We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Makadi Bayview for a week from 21 November and what a fantastic place ! The staff are superb and nothing is too much for them. The food was excellent both at the poolside and in the main restaurant with a variety of choices every day.The bedroom was large and had good views.

We were all inclusive that gave us an added bonus of free laundry (no washing when we got home). For the golfers there is a very challenging 18 whole course with a 9 hole par three, academy and driving range attached to the hotel.
Overall we had a great time and unusual for us are going to book again next year.

Room Tip: higher up gets the better views and south side faces the golf course, north side towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    95
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
590
50
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for a week at makadi golf and found the hotel and staff a delight. The rooms are large and high standard. All of the staff and management are very attentive. We had a slight problem with the shower in our room on arrival, the management were straight on the case even showing us an alternative room. Repairs to the shower were carried out very quickly and we were happy to keep our room. We had view over the golf course, very nice, peaceful atmosphere.
There are no animation team interruptions to relaxation which was great, also no wristbands which I hate!! If you need a week of rest this is the place, we found the food very good and drinks in the bogey bar excellent. We would return to this hotel, credit to the excellent service of this hotels staff and management.

Room Tip: View over golf course is the most peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Jaz Makadi Golf Hotel for 1 week from 5th Nov 2012 and what a joy it was !!!We have stayed in Sharm before and have been very disappointed with the standard of the hotels but not with this one !!! It is small (only 90 ish rooms) but has spacious rooms and fabulous walk in showers and dressing areas.The restaurant food was varied every evening and plenty of choice and not a Russian in site !!! (we had very bad experiances in Sharm with rude Russians!!)ALL the staff are friendly and want to please.The Manager invited us to a cocktail party and gave a small speech he is very proud (and should be ) of his Hotel .
The weather was beautiful but the days a little short so,we will go back next year but a little earlier so we can enjoy more of the day.I can honestly say we have never stayed in the same hotel twice but will return next year -looking forward to it already !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieM869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We returned from a week at the Jaz Makadi Bayview & Golf Hotel on the 16th November. As I use a wheelchair I had e-mailed the hotel prior to our stay to ask if the hotel was suitable and for a room near the lift and facilities. I was assured that the hotel was disabled friendly and it is. The only shock we got on arrival was the stairs up to reception which we could not get to, but as soon as we were seen we were taken on a golf trolley around the back of the hotel and up the lift. We were given the room closest to the lift and on the 5th floor, which is where the restaurant and bar are located. We had a lovely view of the bay and golf course, our room was spacious, well fitted with a huge bathroom with everything you could possibly need.
The staff could not have been more helpful and the service was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble.
Our only criticism was that there was too many people smoking in the bar and there was a constant smell of stail cigarette smoke, it would have been nice if there had been a non smoking section because no matter where you sat you could not get away from it.
The food was very good although it would have been nice if there was a selection of different potatoes in the evening (ie chips) occasionally. But for a small boutique hotel there was a good selection, which was always fresh and tasty.
All areas of the hotel were kept clean and tidy, the pool area was very nice, although there were a lot of empty sunbeds with towels on them not being used.
There was low key entertainment on alternate evenings, such as singers, piano player etc.
We could not have asked for a more relaxing week its a shame we could not have stayed for longer, and look forward to hopefully returning next year.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merseagirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 16th november for 1 week. Having read previous reviews which were all excellent this far exceeded expectations . On arrival there were about 20 guests we did not have to stand at the reception to check in this was done for us as we were handed a delicious welcome drink and refreshing towels.We then went to our allocated room which was luxurious very spacious with walk in dressing room in bathroom and excellent views over makadi bay. On day 2 we went to the pool and the pool boys laid out the towels and umberellas the sun loungers had thick mattresses. Lunch is served by the pool where you pick from the extensive menu and cooked fresh. Dinner was served at the eagle resturant there was a wide choice of food and delicious fresh soup beautiful sweets and as I was a chef i had several conversations with the chefs who was always on hand. Breakfasts had fresh juices eggs cooked by the chef wide choice of fruit and cheeses. I have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world and this has been the best. The 2 Michaels in the bogy bar mixed some fantastic cocktails and kept us well entertained they were so kind. All the staff at the hotel were excellent and a credit to the hotel manager who was there all the time speaking to you. On our departure they all said goodbye to us and we were given a gift personally by the manager. The 2 michaels came to say goodbye . Thankyou once again Staff for making this holiday and dare I say no russians in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDHAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks from 2nd November, super spacious room and bathroom, kept spotlessly clean by the very friendly Mahmoud. Lots of variety at the buffet Resteraunt in the evenings, always tasty and freshly prepared, had beef, duck, squid, lamb, chicken, fish, tried a lot of the Egyptian food, very tasty, so didn't find it repetitive as always tried something new. Good selection of home made breads and pastries.
All the staff from the General Manager to the pool boys were extremely friendly and helpful.
Had free laundry which was a bonus, came home with a suitcase full of freshly laundered and immaculately folded clothes, gave a big tip, but well worth it.
Big Michael in the bar made great Mojitos and was always efficient and friendly. Had the Rose wine at meal times and found it quite pleasant.
The lunch menu was good also, steak, onion and mushroom baguette, chicken shawma, spaghetti cabennara, fried fish, stonebaked pizzas freshly made and a great selection of salads. There were more options but those were my favourites.
Cake and coffee or freshly squeezed juice was served around 4.30pm by the pool everyday, sometimes brought to the sunbeds by the fantastic service manager. The staff work extremely long days, but were always efficient and friendly. Thanks for a great time, would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A lovely week was spent at this small hotel; the staff make a good effort accommodating everyone’s needs with little touches like hot towels on arrival and a cool drink...no massing at reception to check in-a member of staff comes to you and while they ensure all your details are correct your luggage is swiftly taken to your room. .A healthy mix of British, German, Austrian and Swiss guests during our stay. A massive boon was that it was a couples/adults only which kept standards high, no activities or ‘animation team’ so if that’s what you’re after go elsewhere! Food was generally good, maybe a little bland for my tastes but there was plenty of it, it was fresh and cooked to a high standard with just about enough choice to keep everyone happy, drinks were quite good, real coke and tonic water etc to go with the spirits but the wine truly let things down for me...having said that, I do appreciate that Egypt is a Muslim country, so I will forgive them! Good golfing venue and although nearby beach is small and crowded it’s OK for a couple of hours snorkelling with plenty of marine life to see. On our last day it was especially nice that the manager ‘found’ us having a drink before lunch and presented us with a small gift and then thanked us and wished us a safe journey home.I would recommend this small boutique hotel for a week or so of total relaxation away from the rat race, a chance to unwind and recharge one’s batteries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday feedback with us. It was our pleasure to be your host and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing atmosphere as well as the service in the restaurant and in all other hotel facilities around. Once again thank you very much for your time and we wish to see you again here with us. Sunny greetings from Steigenberger Makadi,
Mohamed El Sayed
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
2.8 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
1.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.9 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
6.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 178, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing