We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in Egypt/red sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel stella makadi garden is a very nice place to relax especially for families with kids/children. From this hotel you can easly access to the neighbour hotel stella makadi beach.
Especially we enjoyed the swim up bars which were great.

Room Tip: The speciality restaurant (e.g. libanese) has not really libanese taste!!! Furthermore the night sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mourad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just got back from a family holiday in Stella Gardens......what an amazing holiday we had!
The hotel is lovely, we stayed in the Stella Gardens Hotel but you can also use the Stella Beach Hotel which is also in the same grounds. The rooms themselves were quite big and spacious, and were very clean. Housekeeping came everyday and did an amazing job, especially with making us something out of the towels everyday...very clever! The food was good, there are 2 buffet restaurants (one in each hotel) and then 4 A La Carte restaurants, all of which served lovely food. The only down side was that the A La Carte restaurants have two sittings, 6:30pm and 8:30pm, and you cannot book in advance so you need to be at the restaurant around half hour earlier to try and get a table which is a bit of a nuisance. We only got turned away from one restaurant as they were unable to fit a table of 5 in for us, but they did therefore let us have a priority booking for the follwing day by way of compensation, which was very good. The Lebanese and Italian restuarants were my favourites as the food there was so lovely, the Indian was nice too but nothing like Indian food that I am used to. We found the Stella Gardens buffet restaurant much nicer than the Beach restaurant, in terms of the food options and design of the restaurant. The service was much quicker too in comparison which makes a huge difference when all guests are coming in to eat at a similar time, you need the staff to turn the tables over quickly so that you can get a clean table. Not all restaurants have the air con switched on, which is absurd as it's so hot in Egypt, so be prepared if you are eating inside that not every restaurant will be cool (noteably the Italian, we were sweating in there!)
We used four out of the nine swimming pools, which were all very clean. The wave pool was good fun, and the other large pools had swim-up bars which was lovely as you could swim up for a drink in the pool or even chips and a pitta sandwich in one of the pools! The slides were good fun too for adults and children alike :-)
All local spirits taste the same....and these are disgusting! You can get branded spirirts at an additional cost if you choose, and they do have some beers in cans that you can buy (namely Stella. None of the drinks are very cold, even the soft drinks from the optic machines are only a little bit cool, which is a pain as we are not supposed to have their ice as it upsets our stomachs!
I was disappointed with the ice cream on offer throughout my holiday - you can only have an ice creakm between 3-5pm, and you are given the tiniest scoop you have ever seen! I found myself going back and somedays and had three ice creams because they were so small!
The evening entertainment was good fun....although no bingo :-( The animation team put on a different show each night which was generally quite good, and if you miss one of the shows you can catch it a few days later across at the other hotel so the variety is quite good.
The beach was nice, very windy down there but they do have wind breakers with the sun loungers which makes a huge difference. You have to walk along the jetty to get into the sea for a swim in order to protect the corals, and the sea is lovely and clear although quite chilly!
We booked a snorkelling trip through our rep at the hotel, and it was absolutely AMAZING - we saw lots of exotic fish including sting rays just swimming around the beautiful coral reefs...just like Finding Nemo (altough we didn't spot Nemo, just Dory!). There are people working on the beach who come up to you (even if you are by the pool) frequently to try and sell you a variety of trips and water activities, but we booked this particular trip through Thomas Cook. At times these sales people can be quite annoying - they are always very friendly but they don't like to take no for an answer! We did book a Quad trip and a Camel ride through these people (you need to haggle with them to get a cheap price, which is quite fun!), and both of these were really good fun. The camel ride along the beach was amazing, such a good experience alhough very uncomfortable!!
Unfortunately we did all pick up a bug on holiday, which apparently is a known problem for tourists in Egypt. You are advised NOT to take immodium, instead you can buy tablets there which contain an antibiotic to help get rid of the bug. The on-site clinic wanted €28 for one course of these, which is outrageous! We went to our Thomas Cook rep and he got some for us for €5...much better! They worked immediately, although made me feel a bit nauseous, But definitely worth taking.
There's a good selection of shops in the resort so you really don'y need to leave the complex the whole holiday, unless for an excursion. You have to haggle for EVERYTHING, but it's all good fun and they love the banter with the English and you can usually get what you want for a very good price :-)
**Please note - it's definitely worth taking Euros as the locals often prefer this to Egyptian Pounds, and if you pay in Euro's somethings are much cheaper. You can convert currency at reception (and there's also a cash machine), but the rate isn't very good so my advice is to take a mixture of Euros and Egyptian Pounds with you**
All the Egyptians were lovely and very friendly, and they do expect tips but we were more than happy to oblige as they realy were very welcoming and made the holiday such an amazing time. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone - families with children or couples - there's something for everyone. Just be prepared for the Russians - they are very rude and don't have a clue what a queue (or smile) is!
Absoloutely incredible holiday, I want to go straight back! This is definitely worth every penny and you will have a fantastic time :-)
See you again soon Stella Makadi :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karisbarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed at this hotel way back in February with my husband all we can say what a super hotel this is lovely rooms, great gardens, very helpful staff, good choice of food and restaurants and a very large swimming pool, this hotel is right on the beach where you can get plenty of hot and cold snacks in between a super choice of restaurant food, the only down side is that it is about a thrty minute drive to the main Hurghada although the hotel does provide a bus service for a small charge, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: try to ask for a pool view near the restaurants otherwise you have quite a walk if you are the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

4th time in Egypt; 1st in Hurghada. Late booking for snorkelling & sun. Got both but out of the 7 days we were there only able to snorkel reef on 1st & last day because of high winds. Good reef though but gets very crowded.
gardens hotel had beautiful gardens & well looked after. Should be aware of different nationalities & their cultures. But could always find somewhere quiet & ordered to eat. eg Lebonese restaurant for breakfast & outside eating area at lunch. Beach restaurant needs some reorganization so that you can get your complete meal after one queue & not have to queue for each item.
food was good if you chose dishes & not just piled plates like some people did. Food in tagines was very good. Duck was also good. Chefs liked to be told when a dish was particularly good. Lebonese restaurant needs to look at their way of seating. Went for 2nd sitting & did not get main course untio 10.00pm! also pushed to one side by late comers! but food, eventually was good.
Agree with earlier comment on drinks. Could not tell the difference between whisky & brandy!!
Ouzo was not as we know it. Rum had no flavour at all. Good beer at Lobby Bar but told did not have a ice making machine.
Relaxation pool was great for peace & quiet. No music!!! Yes!! If we had been staying for longer we would have requested another room away from main pool.. Block 3 seemed nice.
Beach well organised. Comfortable new beds.
Staff friendly but some need to show manners with the male visitors. Husband had to wait many times for extremely long times whilst bar staff appeared to be polishing!
Bed linen spotless and changed daily but seemed after the firstday room was not swept.
Been to worse hotels but also been to better. Served purpose for a week of sun & warmth. would not go for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NlincsLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

General impression.
The resort was OK but not too fancy. The staff was friendly and always in for a chat. Rooms were spacious and reasonable clean. Although the house reef was not great it was nice to do some snorkeling. The water at the beach was very shallow and not suitable for swimming. You had to go for a walk on the jetty if you want to swim in the sea. There were a lot of Russians in the resort but they didn't bother us.

Food and drinks.
The local beer was 'drinkable', mainly because it was cold and the weather was nice ;). We have tried 2 cocktail but it was hard to finish them; too 'synthetic' because of lack of fresh juices. The coffee was good.
The biggest disappointment were the a-la-card restaurants. They have a first come, first serve service and you had to stand at least 45 min. beforehand in a row to get a seat. Not really the most enjoyable :(. They really should have a reservation system. Just like in the buffet restaurant the food was OK but noting special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biker652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a great time at the hotel, with masses of choices of pools in the Beach and adjoining Gardens Hotel. Very clean and spacious. Although the signs said sunbed nabbing was not allowed, it happened every day. Although if the pool area was busy the sea was so near that was the perfect option. Staff are very helpful.

We could not get in to the Italian restaurant to eat because it is very popular, but did get in the Indian a la carte. This was disappointing, none of the dishes were as we would know them. Same meat, just a different coloured sauce, no difference in spice or heat.

The one thing I will say is that if you have little tollerance of the nationalities that do not believe in queuing and waiting their turn then you will become more than a little frustrated. Again with beggars, if you don't like being hassled for money outside of the resort, this is not the place to go. We went on a trip to Luxor, which was a 10 hour round coach trip, even though the Rep told us it wasn't that far. Each time the coach stopped for a break we were surrounded by beggars. When taking photos old men would try and get money from you because they are stood by where you take the photo. It is a whole different way of life over there, it is just how they know it, but kind of hard sometimes and takes away some of the enjoyment of the trips.

Room Tip: We asked for quite room, but when the air conditioning was turned off we could hear the entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

In my opinion it's the hotel with the best combination of location, territorial planning and architectural design of the buildings for guests, colorful great gardens, swimming, snorkeling, diving conditions, variety of dishes and very special atmosphere during daily thematic dinners. This Resort proposes the most comfortable conditions for quiet, relaxing vacation among the wonders and beauties of Red Sea nature… three words: “hotel is spectacular”; the rooms ultra clean and comfortable; the food outstanding; evening shows so special; gardens - a paradise; the beach a very nice long and sandy and there are amazing reef.
One of the most important indicators of the excellence of this hotel is the animation team who is charged by Momo - the great new chief of the animation team. Momo is truly creative leader, from first day he arrived there, he prepares a very sensational, delightful and above all the professional full of dance, humor and amusement evening shows. Thanks to him the all animation team is absolutely awesome, fantastic, always happy and full of really good energy spreading it to everyone and creating a family atmosphere. It’s amazing that every time you can find something new and something better in the presented evening shows, it’s really impressive and worthy of respect! They have a really difficult job to do and put in long hours to provide entertainment throughout the day and evening. Friendly, attentive, and so hard working the animation team work tirelessly and lead with passion and commitment a lot of activities and entertainments and try to keep everybody happy. So you can take part in professional stretching, enjoying water gym, an unforgettable dance lessons – salsa, bachata and belly dance and great water polo and others pool activities. Congratulations! Really great job!!! Whithout them, the hotel has no soul. Keep it up :)))
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, it's ideal place for you and you will be really spoilt there:).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Strawberry1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#18 of 30 in Makadi Bay
631 reviews
12 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#38 of 222 in Hurghada
2,552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing