We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
First dive

7 years ago we did our first dive experience here. And the first is probably the most important... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
ArdvB
,
Purmerend, The Netherlands
via mobile
Great Dive Experience with Attentive Staff and Instructors

We did 11 dives with Dive Pro Academy and are very happy with our experience! The reef at the... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
Dumpling79
,
Munich, Germany
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
19
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diving experience oberoi expert reef mahmoud team equipment sea holiday boat hotel trips
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We did 11 dives with Dive Pro Academy and are very happy with our experience! The reef at the Oberoi has rich coral and diverse marine life. We saw many rays, a sea horse, a green turtle and countless varieties of fish. All of our dives were led by Sharaf (sorry, not sure if the spelling is right), an experienced dive instructor who has an incredible eye for spotting marine life that we would have never otherwise noticed ourselves.
One of us also did a two dive boat tour with them. Its hard to call this a dive boat, it feels like a yacht! It has two decks with a comfortable salon inside and a spacious wood-floored sun-deck upstairs.
Best of all was that the rest of the staff made the experience very relaxing by helping carry equipment, putting on weight belts and gear and ensuring an easy entry and exit from the water.
The equipment was of good quality and felt safe.
We can't wait to dive with you again!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Dumpling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

We’ve dived all around the world and Dive Pro Academy is up there with the best of the best! Khamis, Ahmed, Sayed and the team are first rate. Such a friendly team, incredibly professional and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay.

We are experienced divers (2000+ dives) and the team helped us enjoy some amazing dives during our 2 week holiday. The house reef is full of surprises, with many varied dives and spectacular coral and fish life. The boat dives were also incredible. The boat is very comfortable and it is nice to dive in a small group. Khamis would tailor the day to suit our requests, which was very unique. He is also very ‘protective’ of the house reef, ensuring that it retains its natural beauty and is not damaged. While the house reef can accommodate divers of every level, we loved that he only lets experienced divers venture to certain parts of the reef - we felt very privileged to be among them. It felt very exclusive - we never had dive boats dumping divers on the house reef.

The Divemasters and Instructors (Mahmoud, Mohammed and Sharaf) were all knowledgeable and friendly. Our son did his Advanced Open Water and Nitrox course during our holiday, which he thoroughly enjoyed. Khamis also helped him develop a new love for underwater photography. Sharaf is definitely the Sea Horse expert - he finds them every dive!

Finally, the team will make your diving effortless! We are ‘odd’ & English so like to put our own kit together, but you honestly don’t need to lift a finger if you are less ‘odd’ than us. The team will even put your fins on for you!

Thank you Khamis, Ahmed, Sayed & team for making our holiday so great & also for making my Birthday so special - I have a lovely memory of it. The Arabic version of Happy Birthday is so much better than the English version :-)

We will definitely return!

Date of experience: August 2018
4  Thank Hackettshome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

We stayed at the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh hotel for a few days to finish our PADI-certification open water dives. We didn't even know there was a house-reef :-) The Dive Pro Academy is located literarly next to the pool and Khamees was a perfect host for us. Our dive instructors Mahmoud and Sharaf were top notch in guiding us through the tests and through the beautiful coral reefs. We even had playfull dolphins around us during the second dive. We would definitely recommend these guys when looking for a diving location and instructor!! We will return this year to go on boat-trips to explore more of the island reefs in the Red Sea and we will not hesitate for one second to hire the experts from Dive Pro!!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Sven_1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

We had our first diving lesson ever here. Though they opened later than expected (we reserved few months in advance) the experience was fantastic. The monitors were friendly and took great care of our safety, comfort and enjoyment. The corals and fishes were abundant even if we dive near the hotel deck. Red sea is fantastic in this way. We even saw blue dotted ray. The corals and fishes were colorful in a lot of variety. The even transfer us pictures they took during our diving. A really good experience.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Upgraded my Open Water to and Advanced Open Water certificate, had the best dives of my life!
Also the The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh has one of the best house reefs out there.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank kordy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveProAcademy, Manager at Dive Pro Academy, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

we would love to thank you very much for you lovely review and for diving with us.
very looking forward to welcoming you soon at our dive resort
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews