We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makadi gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
N lincs
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Makadi gardens”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

4th time in Egypt; 1st in Hurghada. Late booking for snorkelling & sun. Got both but out of the 7 days we were there only able to snorkel reef on 1st & last day because of high winds. Good reef though but gets very crowded.
gardens hotel had beautiful gardens & well looked after. Should be aware of different nationalities & their cultures. But could always find somewhere quiet & ordered to eat. eg Lebonese restaurant for breakfast & outside eating area at lunch. Beach restaurant needs some reorganization so that you can get your complete meal after one queue & not have to queue for each item.
food was good if you chose dishes & not just piled plates like some people did. Food in tagines was very good. Duck was also good. Chefs liked to be told when a dish was particularly good. Lebonese restaurant needs to look at their way of seating. Went for 2nd sitting & did not get main course untio 10.00pm! also pushed to one side by late comers! but food, eventually was good.
Agree with earlier comment on drinks. Could not tell the difference between whisky & brandy!!
Ouzo was not as we know it. Rum had no flavour at all. Good beer at Lobby Bar but told did not have a ice making machine.
Relaxation pool was great for peace & quiet. No music!!! Yes!! If we had been staying for longer we would have requested another room away from main pool.. Block 3 seemed nice.
Beach well organised. Comfortable new beds.
Staff friendly but some need to show manners with the male visitors. Husband had to wait many times for extremely long times whilst bar staff appeared to be polishing!
Bed linen spotless and changed daily but seemed after the firstday room was not swept.
Been to worse hotels but also been to better. Served purpose for a week of sun & warmth. would not go for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NlincsLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    971
    361
    128
    127
See reviews for
779
1,323
96
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

General impression.
The resort was OK but not too fancy. The staff was friendly and always in for a chat. Rooms were spacious and reasonable clean. Although the house reef was not great it was nice to do some snorkeling. The water at the beach was very shallow and not suitable for swimming. You had to go for a walk on the jetty if you want to swim in the sea. There were a lot of Russians in the resort but they didn't bother us.

Food and drinks.
The local beer was 'drinkable', mainly because it was cold and the weather was nice ;). We have tried 2 cocktail but it was hard to finish them; too 'synthetic' because of lack of fresh juices. The coffee was good.
The biggest disappointment were the a-la-card restaurants. They have a first come, first serve service and you had to stand at least 45 min. beforehand in a row to get a seat. Not really the most enjoyable :(. They really should have a reservation system. Just like in the buffet restaurant the food was OK but noting special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a great time at the hotel, with masses of choices of pools in the Beach and adjoining Gardens Hotel. Very clean and spacious. Although the signs said sunbed nabbing was not allowed, it happened every day. Although if the pool area was busy the sea was so near that was the perfect option. Staff are very helpful.

We could not get in to the Italian restaurant to eat because it is very popular, but did get in the Indian a la carte. This was disappointing, none of the dishes were as we would know them. Same meat, just a different coloured sauce, no difference in spice or heat.

The one thing I will say is that if you have little tollerance of the nationalities that do not believe in queuing and waiting their turn then you will become more than a little frustrated. Again with beggars, if you don't like being hassled for money outside of the resort, this is not the place to go. We went on a trip to Luxor, which was a 10 hour round coach trip, even though the Rep told us it wasn't that far. Each time the coach stopped for a break we were surrounded by beggars. When taking photos old men would try and get money from you because they are stood by where you take the photo. It is a whole different way of life over there, it is just how they know it, but kind of hard sometimes and takes away some of the enjoyment of the trips.

Room Tip: We asked for quite room, but when the air conditioning was turned off we could hear the entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

In my opinion it's the hotel with the best combination of location, territorial planning and architectural design of the buildings for guests, colorful great gardens, swimming, snorkeling, diving conditions, variety of dishes and very special atmosphere during daily thematic dinners. This Resort proposes the most comfortable conditions for quiet, relaxing vacation among the wonders and beauties of Red Sea nature… three words: “hotel is spectacular”; the rooms ultra clean and comfortable; the food outstanding; evening shows so special; gardens - a paradise; the beach a very nice long and sandy and there are amazing reef.
One of the most important indicators of the excellence of this hotel is the animation team who is charged by Momo - the great new chief of the animation team. Momo is truly creative leader, from first day he arrived there, he prepares a very sensational, delightful and above all the professional full of dance, humor and amusement evening shows. Thanks to him the all animation team is absolutely awesome, fantastic, always happy and full of really good energy spreading it to everyone and creating a family atmosphere. It’s amazing that every time you can find something new and something better in the presented evening shows, it’s really impressive and worthy of respect! They have a really difficult job to do and put in long hours to provide entertainment throughout the day and evening. Friendly, attentive, and so hard working the animation team work tirelessly and lead with passion and commitment a lot of activities and entertainments and try to keep everybody happy. So you can take part in professional stretching, enjoying water gym, an unforgettable dance lessons – salsa, bachata and belly dance and great water polo and others pool activities. Congratulations! Really great job!!! Whithout them, the hotel has no soul. Keep it up :)))
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, it's ideal place for you and you will be really spoilt there:).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Strawberry1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We first visited this hotel in November 2011 and enjoyed it so much we booked again for November 2012 for our 25th wedding anniversary. We weren't disappointed as again we had a wonderful holiday. The complex is set out beautifully and has what we consider to be the best beach as it is much wider than other ones we have been too and is not carved out of the rock like sharm is. There was always sun beds available and if you want to escape being hassled by the beach sellers there is a quiet pool where you can relax without being disturbed. There are several restaurants to choose from for dinner on both Stella beach and Stella gardens resort with theme nights on in each main buffet restaurant every night. Staff are friendly and polite. We wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjclilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm, Russia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first time in Egypt and we were in Stella Garden in march. Hotel is really very good) This hotel is smaller in area than Stella Beach but it's very beautiful hotel. Clean and spacious rooms with balcony or terrace, very frendly and sociable staff, food is so delicious, the food was fresh and always different. You're can visit a lot of interesting excursions: island Utopia, underwater bathyscaphe where you can see all seabed, it's very beatiful, and many others interesting excursions. incredibly beautiful sea, beach is wonderful and clean and awesome dawn :) The weather was really hot but at first two days was a strong wind and we even were sad but then everything was perfect.)) We never got bored there because we had the best always happy animation team in Egypt. Animators are really always happy, frendly, funny and wonderful people. Every day in the morning and afternoon there was a lot of fun contests and games: boccia, darts game, aerobic, aqua aerobics, belly dance, coctail game and many more. In the evening they represented an awesome evening shows and after we all walked to disco in stela beach. Thank you animation team))) Thank you soo much Marianna :)) She is really the best animator for us and very kind, good and mega positive person)
I'm grateful to this place! I had a really great time!) When we were leaving i cried because i didn't want to leave this place. I advise everyone to go there, you wont regret!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetik98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our first time Egypt and it was a last minute decision instead of Asia. After doing some online research and reading many bad reviews and experiences about Russians, we had our doubts if Egypt was the right choice. We went with no expectations to Egypt and chose Stella makadi resort because they had the best reviews on TA. We have to say, This resort was suprisingly wonderfull and we enjoyed every day of our holiday! The resort is very clean and so are the spacious rooms. You can eat buffet or in 1 of the 4 a la carte restaurants, its delicious and clean also. The resorts have lots of pools, good snorkling/diving spots, all day activities organised by the amusement team.

Special thanks for the staff/team of the Indian & Lebanese restaurant, they were wonderfull & fun! Most of the staff of the resort were very friendly and helpfull. If we go back to Egypt, Stella Makadi resort will surely be our favorite!

*Note We didnt left the resort by choice. Luxor is 3 hours driving & Cairo is 6 hours driving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank F_Goudriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#20 of 29 in Makadi Bay
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing