We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makadi Spa - Egypt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Makadi Spa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Makadi Spa - Egypt”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent a week here Jan 25-Feb 1 2013. The purpose was for a weeks rest & relaxation. I read many Trip Advisor reviews before deciding on this Hotel - the reviews were very fair & helpful.
The Makadi Spa is a terrific Hotel. Stylish, very well maintained and (for the most part) very friendly & helpful staff. It is BY FAR, the best of the Hotels within Makadi Bay. BY A LONG SHOT. There's 4-5 good restauarants withing the Makadi Spa. Generally the food was of a very good standard, well prepared & well presented. Plenty of variety for all tastes.
Yes - there are faults that you could find if you looked hard enough (my one complaint was the unreliable wi-fi in the lobby area), but this is a terrific Hotel and the management genuinely seem to want to be of help & to improve their service. So in short, I don't have any real complaints at all for this Hotel. If you want to just relax and unwind, then this is a terrifc place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AndyMSW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    290
    89
    14
    10
See reviews for
114
931
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leighton buzzard
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We're just back from 2 weeks (from Fri 11 Jan) at the Makadi Spa and had a wonderful time. Our flights to and from Hurghada were on time and uneventful (although the return landing at Gatwick was a bit exciting!). The weather was great 25c + on most day.
As all other reviewers have said, the hotel is not finished but the building work was no problem. Our room (6229) was north facing, looking over the Makadi Palace hotel. It was large, clean and in perfect order.
We used the buffet restaurant, and most of the others within the hotel more than once. The buffet was fine, the fish restaurant was lovely especially for lunch, the steak bar was OK, the Asian (Chinese and Japanese) very good until our last night when it was just not quite so good. The View for lunch was vey good. We tried the Spanish Tapas a couple of times and that was fine, especially if you're not quite so hungry. We also tried Jaspers, the only restaurant that is not included in the All Inc package. We were the only diners and given a few 'complimentaries' such as drinks and appetizers which were lovely. The menu is small and very reasonably priced - our 2-course meal cost 9euros each- the bottle of wine, like many UK restaurants was about 20euros. Well worth the extra, look at the menu and treat yourself! All the restuarants are very nicely styled and decorated.
We didn't try any of the restaurants in Makadi Mall which are part of the All Inc package.
All the staff are well trained, friendly, cheerful and have a good sense of humour. They appreciate a tip but do not expect it. Please don't tip them in coins - either £ or E! They cannot exchange coins and have to ask other tourists to change them into notes. You might as well give shirt buttons!
We had no problems with hygiene, tummy troubles or anything (and I have the weakest stomach ever!). Another tip though, be extra careful when handling local currency.
The very best thing about the hotel is it's Adult Only.
We'll certainly seriously consider going again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank over56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is a gem although not complete it still offers great service.. beautiful accommodation and good food. although the buffet is not at its full standard ..we were assured that when it is it will be full of world wide cuisine...looking forward to our next visit.
The hotel is a very tranquil place and your comfort is very important to the hotel management.

Our plane journey home was delayed due to bad weather but rather than taking us to the airport they delayed our departure from the hotel...
Thanks Red Sea Holidays

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and very well equiped, rooms facing the pool have more sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KentJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a one week holiday with Red Sea Holidays at the Makadi Spa Hotel. 4th-11th Jan 2013
Flights with Monarch from Gatwick – No Entertainment on Flight, Reasonable meal provided.

The Hotel – This is a huge hotel complex made up of three hotels. The Makadi Spa being the nicest of the three. We were booked into a junior suite, Room 6210, which had a sea/pool view, was quiet, with a nice outlook. The rooms were large, clean, and airy. The bathroom consisted of a large tiled bath and wet room with a large window looking onto the bedroom. Separate basin area with Jack and Jill basins which had excellent mirrors and reasonable fixed hair dryer, poor toiletries. A glass door into a toilet with bidet.
The bathroom lacked bath robes. Air con. was quite noisey.
There was plenty of hanging and shelf space. From the bedroom area there is open shelving unit looking onto a seating area with large TV and small fridge containing, beer, bottled water, Pepsi, 7 up and fizzy orange. Sliding doors open on to a balcony with chairs, foot rests and a table.
Back to the hotel entrance, off the reception area, there is a buffet style restaurant called the World. This appeared to be fairly newly opened and they were still finding their feet. As the week went on and the hotel became quieter the food stations and selection of food on offer was reduced. A few tweaks and the breakfast could have been improved. Great selection of pastries but all dry. Very watery porridge and mashed potatoes. There seemed to be a shortage of jam and butter. Nice omelettes and lovely fresh bread. The most popular station was the pancake and waffle station but this disappeared half way through the week.
The food and service in the Asian Restaurant, off the reception, was outstanding and the Thai restaurant was very good. Food at the Infinity pool bar and Lagoon area near the jetty were not bad. We tried the food in the Mumbai restaurant but felt our experience was tainted by the rudeness of the manager and small portions.
Two of our party of four were struck down with diarrhoea and sickness that lasted for more than five days and continued even after taking Imodium. We were confined to our rooms for at least two of those days. We are seasoned travellers and are very careful about what we eat and do not over indulge in food or drink. This is our fourth visit to Egypt but our first to this hotel and were really quite poorly as were many of the other guests.
The Staff in the hotel were polite, helpful and hard working, nothing being too much trouble.
The hotel itself is unfinished with building work continuing but this doesn’t have too much impact. The hotel complex on the surface is quite impressive. It is large and kept clean and tidy. It has a huge amount of loungers and umbrellas so no need to get up early and reserve them. The beach area runs the length of the three hotels and has loungers with wicker windbreaks and umbrellas. There is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the jetty which still requires some work on the step area but is great for snorkelling from. Although when the tide is out it is difficult to get out of the water on to the steps. If you swim to the right of the jetty there are some amazing fish and it is a great experience.
We did like the complex but there is a lot of effort going into finishing the spa and not enough on general maintenance. We had a screw missing of the large handle on the glass door in the bathroom. Our daughter had a tile missing of the floor in her bathroom and the pool in another part of the complex was missing a great number of tiles. Just little things but if left will escalate into bigger ones. I think they are cutting back on the standard/hygiene of buffet food as there are so few guests and one wonders how they make it pay. With a few tweaks this good hotel could be great but being unwell definitely took the shine off our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent hotel. We were there first week of December and we had the most relaxing holiday ever.

Hotel is really nice and spotless clean, room was massive. Wherever we would go we were greeted with a big smile, staff are extremely polite and would do anything to please you - and no we didn't tip a lot - did all the tipping at the end of our holiday.

I was so pleased that we had our snorkeling gear with us - we spent hours in the sea watching the beautifully colored fishes it was an amazing experience and would strongly recommend it.
Breakfast in The Cove was the best - special thanks to the Manager there who made our mornings very pleasant and looked after my other half when he was ill.
For lunch I would recommend eating in The View and for dinner we tried a couple different places but we absolutely loved the food and the service in The Steak restaurant so we kept going back - Youseff could give 5 star lessons to all other restaurant staff in the resort - he was excellent! we were sorry we didn't get to say goodbye before we left
There is not much entertainment in this hotel but if you are looking for entertainment neighboring hotels have plenty - we preferred it that way as having very busy lives in London, all we wanted was complete relax and this is what we got. We were gutted that we discovered The beach bar and Sheriff only in our last evening though

There are plenty of activities for you to do during the day, we took the desert trip to Badawaya - a trip full of adrenaline and fun we were looked after by ever so charming, knowledgeable and modest Kay :). We also went on the shopping trip on our last day - loved the egyptian oil shop.

I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for an escape from the real world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ravisanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We decided to have our 1st Christmas abroad as our 2 children were abroad. We booked the Makardi spar with trepidation as we knew nothing about the resort. We had 2 junior siutes for my husband and I and for my mum. The rooms were exeptional....beautifully finished.... total luxuary . Bath towels & beech bag.... big tv ( not a lot of choice of English channels)fridge--replenished every day, and a huge bed. The hotel complex was spotless and beautiful,the service around the pools was faultless.... as many coffees and drinks as you could manage! Breakfast buffet was amazing...so much choice. The option of so many places to eat in the evenings made "all inclusive " so much nicer and varied,we ate somewhere differnt every night. all the staff were helpfull and polit. The whole complex was spotlessly clean. Great local cocktails...mmmmmmm! the negatives..well the posh pool bar and the lobby bar was not part of the "all inclusive deal",which meant there was very little atmosphere in the lobby... and the beautifully furnished pool bar was always empty... what a waste. The wi fi was a bit iffy, which was a shame as we wanted to skype our girls. Very little Christmas atmosphere.. same CD playing all the time!! hehehe The Gala Dinner was Lovely... but a bit pricey....and we had to pay for water and coffee. The Asian resteraunt was superb,as was the steak resteraunt.
We spent the whole week by the pool, we didnt sunbath on the beach...it was very clean, but stoney and gritty.... a lovely pier to go snorkling from though. There was a little bit of work going on at the hotel( which we were told about) this did not eefect our pleasure at all.

I would definitely go to this resort again and stay at the Makadi Spa hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent. Hotel spacious rooms and the wet room especially the bath which is more like a mini pool takes a while to fill it up but worth the wait
Arrival at the hotel is a bit long winded
Wristbands etc
We travelled 4th jan for 1week i,d it was chilling in the evening but thats an understatement I found it to be freezing and after 3 days caught a cold which I still have so warm evening clothes a must
Resturants need to be booked in advance for adjorning available Resturants theses are booked thru reception
All the staff are very friendly and like a little joke with you
Rubber diving shoes are a must for getting into the sea as the coral will strip your feet apart
Plenty of water sports available lots of little shops on the sea front and a chemist at the little square outside the hotel
We tried steak,fish,Italian, burger,asian we had the beakfast buffet in the hotel which will cook fresh for you
Some of the dishes were nt hot enough so we just left them and had something else
We think its 1 kitchen supplying the Resturants hence food not quite not enough
Beach towels and bag are supplied and changed daily from your room
Take your own travel kettle etc for your morning cuppa as theres none in your room
There was some building work still going on for the spa but didnt bother us
The bar area in the photo on the website is soft drinks only
And the lobby bar is not inc in your all inc price
Theres only 2 bars in the hotel you can use
1 of which was closed towards the end of our stay as it was too cold
We did enjoy the hotel and will go back again

Room Tip: We were in 6111 which overlooked the sea and the pool the otherside but didnt get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#13 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.2 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Makadi Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Spa Hotel

Property: The Makadi Spa Hotel
Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Spa)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace, relaxation and tranquility. The Makadi Spa*is the Red Sea’s largest custom-built Wellness resort. Recently opened, it focuses firmly on all aspects of wellness, with its accommodation,and dining tailored specifically to the needs of the most discerning of its adult-only clientele. *The Spa is as yet not in operation, awaiting construction completion within the next months to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Makadi Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing