We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun and beautiful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magawish Village & Resort
Ranked #130 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We left Magawish Swiss Inn Resort just 3 days ago, we spent there our Christmas time and it was very beautiful to live the Christmas time sunbathing and swimming in the Red sea, there were about 28 °C (82 F). The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the food was good and sometimes we ate a tipical egyptian food, like "okra". The animation team was very interactive and funny. A special thanks to Nicoletta because she was a very interactive and nice customers representative .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 727 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I was there with my best friend in 2011,we got the last-minute offer for $900,All inclusive.when we saw the hotel we were a bit afraid to stay there.the bungalow was more like a hut for chicken.but very close to beach,thats why we didnt change it. Honestly,we were only sleeping there,so no more than 8 h.the rest of time was spent on the beach,with egyptians friends,excursions etc.but if not the age,i think,i would regret of going there.but then i was full of great emotions,thats why the hotel which is very far from 5* didnt bring me down.what was good is the food and friendly staff.to sum it up, is a good place to have fun there.if u are a young couple or family - better look for other places in hurghada.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank natalia1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Me and my wife and others friends was in Egypt in a trip called, In the footsteps of the Pharaohs '' after we visited Luxor we arrived at Magawish
This hotel from Hurghada has a lot of space, beautiful Red See with wide variety of species of fishes and corals. Good service, food, team animation, large rooms, o lot of beach sports such as volleyball, football,Skysurfing (is a more special and more new skydiving in which man has a plate attached feet and performs surfing acrobatics while is in free fall)

Room Tip: choose rooms near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was in Egypt few times and I hope I will return to Magawish Swiss Inn.
It’s the oldest hotel in Hurghada, but it has a lot of advantages: there is a lot of space, beautiful coral reef & long, wide beach (compared to other hotels in Hurghada there is no problem to find the free place). There are friendly service and really great animation team consist of people from many countries.
Virtually all day there are sth to do (the animation team takes care of it): water-gym, darts, volleyball, football, gym or boules. Every night is the show in amphitheater and disco near the reception.
For me the only disadvantage is monotonous food.

Room Tip: from the rooms near restaurant there is close to all important places in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xia0he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

... the Magawish can be many things. I went there in 2011 with my father and there were good sides and bad sides, but of course everything is relative and depends on many factors. Before booking at Magawish you must know the following:

- it is about 12 km far from the Hurghada City and you have to take a cab if you want to go to the city. Be sure to ask in advance and negotiate with the driver (if I remember correctly it should cost around 11 Egyptian lira or less, but always check).

- first contact: Magawish is a large area with bungalows and 3 or 4 buildings with 2 floors.When you arrive be prepared for the following: leave luggage outside the reception, fill in the forms and be guided by an employee to your location. You cannot take you luggage with you because they have small cars that take your belongings and deliver them to your bungalow/ building. Only that this happens in their own time. Which can (and is) different than your needs or desires. Also, it may happen (and it did) that the hotel employee engages in a seemingly important conversation with a colleague and forgets about you, and you are suddenly in a labyrinth of crooked alleys with 1 or 2 maps, desperately trying to find your bungalow. After a long flight this situation can be a bit bothering. But all is well that ends well, so when you manage to find your way, open the door and enter, you feel just great. Then you realize the air in the bungalow is hot and you cannot breathe. The air conditioner is in fact a sort of converter that mostly recirculates the air, but is not able to provide freshness. The inside is rather clean, but the plumbing and electric devices are mostly improvised. The furniture is maybe the age of my grandma, but is bearable, if you are not a fan of modernism. If you pick a bungalow, be careful not to close the door and leave the keys inside. We did. Luckily we had left a window open so I climbed on and entered the room. The carpentry is also rather old.

- first morning: sun rises very early, consequently it is recommendable that you wake up and go to the beach (a 3 minutes walk) before 7 o clock and place a scarf or a newspaper on the seats you want to stay - this functions as a ”reserved” mark that everyone respects - and only after that go to have breakfast.

- food: eating was ok, maybe not extremely varied, but enough dishes to choose from, very good bread, plenty of vegetables (raw or boiled), fish and chicken, some veal from time to time, lots of very sweet cookies. The only regrets I had had to do wit the fact that I was expecting some exotic traditional spiced dishes, while everything was rather European in taste, and secondly the fruits were scarce and not very tasty (yellow melon as a habit). All in all I have no bad memories about eating in Magawish

- employees: of course they were all over you at first, trying to sell tickets for beach parties and entertainment programs, but if you refuse politely 2 times they get the point and leave you alone. Friendly they seem, but when it comes to buying anything you have to bargain like hell (eg: a pack of 12 local spices amounted around 7 or 9 euro in the resort, while in the duty free at the airport it was 2 euro). Every day at the beach there are gymnastics, volleyball and other free activities for the hotel guests - the entertainers are nice and polite. The cleaning staff is also reasonable, if you want to sleep at that time, they are not invasive.

- atmosphere: it is quiet and you can relax, the Red Sea is excellent and the Magawish has a fame for water sports - there are plenty of surfers with wind kites and scuba divers, so you do not get bored. The beach has 2 bars where you can eat (I do not recommend the pizza, though) and drink some beers at a very high price (25 lira a can of 0,33 liters). The sun sets each day at 6 pm sharp, which can be rather strange, but you can rest until dinner, or go to the city if you want action (and camels and horns and frantic car circulation). The resort was 99% occupied by Russian tourists. There are 3 or 4 pools, but with the sea under the nose the pools were rather quiet (which can also be ok)

- tips: do not drink tap water. Best thing is to buy once from the local store (small and with a strange timetable, depending, I suppose, on the mood of the owner) a bottle (sparkling water is extremely expensive, more that mineral one) of water, and then just fill it in the hotel restaurant where you have free water in 2 dispensers.

All in all it was a relaxing and enjoyable holiday of 6 nights, with the pros and cons above mentioned.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EclecticalStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A wonderful hotel in a large area. The beach is what makes the hotel even better, really the best beach in the whole Hurghada. The sea is clean and the beach itself. The hotel staff is courteous and friendly. The food is good. A good time is guaranteed. This is a place where you can go for rest, relaxation, but also if you want to have fun. The rooms are nice and clean, apartments and bungalows. The good thing is that the hotel has two swimming pools, and it's easy to get to them, depending on which part of hotel is your room. The look of the hotel is satisfactory, except that in some parts is missing more grass and plants. I was in that same hotel eight times, and every year I get back there because everything is really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zana_Djukic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is 4 stars hotel but you have to understand this hotel. This is hotel where you will come back, again, and again....... This is hotel with the best beach in Hurghada. Hotel with nice staf. Hotel with nice restaurants and nice food. There is the same, when you come on lunch, is it start or finish of lunch. Offer of food is always exelent. Night entertaiment is always different and interesting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edinadjukic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.8 mi away
King Tut Aqua Park Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#112 of 222 in Hurghada
556 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#104 of 222 in Hurghada
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,654 reviews
249.8 mi away
Regina Swiss Inn Beach Resort & Aqua Park
1.2 mi away
Royal Lagoons Aqua Park Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magawish Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magawish Village & Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $34 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magawish Village & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the hotel: Hotel Magawish Village & Resort is ideally located in the tourist area of 1.2 km of natural sandy beache overlooking the Magawish island. Everybody likes to stay at the beach, especially if it takes place on the Red Sea coast, where 365 days a year heat. On our proposed resort for a large variety of outdoor activities and sports - from diving and snorkeling to extreme kite surfing. Location: Located on the beach, 8 km from the airport and 15 kilometers from the center of Hurghada. Number of rooms: 425 Types of rooms: 332 bungalow,24 studios, 56 apartments, 9 family rooms, 2 family villas, 2 royal suites. Room Description: The hotel provides accommodation in the hotel type buildings and bungalow-type, which are distributed throughout the hotel to ensure privacy during your stay. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV, bath or shower, minibar, terrace or balcony . Guest Services: - reception desk and information desk - limousine - laundry - internet cafe - professional animation team - kids club - supermarket - shop - two freshwater swimming pools (one heated in winter) - two children's pools - tennis courts - squash courts. - an international diving center - windsurfing and kite surfing - riding (for beginners - with instructor) For children: - playground; - children's club. Restaurant and bars: Restaurant Manta: buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. beach bar and restaurant The dolphin: pizza, pasta and salad at lunchtime. Restaurant Mermaid: a wide range of seafood dishes, both international and local, deluxe sea view and a fantastic view of the sky. Stylish pub Bogart's pub & Disco: excellent place to have fun for a pleasant drink. A bar Panorama, bar Divers, a poolside bar Shamousa, a poolside bar, and Lotus Oriental Cafe. Beach: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Magawish Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magawish Swiss Hotel Hurghada
Magawish Swiss Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing