We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wheres are waitress.”

Dominic's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Avenel
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clark, New Jersey
1 review
“wheres are waitress.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

for about a month we have went to Domonic's and have not seen the nice waitress we always have wait on us. she was so sweet always had a smile was very helpful. no to much of the staff is friendly.we hope she is still there her name was Terry I believe.well we hope to see her on our next visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N.J.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2 Thumbs Down!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

#1 Way too bright, too many lights,NO atmosphere! Tacky hand written signs on doors pertaining to " coupons" Outdated decor, dirty silverware.
#2. Soggy overlooked pasta. Fettuccini Alfredo w/ shrimp= FLAT..No flavor. Shrimp were perfectly cooked but no deveined thoughly. Even putting tons of grated cheese on it..still MUSHY & FLAT.
#3. Chicken Franchaise..greasy, greasy, greasy! Limp side vegetables,over cooked and soggy and a fried mozzarella stick stuck on the plate..REALLY???
The service was slow, had to look for the waitress more than once. Thurs. evening, prime time and only 3 or 4 tables of patrons in the place.
Had not been back to this place in years,figured we'd give it a try.
All I can say is save your money and go to D'Italia down the street. I really am puzzled by the good reviews. I would not return nor recommend it. We really wanted it to be good but basically it was fair - poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PakaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
247 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“family Gathering”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Dominic's Restaurant back in Jan 2013 with entire family on my father's side My lovely Aunt Sharon Lost her 2 yr battle with Lung cancer so we were there after funeral the place was very accomendating to us we had over 50 people the food was very good and the staff went the extra mile with our entire group and very supported which was very nice the rest rooms were very clean the decor was beautiful the desserts were fantastic especially Homemade Ricotta cheese cake special thanks goes out to the whole staff for making this day special for us

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and great staff”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dominic's has a varied Italian menu with quite a few specials. There are quite a few fish dishes as well. Their food is excellent and the staff is very attentive to you through the meal. Pricing is moderate and everyone we've had dinner there with has loved it. You know it's a great restaurant when your guests make it their favorite restaurant as well. Looking for a change of pace? Try Dominic's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spammy0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Individual meals are still very good. Large party service needs addressing”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I grew up in Woodbridge Township, and have been going to Dominic's since it first opened, and I'm not even sure when that was, probably in the 80's. It was a little storefront place, seated probably 24- 30 people. The food was ALWAYS great. Over the years, they took over the other stores, and were finally able to convert the back area in a "large party" area. They can now handle a good amount of people, so your wait isn't very long. Friday and Saturday nights it is very busy. The food is still very good as long as you order individual meals, as opposed to the "party" menu. I attended 2 birthday parties, 2 weekends in row, in October. Both offered the "party" menu. Although the food was stil good, to me, it wasn't up to par with their usual taste. Also, the one waitress who had been there forever, quit. A couple of the satff are the owners children. They are good. But a couple of the "new" wait staff need alot of "polishing." Anyway, during these dinners, the appetizers came out messy, the fried calamari was very oily, the stuffed mushrooms weren't very tasty, and the stuffed clams tasted like a clam with alot of bread crumbs on it. The actual meals ( salmon, chicken parm, etc) were still very good. I think you will enjoy a meal here at Dominic's, as long as you don't have to be "rushed" because you have a large party. **By the way, this is located on Avenel Street between Rt. 35 and Rt. 1 in Avenel, Woodbridge Township.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richg635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominic's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dominic's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing