We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but some things let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value but some things let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We've taken several family holidays to The Red Sea, but this is the first time to the Hurghada region. The guests at the Stella are mainly from the former Soviet states and at a rough guess make up 80%. The rest is made up of German, Italian, French, Benelux & British (in decending order). There is therefore a bias towards entertaining the Russians/Germans. The evening entertainment is varied and like amateur night at times. Some shows were however very good, as well as some cringingly bad. Also if you are there for two weeks you will find repetition and the daily music is like groundhog day.
The buffet resturaunts were for most of the time like Waterloo station at 5pm on a Friday evening. You had to take great care carrying plates/bowls of hot food with everyone (and small children) all moving in random directions. The seating was good although could do with having the Air Con on at times. The food was average but plentiful so you can generally find something. Also most nights have a theme by country which helps to vary tastes.
A big negative is the hassle you get from the local beach vendors selling trips and additional activities. Although not operated by the hotel they are somehow related i.e. pay the hotel for the privelage. These guys really are pushy salesmen and don't hesitate to disturb you while you are sleeping by the pool. Top tip is to park yourself by the quiet pool to the right of the Hotel where they are prohibited. However you are fair game if you sit by the main pool. Took us 5 days to find that out. The extra activities such as Quad bike desset safari, boat trips etc are priced a little on the high side and you tend to forget what currency you are dealing with at times and lose track of how much things actually cost. The Spa is expensive considering where you are. I had the full works and it's not that great. Furthermore if you want to use the sauna/steam room/jacuzzi it's 10 euro. Most hotels I know this would be free.
If you want a peaceful nights rest ask for rooms way from the main lobby area. Block 60, 70 & 80 would be okay. To be fair all the outdoor entertainment finishes at 11pm sharp, but there are always people hanging around finishing off drinks until well past this time and can be very loud. Also, be sure to use your Do Not Disturb sign on the door otherwise Room service will give you a knock before 9am and often mill around the corridors after 7am sorting themselves out, chatting and smoking. we did ask to move rooms from block 40 to somewhere quieter but apparantly there were no rooms free.
As for all inclusive, well read the details. There are time limits e.g. no free drinks after 11pm. Water in the minibar is however free so take advantage of that. There are a number of boutique shops on the hotel complex. Be on guard. Things that are priced are rediculously expensive (e.g. largish pack of crisps £3), and things that are not priced, barter hard. Some of the shopkeepers are rude, some are very friendly, but all should be working selling Driveways or Double Glazing. There is nowhere near the resort that you can go shopping to find real local atmosphere to pick up a bargain. It's all aimed at getting thr tourist dollar. No question about that.
There are a number of excursions available and one being the boat trip to some islands about an hour away. It's a Snorkelling trip and the snorkelling is good albeit very crowded in the water. Imagine Japanese tourists in London and you get the idea, but it's in the water. This island is sold as 'Paradise' and the pictures on the brochure look fantastic. Stay on the boat. Sure the there are soft coral sands for the first 10 meters of beach and the water is crystal clear, however there is no shelter from the sun, you stop there for about an hour and it's packed solid, boats fill the horizon and little boats that ferry back and forth wreck what peace there could be with their outboards. Paradise - no.
In summary, the hotels was good value for money, but you need to get wise fast to the local vendors intruding your pool space. Extras are expensive. Caters mainly for Russians and it's all a little tacky in places. All said, the staff at the hotel are typically nice, genuine and friendly, although some, like most places in the world, are doing what they can to get money off you.
Oh, almost forgot, if you are going there for SCUBA Diving, don't. The Piano Dive Centre is a joke and like Fawlty Towers. I planned to do a number of dives, but after 2, I called it a day. I've done about 30 dives in the Red Sea, all of them fantastic and all of them safe. We had a group of 3 divers booked on one trip, found that when we got to the boat it was one of these glass bottom boats, about 20 ft long, no space at all to move around and also had 4 crew, 7 snorkellers and a couple fishing (who was subsequently told by the trourist police to stop fishing. The rod and the trip were sold by the Diving Centre. It's a National Park for goodness sake). Besides the small boat which was literally falling apart, the outboard broke down at sea, could not get it started at the pier (until someone relaised the fuel cut-off was on. This is a Comedy written for you) and there was no Oxygen on the boat, which is regulation for Dive boats. I also heard from another guest that they were running dive trips on a 15 ft rubber inflatable. No joke.

I would say this is a 4 star resort trying hard to make out it's 5 star.

Room Tip: Rooms away from main lobby are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank aceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    971
    362
    128
    127
See reviews for
780
1,323
96
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife and I just came back from a 3 weeks holiday in Egypt, we stayed at Stella Makadi Resorts for the second time. The welcoming we received from the hotel was excellent, the room was very spacious, clean, bright and en-suite to a high standard.The garden was very beautiful with 5 swimming pools including 2 children's pools.

The restaurant had a huge open buffet with a large variety of food to suit vegetarian and non-vegetarian of all nationalities, the staff were polite and very helpful. The restaurant manager was always on the floor ready to help anybody who had any special meal needs.

We enjoyed a daily walk on the golden sandy beach. We also enjoyed the daily evening variety show. All in all we really enjoyed our holiday at this hotel and we highly recommend this hotel to any body.
Hamid Ameer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hzameer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We have just come back from our April 2011 Holiday to this hotel.

The Hotel was fantastic food was good and varid

This is an very good Hotel to relax and unwind

Would recommend if your are with Thomas Cook that you consider the Balloon Trip to see the sunrise although a little expensive at GBP 120 per person well worth it

An excellent excursion

We have already booked again to go back in November this year

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a view of one of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greyfriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandomierz, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Food was very good drinks very strong,rooms clean,beautiful formed swimming pools location perfect, if you like snorkelling this is place for you,the hotel has a magnificent coral reef with lots of colourful fish.I recommend the trip to the island Giftun with a diving or snorkelling.Over all, we had a wonderful time in Stella Makadi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marek1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Good food, good service and good value for money. This was our eighth trip to Egypt, always staying in 5 star hotels and this was the nearest hotel to what you expect 5 star to be.
The only problem in the entire week was too much wind, but you cannot blame the hotel for that.

Chris

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Travelled with my teenage daughter for much needed rest after a difficult time. Huge complex with nicely mixed international clientele. Great for people watching and guess the nationality game. Complex well kept and immaculately clean. Buffet style restaurant caters for all tastes and is extremely varied, especially at breakfast time. Even the wine and beer are very palatable. Most memorable, however, is the friendliness, welcome and hospitality of the staff. Thank you very much everybody.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katmerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath Hayes, Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We spent a week in this resort. We found a clean, well presented place and really friendly staff. Remon, Mina and all the restaurant and kitchen staff are first class and particularly patient with children. The rooms are spacious and well kept, never far from one of the several swimming pools of this beautiful resort mainly visited by Russian, English and Italian tourists. The food is varied and well prepared, but we found the alcoholic cocktails to be quite weak. The beach bar serves burgers and great chips and pizzas every day. The sea is too shallow to swim near the beach and the rocky seabed may be a bit harsh on the feet, but halfway along the jetty there are steps that take to deeper water and, once at the top, you are straight on the coral reef for some good snorkelling. We went quad biking and horse back riding in the desert with Abdul, best instructor ever even with very young children! We also purchased a four-island boat trip at the AquaCenter on the beach, which I recommend to all snorkelling lovers. Evening entertainment could be improved, but there are pool tables, a ping-pong table and a shopping arcade to keep you amused. Be ware, though, the shop staff is nice but can be a bit pushy and prices in Hurghada or at the airport are certainly cheaper. We left feeling relaxed and eager to visit our Egyptian friends again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Papprika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.0 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
LABRANDA Royal Makadi
#20 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay

Property: Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stella Di Mare Makadi Beach Resort & Spa is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. With its warm, healthy climate and the beauties of the coral reefs, this is a place to delight sun seekers and water sports enthusiasts alike. Makadi Bay is a convenient 25km south of Hurghada International Airport. The location makes it easy to access the town of Hurghada, and there are many other notable places of interest nearby, such as the island of Giftun, which is a Marine National Park, where desert and marine life are protected by law. In fact, much of the Red Sea area has a protected status. The Stella Makadi Resort & Spa is situated on a white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. In addition to the natural beauty of its setting, the resort has the advantage of many facilities and services to ensure a holiday that offers a wide choice of activities. There is a Spa and Health club, a shopping mall and a discotheque, to name just a few Stella Makadi Resort & Spa guests are assured of dedicated service, with all their needs taken care of in a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing