during the day, we took the desert trip to Badawaya - a trip full of adrenaline and fun we were looked after by ever so charming, knowledgeable and modest Kay :). We also went on the shopping trip on our last day - loved the egyptian oil shop.

I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for an escape from the real world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ravisanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#12 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#16 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing