We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money - READ THIS REVIEW.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Ranked #19 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money - READ THIS REVIEW.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed as a couple for two weeks, departed on 28th June 2013. Hotel was brilliant, though I'd like to share a few tips with you that I wish I'd of known before we booked it!

Arrival in airport
On arrival into Hurghada airport as soon as you get off the plane and are escorted by coach to the building, you will be ushered by what look like 'Thomas Cook' staff asking for £13 each for a visa. In the corner of the room there is a Bureau de change (it says bank on the top) where you can pay £10 each. They both provide exactly the same service although the 'Thomas Cook' staff don't actually work for Thomas Cook - they just wear t-shirts to make you believe so, and will charge you the £3 supplement (although you never would have known...).

Arrival in hotel
After a short airport transfer (under 20 minutes) we arrived at the hotel and were swiftly checked in in under 10 minutes and given our room key. The receptionist upgraded us to a honeymoon suite free of charge which should have been £10 a night extra. This was a nice touch.

WRISTBANDS <------ IMPORTANT!!!
When arriving at the hotel you will be given a wristband to wear to prove you are staying at the hotel. The colour of the wristband dictates the level of 'All inclusive' you are entitled to. When booking with Thomas Cook UK you receive a green band, meaning that you have access to EVERYTHING for 24hrs all inclusive. I repeat: this is ONLY Thomas Cook UK customers. If you do not book with Thomas Cook, you will be given a red band, and your all inclusive stops at 12:00am (at night). There were several Russians kicking off about this as they wanted to continue drinking past 12 but were being forced to pay. I have not seen one review on this site yet that explains this at all, so if you were wondering what the different levels of all inclusive were, there you go ^.

HOTELS AND SISTER HOTELS <--- ALSO IMPORTANT!
The Mamlouk palace is situated directly between two sister hotels - Crystal bay, and Sunrise Garden Beach. All three are owned by the same company (Sentido). Guests at the Mamlouk and Sunrise can use ALL of the other hotel's facilities, though none of Crystal Bay's. Crystal Bay guests can however use all of the three facilities (as this is the more grander and expensive of the three). This is a massive positive to the hotel, as you effectively have two hotels in which you can use. Both are set out similarly though have different bars. It is less than a two minute walk between each one, along a path clearly set out towards the middle of the hotel walkways. Crystal Bay also has an a la carte fish restaurant that you can pay for, though is not expensive and is worth a visit.

The room
The hotel blocks are only three floors high and span the whole length of the complex. We were block 32 which was right near the beach, though be warned, it takes around 10-15 minutes to walk from reception to the last block as the complex is so long! You do get used to it though. The room was very spacious and clean, although the promised 'fridge restock' never actually occurred during any time on our holiday.

Outside the hotel
There is a large mall about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, offering brands such as Adidas, Tommy Hilfiger etc., and a supermarket as well as a McDonalds. There are also several smaller shops opposite selling bags, purses etc where you can haggle (they all seemed very friendly).

The staff
We could not believe how friendly the staff were - they cannot do enough for you. Due to the hotel having a 'no-tip' policy (meaning they cannot ask for tips) you never feel pressured into having to hand over money for any service. There are tip boxes around if you so wish to drop in something, though it is not necessary if you don't want to! The only occasion where we had a problem was with the maid (a fella called Sareef?) as he came running after me on my last day complaining that the tip I left him of £4 was insufficient and he expected at least £10. This was a slight shock as he was the only one who demanded a tip, though as I say the rest are brilliant.

The pools
There is a small kids pool, a huge main pool and another pool further on near some water slides. We were very impressed with the pool and also the pool bar situated in the middle of the main pool, where there is space to swim up to the seats and chill out with any drink you require (Michael the barman there is superb).

The food
In short: buffet - awful. A la cartes - wonderful.
The only thing that lets this place down was the buffet. At breakfast it is good, serving all the usual eggs, cereals, pastries, omelettes, etc., though lunch and dinner are dreadful. On the few occasions we ate there we literally came back with a plate of rice, and we are not fussy eaters. I do believe the restaurant is catered more towards Russian and Arabian guests.
The a la cartes however are brilliant. It is like eating out at a posh restaurant in the UK every night being waited on, though the best thing is you do not have to pay anything extra! You can book into each one as many times as you like, though do try to book at just after midnight. For example, if you stay up on Sunday evening past 12 o'clock at night into the early hours of Monday morning, say 00:05 - you can then book the restaurant for the Tuesday night. You could also try and do it on the Monday morning when you get up, though be warned they become fully booked fast.

The drinks
There is a large selection of locally brewed alcohol. I personally found the Egyptian wine and beer to be very nice, though the Egyptian spirits all tasted a little funny. There is also a list of around 20 alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails available that are all included in the all inclusive, which were a welcome addition. The soft drinks are fairly standard (fizzy drinks like pepsi, apple/orange juices etc). You can also ask for bottled water at any bar and you will be given a half litre bottle with the cap firmly screwed on and the plastic packaging left on top to show that the bottle has not been opened before. There is also imported alcohol, though these are not included in the all inclusive (it is around £2 for a can of heineken, and £11 for a bottle of wine if you fancy a change).

The rep
Our rep, Nabil, was fantastic. He could advise us on anything we required and visits the hotel twice a day for over an hour each time.

Trips/excursions
We intended to visit Luxor but unfortunately the trips were cancelled due to the trouble in all major Egyptian cities to do with the overthrowing of the government. Instead we booked onto the jeep safari where were driven out into the desert and met a local Egyptian family. You are also able to ride a camel as part of the trip, and are shown around the village. You then head back and have an Egyptian BBQ and look at the moon/stars through powerful telescopes. We thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

Entertainment
The animation team was also brilliant. There are several activities available throughout the day, one of the most enjoyable being darts at 11:15am and 16:00pm. The hotel has recently employed two English reps to try and get more English people involved. Many people are reluctant to get involved on holiday and would rather sit in their sunbeds, though if they actually got involved a bit more they would enjoy themselves, as there are various things to do. There is also a show at night at 9:30pm each night, examples of which being firebreathers, bellydancers, etc. They is worth a watch.

Fellow guests
The hotel is primarily occupied by Russians, followed by Egyptians, Germans, and finally English. The Russians can be rude regarding queues etc but they keep themselves to themselves and don't really affect you at all. The Egyptians are the same, though on several occasions we saw them picking up food in the buffet with their hands and putting it back down again (another reason to eat in the a la cartes rather than the buffets!!!)

CONCLUSION
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and will be booking to go back to Egypt next year. The only thing that lets the place down is the buffet, though this doesn't matter as you can eat in the a la cartes as much as you'd like (though remember to book in).

P.s: a long winded review but thought it necessary to go into detail as the vast majority of reviews on here do not explain the wristbands etc.!

Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the end of the strip get a beach view, though prepare to walk a little longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Conor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,122
    623
    195
    59
    46
See reviews for
1,185
1,148
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

my wife and I just had a 2 weeks holiday at the mamlouk palace 8-7-13 to 22-7-13 form stepping off the plane to getting to the hotel was no trouble to any one we was in 31201 room garden view no far from beech all the staff there are a CREDIT to the hotel the boat trip we took was booked at the end of the peir and was a great day out all the staff on the boat where amazing so was the food you have to try the a al carte restaurants.try to keep away from the shops outsde the hotel as this was a nightmare the shop keepers would not let you just look you are expected to buy something the food in buffet restaurant was also very nice the rooms where very spacious clean and tidy we will be returning

Room Tip: any room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howardandbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

On arrival we were promptly checked in and given a cool drink and taken to our room with baggs following within minutes. We were upgraded to a sea view room for free which we had not asked for and could not have been a better room for us (32108) right on the beach almost. We spent most of our holiday on the beach sunbathing and swimming we were there 7 days with our 13 year old son. We had no trouble getting a sunbed every day although the place is huge did not feel overcrowded in any way although there were lots of people. Long walk through resort to restaurant through lovely gardens and pool area was lovely for us although probably with walking toddler not so good lol. Food was good with plenty of variety should point out we are not particularly fussy eaters although our son is and there was always something for him ie chips, bread and chicken. The strong breeze helped with the heat as we are not usually sun seekers. The staff were very helpful. We did one trip to Maymah an island around 45 mins away by boat it was beautiful. We did not get involved in any of the entertainment as that's not generally our thing but the entertainment staff seemed to be good fun. There are a lot of Russians there and they are very rude to staff and others. We did not try any of the al carte restaurants as we could not be bothered to go and book from 12 am we got on fine at the all inclusive restaurant. Basically we just wanted a relaxing stress free holiday which is what we got at this very beautiful hotel. Thankyou to all the staff and our little room cleaner Karem.

Room Tip: 30000 are away from pool area and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We travelled to this hotel as a family of four. After an hours delay we arrived at the hotel very late in the evening, check in was really quick but all there was to eat was a few stale bread rolls. When we got to our room we were very upset that there was no cot, our 19 month old son was very tired and we had to wait for about an hour to get a cot before we could put him to bed.

The following morning we were greeted with glorious sunshine. We went for breakfast which wasn't too bad to start with but at the end of ten nights you get fed up with eggs and tomatoes every morning. The food was the biggest let down for the hotel, at lunch there was nothing for myself and my 13 year old to eat so we ended up living off pizza for lunch every day which we got at the beach bar. Food wasn't very good in the evening either, my husband lived on rice and pasta. Meat was either chicken or beef which was either undercooked or overcooked. No imagination at all. The food runs out very quick and there not fast enough to replace it, same for plates and cutlery. We tried the sister hotel and the food and the set up was a lot better. I had a really bad stomach when i got home and its taken three weeks get rid of it.

The italian restaurant was really nice with a sax player in the back ground, the food was lovely and this was first evening i didn't go to bed hungry. The oriental was nice but thats the best i can give it.

The pools were lovely but got closed twice whilst we were there due to dirty people. Watch out for the whislte blower, he was constantly telling my teenager to take his t-shirt off in the hottest part of the day, whilst other people had clothes on too. We just ignored him after trying to reason with him and getting nowhere. We never really struggled to get sun loungers.

The area around the hotel was very slippy, i fell once while walking to the beach and we saw a few others go down too.

If you have a baby in a pushchair this is not the hotel for you as there are no lifts at all, we had to carry the pushchair up and down the stairs with our son in it and still people did not move out of the way.

We tipped a few times for great service and then got even better service, i dont think the guys expect it but i know they appreciate it, after all, would you not leave a tip when you go out for a meal in England. They work very long hours for i'm guessing not a lot of money.

We paid for a family room and e-mailed the hotel asking if we could have a pool view which is what we got. The rooms are very large and beds i found to be the best i've slept in on holiday. The only thing that lets the rooms down is the bathroom, we had numerous problems with our shower, the bathrooms are very grubby and in desperate need of a refurb.

The shop on the beach is a lot cheaper than the one round the pool. If you use the shop in the hotel stay away from John, very sleezy and inappropriate.

We had some lovely family photo's taken, if you do this use the guy that calls himself John Travolta and make your deal with him, the boss tried to rip us off. Dont sit on the grass because its covered in ants and they were huge. The ant bites were worse then the mossy bites.

Thanks to our cleaner Moutamid, did a great job and even left some towel art one day. Thanks to Laura for getting us our baby milk.

Would we go to Hurghada again, without a doubt, its a beautiful place but we would choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Groung pool views are lovely but very noisy with kids running past screeming till after twelve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michelle09Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Similar views to many recent posts. Rooms big and clean, if a little dated. We had a family room in block 15, which is very near the main restaurant. Could step out from ground floor balcony to the pool or bar. Not much noise, either. Would like a bigger TV with satellite channels. Only English language was CNN and BBC World. Food in buffet is average - you can always find something to eat. Queue barging much exaggerated. Recommend going to buffet about 45 minutes after opening when it is less busy. Oriental, Italian, and Asian restaurants all decent. Managed to book these early in the morning - but not necessary at midnight, as some have suggested. Free wifi on the terrace and just inside the lobby. Room safe big enough for a small laptop and a few iPads. Laundry service reasonable - average 1GBP per item. I have no intention of returning to Hurghada, but if I did I would consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing pool near lobby. Bit of a trek to beach and a la carte restaurants - but everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Firstly, if you are looking to go diving/snorkelling in the Red Sea.....do it! Absolutely amazing....

Could not recommend Professional Diving Leadership more, Tito, Magda, Aladin and everyone else for making my dive trip amazing, even though I had left my licence at home. These guys are very very good!

Trust me, the trend on trip advisor is correct......there are a lot of people saying the same things as I am on this one.....this is my first review and I am saying the same things as others on this hotel.....heed the warning before booking!

That being said, there was not a lot else to commend it. Hotel was extremely poor in it's attitude to its European guests. I'm not looking for people to wait on me hand and foot.....(I have run restaurants for the last 8 years...so I have a certain amount of industry experience) but the majority of staff are not interested.....however there are a few excellent members of staff.

Food is obviously a problem! We had a better meal on a dive boat in the middle of the Red Sea with PDL than we had our entire stay at the hotel on land.....ridiculous! We got used to eating off dirty tables with no management as to turning tables or keeping things clean. Drinks service was non existent.

We complained about the food and were told to come and see the executive chef in the evening so he could 'cook us something'.....not being funny, but I don't really feel like talking about it....the standard is not there and it should be! Don't really want 'but it's not to you're taste' etc etc......well if PDL can do it in the middle of the Red Sea to a high standard then why the hell can't they do it in the hotel? Not expecting Michelin Star.....just a bit of meat that isn't liver maybe.....I like liver but don't want to eat it everyday......

Housekeeping was very good....nice, charming and relaxed. Clean rooms everyday and just to a high standard.

Lots of hassling round the pool by the 'spa' guys.....really aggressive! Not happy about that but there you go.....what can you expect?

Not a great trip.....great diving.....hotel was a waste of time. Poor management, poor customer service. Disappointing trip.....just really disappointing.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxybarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I want to start with a big thank you to the animation team Ozo,Chico,Lito, Kimo and the rest of the team for making the stay at the hotel memorable and extremely enjoyable organising trips, arranging sporting activities and the shows that they performed in. Every member of the team was easy to get along with and did their best to make you feel like a friend of theirs which me and my partner appreciated greatly so Thank you!

The staff at the hotel were undoubtedly the nicest staff members I have come across in any hotel I have stayed in and genuinely made myself and my partner feel very welcome and appreciated whilst we were there.

The food choice was broad and being able to book at a restaurant where again the staff were brilliant and if you had any problems would go out of there way and beyond to solve and rectify it. The mid day snack bars by the pool were brilliant! you could ask for a pizza which they cooked in front of you so you could sit down and have a cool down with an ice cold drink.

The Bars were brilliant and all the bar staff were very friendly and would always be up for a laugh with you. One person in particular who served me drinks each night at the bar was named Seed and he was extremely attentive and if the bar was not busy would have a quick chat to you as he served your drinks this made us want to go in every night just because of the hospitality shown by these kinds of people.

on behalf of me and my partner I would like to say thank you to all the staff at Mamlouk and I hope to see you in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrRiebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
8.4 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
2.2 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#18 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
0.6 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#26 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort

Property: SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Address: Safaga Road | 20 Km Safaga Road - Red Sea, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Egyptian hospitality at the 5 star (local category) SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort with the oriental flair and a special family friendly atmosphere and hotel facilities. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Mamlouk Palace Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Mamlouk Palace Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing