We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arabella Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arabella Azur Resort
Ranked #70 of 223 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I actually travelled already in September 2010 but forgot to review. Located near the sea, the hotel offers multiple diving and snorkel oppurtunities. With 4 restaurants there is a lot of variety in food, however after 2 weeks it's nice to have something else for a change. Rooms are average sized but big enough to dump the suitcase and not fall over them. Staff is very friendly and off course the hotel is all inclusive.

Room Tip: Beach Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartijnG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    155
    31
    19
    11
See reviews for
108
171
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Arabella Azur in May 2012. This hotel was recommended by a Dutch friend. After research we knew that there would be very few English people staying at the hotel (in fact, we were the only ones, me, my partner and my parents) but this didn't concern me.

Our first impression was that the hotel is a little dated (as mentioned in other reviews) but it is still a nice hotel. The hotel staff are all extremely nice and will do anything to help (especially if you give them the odd tip which is the norm in Egypt). The rooms are scattered across a large area and it is quite easy to lose your direction. We booked two sea view rooms at extra cost but we were given pool view rooms, we immediately mentioned this to reception but no other suitable rooms were available until the next day, we spent the first night in the original rooms but moved the next day. The best sea view rooms (in our opinion) are located at the rear of the dive centre.

ROOM
The rooms are very clean. Towels are changed daily and floors are mopped and swept every day too. Our room cleaner made some really nice things with our towels, some of which we hadn't seen before. We did wake up one morning to find a cockroach in the room, the cleaner was very appologetic and gave us a tin of spray. We mentioned the bug to reception who immediately sent someone round to fumigate the room. This was the only unwanted visitor we had. At the time that we were there the hotel imported lots of new sand to spread on the beach outside our room, we think that the bug may have been brought in with the sand. Thank you to the hotel for dealing with this.....an excellent service as we hate cockroaches.

FOOD
The food at the hotel is one of the best we have had at an Egyptian all inclusive hotel (it is by no means gormet cuisine but is tasty and as in other reviews, can be a little repetative) and the all inclusive runs until 2am. Try the pizza's at the small pool, they are really nice but make sure you ask for extra toppings as the chef can hold back if you don't say anything.

ENTERTAINMENT
The anmation team do try really hard but we felt that it could have been better (no offence guys). Entertainment is available outside the grill restaraunt but it is not advertised when anything is on. Some singers were very entertaining with the song choice and getting the audience involved, others were trying to be professional singers but we just couldn't help feeling it was more like a comedy show.

EXCURSIONS
We booked a snorkelling trip and the glass bottom boat with Adam who introduces himself to you whilst you are sunbathing. Adam is very pleasant but he charged us far too much for our trip. The boat (SHARK 1) looks like a heap of junk, there are no cushions on the seat, no carpets on the floor and the steel hull is rusting away. The day was good but at 325 L.E. each was a rip off! the boat has 4 locations tops, 3 for snorkelling and 1 for a visit to Paradise island. We found a similar trip with all soft drinks and lunch included for only 150 L.E at an agents office in Sherraton Street which included pick from the hotel and return too. Take a look at the boat near the large pool before you book, my advice would be to avoid at all costs (unless of course Adam (or any of the other reps) will match the 150 L.E price at the agent, they will try to say that you will not be insured with the other agent but this is not true). We did see dolphins whilst we were out which did make the trip OK. I have had much better trips which cost a lot less. The only advantage is the the boat left from the hotel.

SNORKELLING
There is an island in the lagoon but there were very few fish here. The best reef by far is the one located at the beach bar near the volley ball court. I would say it's one of the best reefs in all the hotels we have visited in Egypt (6 in total).

IN SUMMARY
We would like to thank Mohamed who was laying our towels out for us at the pool (he was moved to the beach area near the end of our holiday but continued to look after us) and also thanks to another Mohamed (really nice guy with a few puzzles for you to solve) who was the barman in the beer keller but was moved to the Italian restaurant in the second week of our holiday. This was parents first visit to Egypt and also the first time they have been to an all inclusive hotel and they will definately do it again but maybe not to this hotel. All staff speak multiple languages so even though we were the only English people there, there was no problem communicating. I wouldn't let this review put you off this hotel as it is really nice, but there are better hotels in Hurghada.
ADVICE:- Book your boat trips outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book snorkelling trips at the hotel as they are over priced and the boat (SHARK 1) is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Big_Slick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel is a great value break. The main restaurant is great right on the sea, this is one of the best views I've seen from any restaurant in Egypt. The rooms and grounds are old, but value for money its great. Good quality of food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank josephspendlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed there during last Aid Adha, it was amazing place, so pleasant and so nice services, the waiters are helpful and always smiling, Rooms was perfect and clean, food was good but they just need to add more varieties for food, we had an accident in the hotel we were about to sink and 2 of the waiters and the tattoo man they jumped in the pool with their clothes, mobiles, and money just to save us, I really want to thank them badly for their assistance I really appreciate it. They have amazingggg main restaurant view makes you feel like you are sitting in the middle of the sea and you make feel that you are not in Egypt at all it is really amazing.
It is a good experience with high level service quality; I really would like to thank everyone in the hotel for their great hospitality

Room Tip: Sea or Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dodi1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, in a brilliant location. Although the decor is a little dated everywhere is spotless. The staff can't do enough for you and speak very good english. We have just returned from here after spending new year here - they pulled out all the stops and made new year great! well done to all!
Only minor thing was that because we were the only english there my husband had to get a taxi to another hotel to get a paper - but when mentioned this to the reception they apologised and said they would address this.
Staff AND guests were happy and friendly to chat to us in some what broken english.
Food can be a little bland but I didn't get an upset stomach which I always have when go abroad which is a good reflection on the cleanliness and quality of the food.
The only BIG critsism we have was with outside the hotel-the marina is just as expensive at home and wanted £2.20 for a bottle of beer that was all in at hote and nothing special!
Plus BEWARE of some taxi drivers - unfortunately 1 night we were fooled into receiving a 50 note that we thought was egyption pound but was their smallest currency! although when told other taxi drivers they were disgusted and apologised for the culprit.
All in all a fabulous new year spent at a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view-well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariestrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have just returned from the Arabella and overall we had a really great time. But the hotel in general is very tired and needs some work. There are some very good and efficient staff and also there are many that aren't. The main restaurant which we went to for breakfast and lunch has lovely views over the sea, but the problems here could be many staff standing around and not being attentive to the drinks table service in which we had a couple of issues but we dealt with these. The restaurant itself again is tired and needs a thorough clean especially around the bar dispense area which stank. The food however was very good. I do not understand the negativity regarding food (salads, pizzas, fries, meats, vegetables) it is all inclusive food.

There is plenty to do here, snorkelling excellent, giant chess, free pool 4 tables to play on. Snooker Table and internet these were payable. There is also the animation team who work hard day and night.

The main bar near the lobby area is by far excellent. It feels like a pub. We are always dubious about table service as you can sit for ages waiting for a drink but we were proved very wrong. The staff here were polite, remembered what you drank and very efficient. Super.

We chose to eat in the Italian restaurant beside the billiards room for our eveining meal. The service here was excellent also and the pizzas were to die for.

It does state in the info pack that no reservation of sunbeds is allowed but this happens big style. Never seen so many towels out. Not that this affected us as we are early birds so always got our spot.

The air conditioning was rather noisy and would have been an issue if it was in the height of summer, but we had no need to use it. The room itself was clean and tidy and very regular bed changes. The shower was like being in a straight jacket, just a tray with curtain round it which the other half nearly fell out of and no shelving to put shampoo etc on. But the water pressure was good and water was very hot.

Overall a very pleasant stay. Note you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

The good: nice staff, great weather, nice reef so lots of fish.
The bad: the food, the food, the food and the food. Did I mention the food?
Also your airco unit is behind the bed and it makes a lot of noise. But because of that you can't make the noise the fridge makes. If you decide to turn of your airco unit. Make sure you unplug the fridge as well.
In Mexico or Asia this resort would have 2 stars max..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Bel Air Azur Resort
Bel Air Azur Resort
#74 of 223 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#40 of 223 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regina Resort
Regina Resort
#122 of 223 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#92 of 223 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arabia Azur Resort
Arabia Azur Resort
#44 of 223 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.5 mi away
smartline COLOUR BEACH
smartline COLOUR BEACH
#76 of 223 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Azur Resort

Property: Arabella Azur Resort
Address: El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arabella Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Azur Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing