We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and very clean hotel, with little bit for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magawish Village & Resort
Ranked #133 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Hotel in general is in poor state , desperately in need of renovation.
However it's cleaned daily , every part of it. You can see dozens of workers each day running around, cleaning, watering plants and doing their best to make this old hotel look pleasant and enjoyable.
Service is all-inclusive, but not 24h, you have timetable in which restaurants you are entitled to get soft drinks and meals/snacks.
Type of guests are mostly Russians, (like in all Hurghada), but at my time there were a lot of Italians and Egyptians. Lot of older people, age range would be around 40-60 with kids 10-20.
Since it's a resort, distance to the beach varies from location where your room is. But not more then 5min on foot.
Shopping facilities are scarce but affordable prices since it's in hotel area.
There are 2 centers in Hotel.
Colona Divers for diving and sea trips and
Colona Watersports for kite surfing
Staff is friendly and you are welcomed everywhere with a Hello and a warm smile
They all know basics of english, russian and italian.
Rooms are cleaned daily, but sheets and towels only on every 2nd day.
There is a laundry service and clinic in hotel but i had not need for it.
Complaints are taken seriously and usually resolved under an hour.
One major restaurant, Manta, where you get
Breakfast 7.30-10.30
Late breakfast 11-12
Lunch 13-15
Dinner 19-22 and
Late Dinner 23-01h

Quality of food is kinda poor, but you won't be left hungry. Soft drinks are ok , but local alcohol drinks must be avoided at all cost because of their strong scent of methanol.Beer is ok.
Restaurant is very clean, it's obviously cleaned after and before every meal.
Type of food is local traditional type.
Overall atmosphere during meals is ok, staff is very friendly and forthcoming to help
Animation Team is great, but i must complain on lack of girls in team, only two of them and rest are boys. Daily activities include Beach Aerobic, Stretching, Aquabic and nice music played from speakers
Animation team is also in charge of evening entertainment, at 22h, they call it showtime and it's different every night.
There is a disco in resort but poorly visited, because most of the guests were older people.
Beach is the best in Hurghada! Could use more sunbeds and sunscreens too. Only two showers on the beach, but you don't wait long.
Pools are great too, clean and not too much crowded.
Two pools, one by Manta restaurant, and one by Lotus area, both with own bars.
No free Wifi , just one managed by hotel which is rather expensive
I had a Lotus family room , which is rather big for 2 people.
Big bathroom with fan,
bedroom with two bed and own AC,
living room with own AC, TV, sofa, small table and big table with 3 chairs
small kitchen with microwave, set of dishes, water heater, small fridge,
large balcony with two chairs and table
Lotus area is rather new and in great condition.
Bungalows are older but there are few new ones.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dragance021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 722 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

Me and my friends came there in the night, about 2 a.m. Nobody led us to the our bungalow. It should be noted, the hotel has a huge territory without any normal light in the night time and guide signs as well. We'd booked a three-man room, so when we finally founded our room, we were really suprised - the 3-d bed was broken, no bedclothes, blanket (it was winter) and towels for third person.. The furniture is bad, but it's not a big problem.. We had't change the bungalow because of some misunderstanding of staff.. So we stayed in this one, the bed was changed. At hights there were really very cold and windy. Strong wind was round the clock. It's not a claim for this hotel :) It's just normal phenomenon for this region and period of year. But the problem was at hights in bungalows - very cold and noisy due to draught, breachs in windows and door.
The food in not so bad, but not so good. One big plus for this place is the perfect beach, big and clean. As for me, there are no other positive moments in this hotel at all))

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nastatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed 'all inclusive' at this hotel (bungalows) but not everything was included!! Food was quite good, drink choice very limited and served in small white plastic cups. Milk for tea/coffee and breakfast cereal watered down. 'All inclusive' food only served in certain restaurants.

Our room was shabby with very old furniture and not particularly clean. We went with friends and their room was the same as ours. The main restaurant wasn't clean either and some of the tiles on the walls were disgustingly dirty. Luckily we didn't get food poisoning.

Entertainment was crap too and the only place to sit in the evening was the hotel foyer which, with the russians, polish etc smoking, made your clothes stink.
Sports centre which had several tennis courts only had 4 tennis racquets!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajandannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Budget inclusive, certainly penny pinching! drinks are served in small white plastic cups (Child size) Ice cream available 1 hour a day, a desert spoon in another small plastic container. Food is edible. The staff are ok but attitudes change after check out, so if you have a late flight dont expect a pleasurable wait on the complex.

The beach is about the only thing in its favour as there is nothing else within walking distance, entertainment is not in english, the rooms need attention, we were glad when it was time to escape.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malcbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed for two weeks. The resort consists of bungalows and two bigger bildings with several flats. We had one bedroom flat in other of these lotus-buildings. The flat was ok except the kitchenette: poorly equipped and no working lights. During these two weeks we had two minor water leaks in our flat: one under sink in the kitchenette and another in WC (ceiling). Also in many places outside there are needs to remodel.
Perhaps the worst thing is the mini market. There was no proper food: mostly soft drinks, chips and candys with high price. Most of the guests had all inclusive package deal. The Mermaid restaurant on the beach is very good.
There was many other good things like service, pools, fantastic beach and warm (over 30 Celsiua), bright days.
The most lousy experience during our trip was the Hurghada airfied. It does not work like airfieds must do. The main reason is that its capasity is far from that is needed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Very big resort in the middle of nowhere. Food was good and all inclusive treatment. Beach is also lovely, but there's no enough parasols and beds on beach. Also not enough beach towels since it's not one towel per person for one day. Not very nice people on reception. We had ants in room and we had to buy Raid to eliminate them. TV, air-condition, refrigerator and phone were good.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank IvyPoisonNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

i went to Magawish with my friends. There is the best beach in Hurhada. Food is excellent for 4*. Rooms need renovation, but generally are ok. They cleaned our room every day. Animation team generally is not so good, except BIKO and ALINA! They are the best!!!!!! Very friendly and funny! Special thanks to Massage saloon Kleopatra located on the beach. There are excellent massage masters! I had massage with Antonio, he is very professonal, frendly person. My friends had massages with Jasmin, Zidan, Samir and Ahmed. All of them are professionals! Generally this is very good hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIU_M29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.8 mi away
King Tut Aqua Park Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#108 of 222 in Hurghada
552 reviews
249.8 mi away
Regina Swiss Inn Beach Resort & Aqua Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#70 of 222 in Hurghada
1,530 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#104 of 222 in Hurghada
181 reviews
0 mi away
Elaria Hotel & SPA Hurghada
Elaria Hotel & SPA Hurghada
#166 of 222 in Hurghada
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magawish Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magawish Village & Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#107 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $29 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magawish Village & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the hotel: Hotel Magawish Village & Resort is ideally located in the tourist area of 1.2 km of natural sandy beache overlooking the Magawish island. Everybody likes to stay at the beach, especially if it takes place on the Red Sea coast, where 365 days a year heat. On our proposed resort for a large variety of outdoor activities and sports - from diving and snorkeling to extreme kite surfing. Location: Located on the beach, 8 km from the airport and 15 kilometers from the center of Hurghada. Number of rooms: 425 Types of rooms: 332 bungalow,24 studios, 56 apartments, 9 family rooms, 2 family villas, 2 royal suites. Room Description: The hotel provides accommodation in the hotel type buildings and bungalow-type, which are distributed throughout the hotel to ensure privacy during your stay. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV, bath or shower, minibar, terrace or balcony . Guest Services: - reception desk and information desk - limousine - laundry - internet cafe - professional animation team - kids club - supermarket - shop - two freshwater swimming pools (one heated in winter) - two children's pools - tennis courts - squash courts. - an international diving center - windsurfing and kite surfing - riding (for beginners - with instructor) For children: - playground; - children's club. Restaurant and bars: Restaurant Manta: buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. beach bar and restaurant The dolphin: pizza, pasta and salad at lunchtime. Restaurant Mermaid: a wide range of seafood dishes, both international and local, deluxe sea view and a fantastic view of the sky. Stylish pub Bogart's pub & Disco: excellent place to have fun for a pleasant drink. A bar Panorama, bar Divers, a poolside bar Shamousa, a poolside bar, and Lotus Oriental Cafe. Beach: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Magawish Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magawish Swiss Hotel Hurghada
Magawish Swiss Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing