We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Quality are Key - Oh and NO KIDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Service and Quality are Key - Oh and NO KIDS”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was apprehensive in booking a holiday to Egypt ever since an ill-fated stay at a Hilton in Sharm El Sheik but this hotel blew away any negative perceptions of Egyption All Inclusive hotels.

The journey over with Thomson Fly was terrible as the leg room on board is horrific for a 4 hour flight out and a 6 hour flight back.

The arrival and getting through Hurghada Airport was not as bad as I had envisaged, just have your £13.00 per person handy and if possible the right change as it just speeds everything up.

The transfer was non-discript and only about 45 minutes and as soon as we arrived at the hotel there was no looking back in terms of quality and service.

The checkin was seamless and efficient and then we did a little tour of where the rooms were and how to get to the 2 restaurants and their opening times. Then it was off to our room and it didn't disappoint.

Spacious, comfy and all the facilities you could ask for. What is great about the all inclusive basis is that in the mimi bar your water and soft drinks are included and restocked daily. If you want extra's or something inparticular then just speak to the cleaner and they will ensure your desire is met. They even bring you chololates and extra water when they do the turn down service.

The bathroom is also spacious and has a seperate large bath and large shower. Water pressure is spot on and using either of their shower nozzles gives you that refreshed feeling.

There is plenty of hanging and drawer space for your clothes. Having a free safety deposit box is always a nice addition.

The food during our stay was fabulous. With a great selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast and dinner was taken in the main restaurant and you could sit outside on the balcony if you wanted a beautiful view out to the sea. And this restaurant wasn't cramped and the food was all fresh and all tastes accounted for at all courses.

Lunch was taken down at the pool bar and was made fresh when ordering from their menu so again the quality was superb.

All the staff we came across in whatever capacity couldn't be faulted. Always wanting to help and ensure our stay was the best it could be. My wife had a slight cold during our stay and some days didn't make it down for breakfast or lunch and not only where they happy for me to get her something to take back to the room but at lunch the waiter actually brought it to our room. Always going above and beyond.

The hotel management were always visable and making sure the helpfulness continued at all levels.

Leaving was simple. If you need to keep your room on after the usual check out time of midday then simply talk to reception the day before you are meant to depart as this is the cheapest way. In advance First Choice wanted to charge us £69.00 and couldn't guarantee it would be our room we kept but reception said that we'd be able to keep ours for €45.00. In the end as we were leaving at 2.30pm they allowed us to keep it for free. Very generous.

The journey home was pretty straight forward. The airport had all the basic facilities you could want and if having something to eat and drink is required then there are plenty of places to choose from, including a Burger King. I would recommend getting something before and for the flight as they don't restock for the return flight so they have very little left and we were unable to get any of their sandwiches and chips. Thankfully we'd bought a couple fo things at the airport.

All I would say is that the hotel makes this holiday one of the best and we will most definitely be going back even with the shocking in flight leg room and lack of food availability. No Kids, Great Food, Fantastic Service and Glorious Weather. FANTASTIC!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room over looking the Golf Course if you want a room that has the sun on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    105
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
631
52
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just got back from the hotel and have to stay we had a brilliant time. The food was excellent with lots of choice, you won't go hungry. The room was lovely, with a great view of the golf course, and spacious with a very comfy bed! The staff could not do enough for you and were very friendly. Our rep Mohammed (First Choice) was great too. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LincsChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have never written a review before but just had to. Just arrived back from a great all inclusive holiday. All the staff without exception were fantastic. As a novice golfer I had lessons with Gamal the golf pro which was great fun - AND i hit the ball too! The lunchtime meals were the best I've had on this type of holiday - all freshly cooked in the kitchen, not scrappy old pizza sitting under lamps. Our room was very spacious, more like a junior suite and a huge bathroom with both bath and shower was great. Nothing negative to say at all - will be looking shortly to book for 2 weeks in May. Oh - and its not marketed to russians so very very quiet. Go and enjoy it, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - you either look out to the bay or the golfcourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackie4cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have just arrived back from spending a fantastic all inclusive week at this hotel. The food choice was excellent.The buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant had a large variety from starters to dessert. The lunch at the swimming pool area served lovely meals all afternoon.
The staff were very good and always had a smile. This was beyond our expectation and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: being a small hotel all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yakoob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hommelvik, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

WE just arrived from Egypt we were the from 3 to 10 dec. We reccomend the hotel to all couples and not only, but not to the noisy people, this is a very quiet hotel. Quiet good food, very good service...a lot of tips:) not obligatory ofcourse.The beach restaurant the cleanest on all the beach but not very nice service,many insolent and rude waiters.You will got use to the courtesy and the nice service on all the restaurants from the hotel.The breakfast and dinner it's bufe and the lunch it'a a la carte, many choises. All the rooms are big ,clean and nice view! Not close to the beach but again better because it's quiet. There is a shuttle bus every hour takes 3 min to the beach.
We would definetly go back again to the same hotel!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacrimioara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the golf hotel in November. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble especially the two Michaels in the Bogey Bar. Meals are good but limited restaurants as small hotel. Perfect for peaceful holiday and whilst not European 5star, definitely 5 star for Egypt

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ajkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having spent the last few years looking for winter sunshine this has to be the finest hotel we have stayed at. Just returned from a week to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday and can only reiterate what other reviews have already stated. Not only is the hotel in a fabuous setting above the bay but is set within the Madinat Golf course.
The staff are what make this hotel so special, from the manager who daily sits and chats with guests to check on their experience to the pool and bell boys who make the guests comfort their top priority.
Our room had great views over the bay and despite expecting a twin room as booked with first choice we were allocated a superior king. the room was spacious, luxurious and spotlessly cleaned every day. the usual towel art greeted us on our return every day to add the overall great feel within the hotel.
The food was top quality especially the lunch which is ordered off menu and prepared fresh.
The choice of food at dinner was just right with a theme most evenings, again the chef was very visible asking guests for their opinion and suggestions which he certainly took on board.
We took advantage of the free hourly shuttle bus service to the beach where as an all inclusive guest you can take advantage of all services the Makadi Beach Hotel. However after a couple of hours we were grateful to return to the peace and tranquility of Makadi Bay View.
Overall this has to be one of the most relaxing enjoyable holidays we have taken and was topped off by two rounds of golf on the excellent 18 hole course where once again the staff were great. Also be sure to take advantage of the Spa facilites which are included in your all inclusive package and very nice.
Well done to the manager and all his staff, we will definately be returning in the near future but may not recommend as we want to keep this Oasis our secret !!!

Room Tip: Golf course view rooms have the sun for most of the day,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KipsterLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
1.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,328 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
13.1 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing