We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We selected this hotel purely due to the other reviews it had received and it didn't disappoint.
We wanted a trouble free break in the sun to escape the January weather and that is exactly what we got!
This hotel is amazing, in so much as it is spotless and the staff are exceptionally helpful and courteous (no one looks for tips!!) our room and the guy looking after it were just great with clean towels daily and nothing too much trouble!
We stayed at the Gardens which is just a short stroll (or free Tuf Tuf!) down to the sister hotel near the Beach.This means that you can have the best of both worlds experiencing any type of pool you have a fancy for that day. as there are quite pools, children's pools,an active pool (heated) and even a wave pool and all with plenty of sunbeds (oh, and don't forget the immaculate beach!) although as it was early in the year some of the pools were a bit cold.
The food was plentiful and I feel that even the fussiest of eaters would be able to find something to satisfy them, this includes Italian, Indian, Chinese and Lebanese restaurants (which was great by the way and a bit different!) that you can choose to eat at a couple of times during your stay, as well as the main buffet in both hotels that had a few theme nights a week!
Don't be daunted by the spa guys who come around to offer deals. these are well worth taking up on and the massage is great and a lot cheaper than home if you can haggle a bit! (all part of the experience!)
I am in danger of sounding like some sort of holiday ad for this place but in all honesty it would be difficult to find anything to grumble over and would go back any time (soon I hope!)
My only tip would be to any of you who like to drink a certain BRAND as the local drinks don't really show any resemblance to ours and if you do like a certain 'tipple' then get it on the plane, keep it in the fridge in your room and enjoy!!
P.S Shame about the Russians but what exactly can be done as they do behave badly everywhere??!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    984
    372
    129
    130
See reviews for
810
1,340
99
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is really nice very clean .THE ROOMS are very well set out lots of space to put clothes ,beds quite comfortable the bathroom was really nice ,shower very powerful and clean with towels changed daily. THE POOLS were all very inviting some very cold but the heated ones nice but busy .THE DINING ROOM not bad on our first couple of days but after that got very busy ,not the best place ive stayed in egypt for food mostly caters for russian and other countries The staff very rarely asked if you wanted a drink from the bar .The cook came round asking if there was anything they could do to improve or anything we wanted, my daughter asked for pizza she was told to go to beach bar at dinner they had it there which was a good 10 minute walk away.Salad just seemed to be a after thought an chunks of cucumber thrown in a dish . OVERALL STAY was ok we had to change rooms on our third day due to over indulgent russians who where being sick over balcony onto our terrace which was horrible and they stayed up all night walking up and down in high heels only god knows what they were doing.The hotel staff were very understanding but like most hotels in egypt they wont approach them as they dont care anyway.THE DRINKS whatever you asked for came with vodka and not very nice vodka even gin and tonic tasted of vodka ,and all cocktails too I PERSONALLY wont stay here again but the hotel is spotless ,the jetty too far away and too many russians that spoil it for others.

Room Tip: we had a family room which was two seperate bedrooms and two bathrooms it was really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colleetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the Gardens hotel; it was excellent - big rooms, lovely bathrooms, quiet at night. Everything was spotless and staff were helpful and courteous. The food was good, great choice with speciality nights. The Chinese restaurant was superb - we went twice in a week, though the Indian was not so good but good enough for a change. The weather was hot - 27 during the day, but there were strong winds on two days which made it feel cooler. Plenty of quiet spots where you could just laze in the sun all day if you wanted, but the animation team worked hard too. The only disappointment were the inclusive cocktails - very watery but everything else was great. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room by the fountain pool on the ground floor, very quiet but central to the resort too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Me and my partner have just got back on the 4 of feb after spending 8 nights in the Stella beech and what an amazing experience we had,we thought we would have a last break before our 1st child (daughter)is born in may on arivel the staff helped you with your bags made you feel very welcome that is a theme through out your stay they are very polite and if you do have a problem they will go out there way to help you fix your problem.
The food is very nice it can be repeated a little but that's the same were evr you go on holiday,and there is a choice of extra restaurants you can choose from in your stay ie Chinese, Indian and Lebanese,and i would recommend the Lebanese to any one who is staying at the Stella it was amazing.one bit of advice is in the restaurant take something with you to your meal my partner use to take her bag are cardigan to leave over the chair whilst you go get your food cos if you don't you will loose your table the waiters are very quick at clearing them.the only down side we had was the entertainment isnt very good its alot of the animation team and not many acts that the hotel has bought in,but don't get me wrong the hotel is a 10/10 it was that good we have just booked our first holiday back there for when our daughter is born for jan 2014

Room Tip: ask for sea view the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david2002_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have recently returned from our first trip to Egypt We stayed at The Stella Gardens Resort and from the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out could not fault the hotel or the staff in any way
The rooms were all very spacious and cleaned daily to a very high standard Towels were changed as often as you wanted to be and it was always a pleasant suprise coming back to see what new decoration had been made from our towels
All communal areas were spotless and it was one of the cleanest resturant areas I have seen Used plates were cleared quickly and tableclothes were always clean
There was a wide variety of food to choose from at all meals plus a seperate area dedicated to a kids buffett You were also able to eat in any of the four a la carte resturants on the site in the evenings We ate in all four over our stay there and found them to be like everything else on the complex.........perfect!!
The pools were fantastic and there was a heated pool where the activities took place throughout the day The animation team worked very hard and the evening entertainment was very acceptable
You are able to use the Stella Gardens sister hotel which is the Stella beach and is situated 7 minutes away and can be reached by the shuttle bus which runs throughout the day This hotel is also spotless and is situated on the beach There is a excellent snack bar on the beach if you dont want to go to one of the resturants for lunch
We were hassled slightly at first by people trying to sell us trips but after a few of my "polite"glares they soon left us alone
The staff work long hours and they are kept constantly on their toes by their supervisors but they all go about their business with the upmost respect to all of the guests
We honestly would recommend the Stella Gardens to anyone who wants a holiday that is excellent value and very relaxing We are definitely going back if not later this year it will be the beginning of next and taking the family with us!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billabongWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were based in the beach resort and our first impressions were good. Reception area, is big, clean, light and airy. We were checked in quickly and shown to our room.

Room - We were room number 1111 which we found seem to confuse the staff whenever you gave your room number even though they clearly know the room exists. The room was lovely and big, which had a superking bed and a sea view. The room was located near the beach was a couple of mins walk to main the reception and restaurant. There was no tea/coffee facilities in the room however we got speaking to other people in the resort who had spoke to reception and were provided with these. You are also provided with pool towels for the duration of your holiday.

Rooms were cleaned every day and you are also provided with 2 bottles of water each day. The room also has a safe which is free to use and is a lovely touch.

Pools - At the beach resort there was 2 kids pools, 1 heated pool, 1 main pool and a relaxation pool. The heated pool was not much warmer than the other pools. You will get hassled to buy trips and by the spa staff around the pools, however if you stay around the relax pool they are not allowed to Hassle you and this is where we spent our time.

Beach - The beach has its own private jetty, the sand at the beach is shingle, do not expect white sands. You can go to the end of the jetty and there is stunning coral too see. I would suggest taking snorkeling equipment with you.

Food - Now we didn't really have any problems with the food. Breakfast is basic but the omletts are really nice. One day at lunch we found our burgers were still pink/raw and cold so we just left these. However all the other food was nice. Evening meal in the main buffet restaurant seemed to be a testing challenge as it was so busy. There are 4 A La Carte restaurants on site and you can go to these as many times as you like, you just need to book in the same morning. We fell in love with the Indian restaurant, the food was amazing and the staff were brilliant.

Drinks - local drinks are included in the AI and we had no problems with any of these drinks. We do wish the beach bar was open at night, as it would be nice to have somewhere to relax at night with a drink other than being with the entertainment.

Staff - They will go out of their way to help you and want to make your stay perfect...they even apologised for the cloud and rain which we experienced whilst we had our stay!!

Entertainment - wasn't that good, however we just took drinks back to our room to get away from it. There are some good english film channels on the TV in the rooms.

The hotel caters for alot of different nationalities, most guests ( other than english) are very rude and do not queue. you tend to get used to this, and found the staff were more friendly towards the british.

We didn't use the spa so cannot comment on the facilities.

We did walk up to the gardens one day which looks really nice and has more choice of pools, however it seems there aren't as many sun loungers here.

Trips - We booked our trips through our Thomas Cook Rep, which were as follows:-

1. Water Park - Jungle Aqua Park.

I wouldn't recommend this trip it cost £30pp however please read my review for further information.

2. Sandbuggies

We paid around £72 for a Double car. Had really good fun however there were a couple of stops at these "bedouin Village" which didnt seem real to me, and this put a downer on the trip for us as we picked the speed devils trip and we thought we had just picked sandbuggies, however was stuff a good trip.

3. Snorkeling Trip - 2 snorkling stops & Tiran Island

We paid £22 each, which included food, the food was really nice. However we didn't really go in and snorkel as it was too cold and windy. The island is a tourist attraction and is very busy and its a shame to say there is alot of litter. However don't be mislead to think there are separate islands Mahmaya island is attached to Tiran Island and is just a short walk up the beach however you cannot get onto it.

Holiday Tip - Dont change your currency if you don't need to, we could of paid for our trips in sterling.

Airport Tip - All duty free is in $ not sure why. Toilet attendants will ask for a tip. Food and drink will incur 10% tax.

I wouldn't come back to this hotel as I like to go to new places, however I would recommend this hotel to couples.

Room Tip: Room 1111 was near to the beach (located on the first floor), had a sea view and a superking bed. Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TingedLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviane R, P.A. to General Manager at Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Stella Makadi beach on trip advisor, we greatly appreciate your detailed description that would assist in publicizing the resort.

Gad to read your positive feedback as well as your decent compliments, While I noticed that you once had an issue with the burger, and I am assuring you that we took your comment in consideration, so that to be immediately recovered.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope that we have met your entire expectations.

Thank you,

Viviane Riad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was a wrench to leave the Beach to pack our cases to return to the UK. If you are looking for relaxation & a very high standard of hygiene look no further. This was our 6th visit to Egypt & I hope it will not be our last. All the staff work very hard & always have a smile for you. You will not go hungry at this hotel but may have to wait a few minutes to be serverd.
Take the time to get to know some of the staff & their life style as this will add to your holiday experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#5 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing