We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mamlouk palace HRG”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Ranked #64 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed September 2, 2013

feedback date 02 Sep 2013
the property is really huge, well furnished ,
pool is really cool along wz the pool bar
food quality and quantity 8/10 thats my rating :-)
however I faced some challenges at the Hotel, as the service was slow at that time when I asked to change ma room, it took around 3 hrs to do so, same for the housekeeping, they r kinda slow, and they do not respond quickly
beach is clean
tv channels r limited
main and big issue we r sufferin from since we checked in till this moment, the hotel eoes not qualify the guests, i can say that they r running almost 50% but the type of the guest is really bad, it seems that Hotel offered them low rates, u can not sit inside the main restuarant, its too crowded, ques to get food God I could not imagine this, they put too many things on the plates and barely finish that and i can tell they might b saying oh y not its all inc.
their attitude, ohhhh, their dress code is yekkkkk
i can simply say that if they were not here i would have enjoyed my time 100%
but i enjoyed it 45%
wish if the Management would see that

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesso33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience, we are sad to see that you didnt enjoy your holiday for 100 %.

We forwarded all your comments to the department heads for improvement

Unfortunately you didn't contact anybody of the management to solve your issues on the spot.

We hope that we can welcome you again and show you our improvements

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,705 - 2,711 of 4,456 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed Inthelittle Mamlouk palace 5th Aug for two weeks, we were expecting a decent resort as we often stay in Sentido resorts and they always deliver. The hotel and resort were first class, absolutely spotless just as we expected. The problems were more to do with the people, a few of the staff did not understand the concept of a queue system and quite often they would serve who they wanted and not who was first in the queue.The British population in the hotel was about 1% of the people in the hotel and you cold understand why, in the health and spa, if you asked how much something was, it became a conversation with two Egyptians, the price depended on where you were from,if you are British then it was more expensive, this was also the case at the beach for the water sports. The food was awful and many people were suffering from upset stomachs, we had to visit Macdonalds, the supermarket and the Hard Rock Cafe a few times to give the crisps and biscuits a break. I don't think that I have experienced worse food ever.That said,the a la carte restaurants were ok.All of those things wrong with the holiday can be fixed and I am sure Sentido will address the issues.We will probably give Egypt a miss after two consecutive expensive bad experiences. A balanced view, hotel excellent, training of staff needs addressing and a change of menus should get the Brits in but for now the Russians and French can fight over who was first in the queue.

Room Tip: The family suites with the pool view are superb. Get up early if you want a sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Paul P,

We want to thank you for sharing your holiday experience. We are very sad to see that we didn't meet your expectations.

We have forwarded all your comments to the department heads and the necessary actions are taken to improve the hotel.

Our food is as per SENTIDO Standard a 14-days rotated theme evening. 2 a la carte restaurants free of charge. As guest of SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort you are also allowed to use all the facilities and outlets including 2 a la carte restaurants from our sister resort SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa free of charge.

We would like to inform you that you didn't contact anybody of the management to solve your problems on the spot.

We hope that we can welcome you again and show you our improvements.

With best regards,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff excellent and very friendly - nothing too much trouble and they all work so very hard to try and make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. Rooms, large and spotless. Animation team great and very enthusiastic.- special mention to Mando, Kastella, Ozo, Marko and Ebra. Food varied and with the sister hotel's restaurant (Sunrise Gardens) and 4 x a la cartes to choose from - there really is something for everyone so don't be put off. (the Italian, Asian, Mexican and Oriental are fabulous). This is the first holiday we've been on where all the senior management come along to the introduction meeting to say hello, introduce themselves and give you their names and contact details in case you need them for anything - that kind of says it all for me! Looking to go back in 2014 with the rest of the family in tow. A great holiday - thank you Ahmed and co!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TippyDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience, we are very happy that you had a great holiday with us.

We will be happy to welcome you again in our resort SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On arrival at approx 10pm we were very quickly checked in at reception but then just told our room number (15130) and handed the key and left to our own devices to find the room. Upon leaving reception and venturing into the hotel grounds it became apparent how huge it was and we had no udea where our room was! After looking for a while we went back to reception and asked for help, We were told down the terrace stairs to the left infact it was the first block on the right so this wasn't a great start. Management need to make arrangements for guests to be shown to their room.

However once in our family room we were impressed with the size and layout. Bedroom 1 had 3 single beds, drawers, fridge, tv and small table and there was still space to walk. The middle section had 3 built in double wardrobes with shelved and a bathroom with large shower sink and toilet. The main bedroom had a large double bed, bedside cabinets either side, dressing table, tv, table and 2 chairs and ample floor space. This then led out to a small patio with a bistro table and 2 chairs. The room was fully air conditioned and was cleaned daily. Our only complaint with the room was we only had 1 towel between 5 people even though we asked for more which were arranged by housekeeping the maid kept taking them away and only leaving 1 each time they cleaned. In the end we hid 4 towels and just left 1 on display! The decor in the room is tired but not dirty.

As we were there when all other countries had stopped travel to Egypt the hotel was very quiet with just English guests and egyptions on holiday so we had no issues with sunloungers etc they were still empty at 3pm in an afternoon. The family pool was lovely and had a great swim up bar with excellent service by Ahmed, however it was closed on 4 seperate occasions during our 10 day stay due to children going to the toilet in it and I mean not for a wee! Management need to enforce the wearing of swim nappies in the pool by all nationalities to stop this happening. We were lucky as due to the hotel being quiet we were able to move to the sister hotels pool but if the hotel was busy and full this would not have been possible.

There were 4 A la Carte restaurants (Italian, Mexican, Asian and Oriental) that you were able to book into on an evening for food if you did not wish to dine in the buffet restaurant. These 4 restaurants were excellent and the food superb, my advice book in them as on the other end of the spectrum the buffet was awful, no variety and weird and wonderful concoctions on offer.

We were advised by our rep at the hotel not to go out after sundown approx 7pm as it wasn't safe, no expansion was given as to why it wasn't safe. We followed this advice and this made evening very samey and boring. In the hotel there was no sign of trouble unless you turned the news on but there were lots of military planes flying over all day every day and a big military presence at the airport and on the roads. We went on one trip with our tour operator where we went into hurghada for shopping and to the hardrock cafe, on the trip we did see lots of politic graffiti and again military presence in the form of tanks and even snipers which was intimidating and unnerving but we did not see any trouble.

We visited the spa twice and enjoyed this but it was very very expensive. Staff in the spa and a la carte restaurants were pleasant but other staff in the hotel were not that friendly which is the first time I have ever experienced this unfriendly nature in Egypt, This let the hotel down and needs addressing,

Overall this was just an average holiday. We have been to Egypt 5 times in Sharm and tried Hurghada this time for a change. Sadly we would not go back.

I believe this hotel has the potential to be good it just needs the buffet restaurant addressing and updating of the rooms.

Room Tip: 15130 where we stayed was a great location for the main restaurant, bars and pool. We could not faul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtw1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your detailed feedback about our resort. We are sad to see that you didnt enjoy your holiday for 100 %.

Your comments were forwarded to the department heads for improvements.

We hired a new Executive Chef to improve our Main Restaurant for our British guests.

We hope that we can welcome you again and show you our improvements in the hotel

With best regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived late after a delay, we were greeted with a welcome drink & checked in very quickly. It took us a while to find our room as the grounds are so big & our room was so far away from the reception but that's the price you pay for the wonderful sea view. Our room was large & clean & was cleaned daily.
I read the hotel information in the room to get our bearings but to be honest they should just throw it away as none of the other guest followed any of the rules, don't place towels on sun beds before 7am, forget it, it's every man for himself. No swimwear, flip flops, sleeveless shirts or sport shorts to be worn for dinner, forget it & wear what you want, because I saw soaking wet Egyptian children in swimwear picking up chips with their fingers & nobody said a word. Don't take food out of the restaurant, I lost count of the number of guests I saw with plates piled high with food just walk past waiters out of the restaurant unchallenged. No smoking in the restaurant, on a number of occasions I was stood behind guests smoking while waiting in line to us coffee machine.
Main buffet restaurant was utter mayhem, the feeding frenzy started the second the doors open. My advise get there early for breakfast but leave it later for lunch & dinner & go next door to the Garden beach their dining room was much more relaxed. The food wasn't great but there was lots of it, there was liver being fried up in some shape or form most day, if you love offal you will love the food. Please join the nightly wait to book the al a carte restaurants as these serve some great dishes, but get to the lobby to book at around 11.30pm, you will have to wait 30 mins until the booking system opens but if your not near the front of the line you may not get the restaurant you wanted. Every member of my family had bad stomachs at some point during our stay & my 12 year old is still suffering days after our return home.
The swimming pools were really large & the water & poolside kept spotless, but on one of the few days we did find a sun bed another guest used the pool as a toilet so most days we went to the beach.
Would we go again, I'm not sure, the hotel was lovely but the food & the way some of the other guests acted will make me think twice

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jacqui901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to see that you had a good vacation, We want to thank you for your feedback.

We have taken your comments about the food very serious and the management improved the food.

We hope that we have the honor to welcome you again and show you our improvements.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent stay at this hotel this summer, I was here for two weeks with my partner and we had a fab time. The room we were staying in was sea view, the views were brilliant however a very long walk to the main buffet restaurant so I would not recommend this if you want to be close to this. The facilities in the room were also excellent, very clean and up to date.

Pool area was also nice and there were m ore than enough sunbeds available whilst we were staying here, we never got up before 9am once and had great spots by the pool! The animation team were great around the pool area everyday. They all work very hard considering the heat. Aimee, gemma, Mando, ozo, marco and others were fantastic and were always willing to come and talk to you and would help you with any problems. We really liked the fact that animation wanted to get to know you and not just trying to get you to play games all of the time.

Food at this hotel was not too bad (nobody should have high expectations for all inclusive anyway). As there were lots of international visitors the food on offer was not always British, again it is something you should expect. However, the food in the sunrise garden beach next door was Mich nicer and more varied so we did go over there from time to time. In addition to this there are 4 a la carte restaurants to eat in ; Mexican, Asian, oriental and italian, all deleicious. If you are told that you have to use the screen to book the restaurants then do not listen, visit the concierge during the day time (ahmed-a very nice man) will book you in no problems! If you are Thomas cook customer then you receive 24 hours all inclusive and Ahmed informed us that as British customers he gives you priority to book into each of the al a carte restaurants at least once, although there is an unlimited amount of times you can eat them during your stay.
Whilst here, my partner and I did experience a little stomach upset however we visited the doctor the first day in started and were given tablets for £5 ( not bad ) and were feeling much better within a day.

The night time entertainment was good, very entertaining but did get repetitive some times. Saw a few things twice. The animation team also held a beach party which was fantastic! There are also disco tours that the animation team sell tickets for which me and my partner went along to one n obit, this was an excellent night and gave us a great Egypt clubbing experience, the animation come with you, stay with you and make sure you get home safe again.

As you are all aware there are lots of troubles in Egypt at the moment but rest assured we did not witness any of this in hurghada. If it wasn't for the news channels we wouldn't have had a clue anything was going on! There are lots of English people in this hotel also which was a novelty for us as previous hotels we have stayed in we have felt isolated and on our own, it is not like that here.

As I have already said, our stay here was outstanding and we did not want to come home. We would like to say a special thanks to Aimee and gemma for making our holiday one to remember and we wish we were still there with you! Thanks to everyone at the hotel, would definitely go back! As the Egyptians say, "welcome home".

Room Tip: Don't be too fussed on sea view, it is not direct and a very long walk from the hotel, in a pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethmark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Mark and Mrs. Beth,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience, we are very happy that you had a great holiday with us.

We will be happy to welcome you again in our resort

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Having read previous reviews was slightly worried prior to arrival because of what we'd read and ongoing troubles in Egypt, however this was a brilliant 2 week family holiday and we had a fantastic time to keep all five of us entertained throughout (3 x kids - 14/12/9 years)..the Animation and hotel staff were brilliant throughout the whole 2 weeks we were here.

Arrival: An interesting experience as the heat hits you when you step off the plane, when you arrive at immigration head left for the Bureau de Change to purchase your visa as you are met by numerous Egyption males in Thomas Cook t-shirts keen to usher you into their kiosks to charge you £13 per person, you will get it cheaper if you go for the First option, speaking to people afterwards I think it was around £10 per head. Thomas Cook - pls note, is this really a good impression if these people are working for your firm which I doubt??? Bit of a culture shock at the airport as the people there will charge you for everything, if you use the toilet you will find the cleaner outside trying to charge you a pound for the service, just smile and walk past them it is not a problem. Same when you are picked up for travel to the hotel, loading your cases into the coach (bearing in mind you've carried it some way by then) they are looking for money, just smile and hand over change if you wish.....trying not to be too critical as this is the culture and as long as you smile, be firm and sensible it is not a problem whatever you do. 20 mins travel to Hotel and like a different world......

Hotel: What a brilliant hotel, staff were great, helpful and couldn't do enough. We stayed in the family rooms (15231) right near the reception/bar terrace which was great, rooms were spacious and facilities really good. The hotel is really big and adjoins the Sunrise Hotel which is all gated, private beaches, loads of pools and full of international guests which was a welcome break from the normal holidays we go on (Med) and the majority of Brits. There were all sorts here and despite what I have read in previous reviews the vast majority were friendly and there for a great time. Yes there were a couple of incidents when one of the pools was closed thanks to certain guests (outside of the EU!!!!), can't justify why/how this happened, however pool staff did their best to get things back to normal. If you like the Gym, great facilities here and had everything you could wish for.

Entertainment: Animation staff were great, all worked really hard and a mixture of nationalities, well done to Mandolin, Ozo, Marco, Gemma and many others within the team, really friendly and always talking and trying to involve people, my 3 kids quickly met up with several other of various ages and had a great time whether in the pool, playing snooker/pool, water polo, dancing etc etc.....my youngest went to the kids club a few times, this was fine and everybody seemed to have a great time. Night time entertainment was good, yes I am sure Simon Cowell would have something to say, but all the animation team involved gave it their best and entertained us all.......followed by the customary finale by the manager, "it was good or very good????"... All great fun, foam party was brilliant and various audience participation shows pretty funny.....

Food: it is quite different from previous holidays we've been on, however bear in mind this is an international hotel and not specifically geared just for the Brits, I thought the food was ok and whilst pretty chaotic in the restaurants at times there was always something to eat, we preferred eating in the Sunrise Restaurant as appeared better organised, more space and more choice, however I am sure there was not much in it compared to the Mamlouk restaurants. The various al a carte restaurants were good, we only tried the Mexican and Italian, albeit I hear the Asian was also really good. Bit of a nightmare trying to book these as you have to do it 1205am via an automated system and then can't be guaranteed you will get your booking. If this proves a pain go and see the front service manager in the daytime as they can do it direct for you and much easier.....funny tummy's, we all had this at sometime, just take enough medication and expect it may happen, wasn't such a big issue and different culture/food I guess....drinks, all good, beer, wine and soft drinks all good....

Location: You are out of Hurghada which wasn't a problem, impressive Senzo Mall outside about 300 metres from hotel and worth a visit for various shops etc and yes they have a McDonalds to keep the kids happy! Can be quite intimidating when you step out the hotel as you will find countless taxi's beeping their horn, men coming up to you to sell stuff, as long as you either ignore them or be firm and polite it is not a problem.....

Trips: because of the troubles several trips were suspended, my advice is stay with the hotel trips as there are plenty and don't be fooled into just doing the Thomas Cook trips as they are vastly over priced and despite various promises offer no more protection than the hotel. Did the glass bottomed boat trip with the firm at the hotel and went snorkelling, kids loved it and well worth the money......

Egypt troubles: despite us being there when it went very bad we didn't see/feel any difference as the hotel is like a bubble and business as usual, when you step outside the hotel a different story as felt tense......one of the days we were advised to stay in the hotel as there had been trouble in Hurghada and a man killed, however we never saw any issues and such a shame as a great country...

Overall: This was a brilliant holiday and we loved every part of it, if you go with an open mind and looking to enjoy your holiday you will love it, the hotel staff were brilliant and made me realise how much we value good customer experience as they couldn't do enough for you......hope you found this useful........

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Callumjayamie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamloukpalace, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your vacation experience, we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We will be happy to welcome you again in our resort

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
8.3 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
2.9 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,655 reviews
3.2 mi away
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
19.7 mi away
SENTIDO Palm Royale
SENTIDO Palm Royale
#14 of 222 in Hurghada
2,839 reviews
7.6 mi away
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
#63 of 222 in Hurghada
4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort

Address: Safaga Road | 20 Km Safaga Road - Red Sea, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $80 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Egyptian hospitality at the 5 star (local category) SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort with the oriental flair and a special family friendly atmosphere and hotel facilities. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Mamlouk Palace Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Mamlouk Palace Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing