We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avenel
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel was characteristic of Fairfield Inn. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The only problem was that I asked for directions to the Rahway train station, the lady at the front desk could not tell me how to get there and told me to look on the internet. She was not helping anyone else.

If you are in the hospitality field, you should always know not to say NO to your customers. If you do not know the answer, always say I will find someone who knows or help you find out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    71
    43
    14
    24
See reviews for
71
39
28
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I used Marriott points for one night stay, hence my choice for the hotel. It's a 3-star room hotel, for half the price you would typically pay a sketchy room in a seedy part of Manhattan. I researched the location, proximity to the train, and the amenities, so no problem there. Bed is great, Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. Clean room and lobby.

The free shuttle was fully booked by the time we landed Newark Airport, so we decided to head straight to NYC and sight-see. We found a place to drop off our luggage on 9th and 36th near Penn Station for $8\piece. The NJ transit charges $17 from Penn Station, and the NYC metro train is $2.75 each way, fyi. The nearest stop to the hotel is at Rahway which is a mile away, so it is walkable if you do not have much of a luggage, and you're walking during the day. Otherwise, the taxi fare around the town(s) of Woodbridge/Avenel is reasonable (we paid $18 from MetroPark train stop to hotel). The taxi fare out of Newark is not (due to airport surcharges, so it's about $50-$60). I'm glad for the availability of the free shuttle, but it's not anyone's personal car service, and it runs on limited options and time, so keep that in mind. Do not expect a nice view, since it's next to a highway and the junk yard. But there's a gym and a pool. We never got to use it since we were only there for a few hours, but if we did, I would be all over it. The young man who checked us in on Tuesday night was professional, but a little annoyed. Everyone else was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ligaya72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Typical Marriott room. Nice, clean, direct tv. Small coffee pot and fridge. But it's a really bad wall blow dryer, so being your own. Air conditioning and heat work perfectly. The shuttle is a huge pain. They'll bring you to the train station, but the the office building across the street. They'll bring you to the mall but not the restaurant across the street AND while they are picky about where they will bring you locally, they'll be happy to drive you to the airport which is 45 min away. Go figure. Not to mention that if they are bringing someone to the airport, they have no shuttle available for hours cause it's their only one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeItAll13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel was lovely, rooms were beautiful.
Would have preferred Queen beds but the doubles were very comfortable. Spacious rooms and very friendly and accommodating personnel.
Thomas was in particular a wonderful greeter and very helpful with directions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms here are typical plain-Jane Fairfield fare, which is to say clean, roomy, adequate. They no not feature a microwave or mini-fridge. Desk is fine, good office chair and for a hotel the internet was very good (9.5 Mbps download and 6.75 Mbps upload per Speedtest.net). Check in was friendly and efficient. My complaints center around a few things they could easily correct: this is a six-story hotel with 120 plus rooms and they have ONE ice machine (on the 2nd floor) and ONE, that’s right one luggage cart. TV’s have HD Channels and at some point they upgraded to Direct TV as a vendor so the channel guides in the in-room hotel binder do not give you correct info on what the channel numbers are. Speaking of Direct TV the service was problematic; came and went. The location is a long way from any restaurants; most are 2 to 4 miles away although they say they offer a limited shuttle service to many of them. Breakfast was OK, not on a par with many other Fairfield’s. As with any property on US 1 in NJ this is a relatively tough place to get to if you are traveling on the opposite side of the road; you have to look out for the jug handles and where to double back to turn in to the hotel. One last note: this is in a truly funky industrial area; a large auto junk yard is directly to the North side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have no idea why the other reviews of this Fairfield Inn are positive. This was my experience. I used points for the room. Then at the waiting area for the hotel shuttles, I called the place because, unlike everyone else, they have no telephone in the area. You have to call them for their shuttle so you had better have one with you. Then I wait. And wait. And wait. After making 4 phone calls to them, the shuttle finally picks me up an hour and 45 minutes later. The hotel is 20 minutes away. Finally, I get there and get my room, which was ok in itself, except the TV doesn't work. So I call them and they tell me they will send someone up. So I wait. And wait. And wait. Finally, I go back downstairs and run into the shuttle driver who--surprise, surprise--is also the maintenance guy. When he's around that is. He does fix the TV so that crisis is over. This hotel is basically in the middle of nowhere--a busy area, but no restaurant in site. Fortunately, I had bought a Subway sandwich at the airport, so this sufficed. The breakfast was the usual high carb type with some heavily watered down--and tasteless scrambled eggs. Ok, but nothing to write home about. The final blow for this place was when I looked at my credit card statement and saw $60 of charges on it from this place where I had paid with points. So I call them and they tell me that this if for damages YOU MIGHT DO. They said they do this for everyone. Charges for stuff YOU MIGHT DO? I don't think so. After a few well placed threats, they agree to refund this nonsense, after telling me they do this to everyone who stays there. All of this was enough for me. Never again. Oh, and by the way, be prepared for long waits when you call them. They take their time answering their phone.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel. Everyone else showed up several times before these guys ever did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay! Room was large and clean. Good breakfast with good variety of items. Nice pool area, polite staff, common areas were clean. It was very quiet and felt very safe. The only problem was with shuttle to train station, limited availability, but the staff did make it right which was appreciated. Train station 1 mile away, NJ Transit is $8 adult $4 kid each one way. About 35-40 minutes to get to Penn Station, easy enough, station name Rahway. Cost effective alternative to a stay in the city!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viastalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avenel
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites at Woodbridge
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodbridge
1.0 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 4 in Rahway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Woodbridge Edison/Raritan Center
1.9 mi away
Hotel Executive Suites
Hotel Executive Suites
#2 of 2 in Carteret
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge
Address: 1295 US Highway 1, Avenel, NJ 07001-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Avenel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avenel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel have standard rooms, executive rooms and suites. Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Wifi, Airport Shuttle, shuttle to Rahway Train Station (to New York City), and shuttle to certain local restaurants and local businesses. Free parking. Hotel is located 8 miles from Newark International Airport, less than 1 mile from Woodbridge Mall and local shopping, 1/2 mile from Rahway train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Woodbridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites Woodbridge Hotel Avenel
Fairfield Inn Woodbridge
Fairfield Inn Avenel
Fairfield Avenel
Avenel Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing