We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German-village”
Review of Arabia Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arabia Azur Resort
Ranked #49 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“German-village”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week with all inclusive, and it was a lovely vacation. Our room was facing one of the two lagoonas. We just opened our veranda door and picked a sunbed just outside our room. The lagoonas are shallow and perfect for bathing and snorkling.
The room was cleaned very well every day, and over all the hotel area was neat and tidy. The food was okey, and absolutely at its best when they served local dishes. Unfortunately they often tried to go all continental with the food and failed.

We went snorkling, but other than that we just relaxed at hotel beach. This was the kind of vacation we were going for and therefor this hotel and area suited us perfectly.

We had a great vacation at this hotel but there was still two thing that annoyed us. Number one was that everyone that worked at the hotel just asumed that we were germans and addressed us in german. All the activities were announced in german, and the staff always greeted us in german. Maybe understandable since there were a lot of german guests. But still, there were scandinavians and other europeans at this hotel as well, and when you go abroad you expect to speak either english or the countrys own language.

Number two maybe seem like a small mather, but when you go to a hot and sunny place like this you look forward to enjoy a cold beer or drink in the sun. The problem was that the beach and pool bar used plastic glasses. Okey enough, but at some point you really want to enjoy that beer in a glass, not plastic and preferably outside. The only way you could do that was at dinner. You see the lobby bar didn't have any outdoor serving. So if you want to drink wine or beer outside and not from a plastic cup, you need to visit a bar at the marina or something.

Room Tip: Recomend to choose a room with view facing the lagoona. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SiljeRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    321
    84
    26
    14
See reviews for
327
280
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very nice accommodation, beautiful view from the room (beachside), beds and parasols are always available. Nice breakfast and lunch, dinner was also very good but we preferred to go out for dinner for more variety. We did a diving course given by Shariff, who did such a great job! Ask for him when you want to get your PADI in Hurghada.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FemkeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well, I am posting this in the English tripadvisor but chances are that the majority of the clients here would be Germans (by far the largest community), Scandinavians, Russians, Czechs (or Slovaks) or last but not least, Dutch.

All these groups are represented at this hotel but there would be some occasional other nationalities.

First of all, I agree with Mostafa’s comments.

First the not so good news.

The rooms are dated, the furniture has seen better days, the corridors leading to the rooms are open to the heat, to the insects and have no carpeting so, the people moving about the hotel (often arriving late at night) will make lots of noise while passing in front of your room.

The small space in front of the bathroom has access to a rather large wardrobe, but there is not enough light to see the shelves and spaces where you will put the clothes. Same thing for the bathroom. only two lights by the mirror and so you are having a shower in a dim lit bathroom.

The rooms at the ground floor on the centre and the side lagoons are very nice because from the balcony you have direct access to the “ beach” or the swimming pool.

The pool is not very deep and you can stand everywhere, one wonders why they went to the trouble of making a pool of olympic size but not olympic depth , so there are no block from which to start because diving is not allowed and would be dangerous anywhere on this pool.

The pool area, as always, is very noisy wit kids, music, activities and so on. We went only a couple of times. The advantage that the sun stays longer than in other parts of the two lagoons.

The man made lagoons are very nice on the pictures but a little less nice in real life. The truth is that they are covered, at the bottom, with some mucilaginous algae which is very unpleasant to walk upon and gives you a very squishy feel. The water has often a green-.brown film which is actually the algae growing and decomposing. On the bottom of most of the “ Lagoons” you see this algae growing in some long bulbous and gelatinous shapes which come loose and get to the shore.

The staff could dedicate a bit more of time to clean the beach from this and other things (there is plastic and paper occasionally floating about and finally making it to the shore).


Despite this, there is fish in the lagoon, mostly small fishes or some Mullet and I have managed to see a blue spotted ray (which was as surprised to see me as I was to see her). As you swim towards the island you should be aware that there are many clusters of urchins with very long and sharp spines, be very careful! I have also seen a yellow moray eel.

The side of the lagoons is man made with rocks and cement , used the stairs built in the sides or you need shoes , the rocks are sharp.

The people working here are making the hotel. They are good, friendly and offer much good work and although they appreciate a tip are not soliciting them.

The food is nice but lunch is mostly boring (we are foodies) and only available by the area around the pool ( we lunched in the kid’s ares as many did) because is not so hot and noisy as the rest of the place. Salads and cakes are not covered and there are plenty of flies.

I got VERY sick (they had to take me to the hospital and by George that was an unpleasant experience.......I cannot point fingers but it is sure it was something that I ate and I only ate at the hotel that day and I got very ill very fast, the doctor said it was gastroenteritis, food poisoning, the hospital bill was 1000€, and they have held..........at ransom.........my passport for days until and even after my insurance confirmed payment!.......by the way the hospital is associated to the hotel!).

Breakfast and dinner is nice especially when they have Egyptian food. (why not more lambs? Why not more Koftas?) The Breakfast restaurants (one of which is used for dinner too) are more German looking (like a Stube) than they are Arab, same thing for the so called “ Italian” Restaurant (you could be forgiven to think that you are in Munich!

The spirits are AWFUL none of them have any remote relationship with the name they bear! Perhaps the best is the Vodka (Vodka is basically diluted alcohol with a hint of sugar).

The beer, Stella, is nice and light.


A special mention to the pastry chef and cakes. Outstanding!

Shame they don’t have anything sugar free! In Tunisia I had a similar quality of patisserie but, surprise surprise, also plenty of sugar free cakes! NBone of this here! I am sure they would be a great success!

I have been in Egypt before and also in Tunisia, this is by far the least luxurious of any hotel I have ever been in.


Great personell, not so great hotel.

Room Tip: get yourself a lower floor room by one of the lagoons, preferably the B lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I adore this hotel.We spent our vacations here last 4 years.
Very comfortable location,close to the center of the city (5 min .by taxi).
Very helpful staff,good rooms,different and tasty food.
If you love snorkeling you will be happy there,because there is a coralreef with a lot of fish.
Animation good as well.During the day many activities and evening is a kids disco+ show.
The hotel is a 4 stars and complitly cost the money you pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yulik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suez, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

the hotel furniture are very poor, path room is terrible, there is no shower gel or shampoo, so take your stuff with you, mini bar is so bad
food quality is very good, there is a variety in bar drinks
also beach is good in panorama area, but bad water at rooms area
all inclusive concept very good
but hotel was very expensive compared to services & facilities

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mostafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graested, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great hotel - great food and great people. We enjoyed our stay very much and can only recommend it to everyone. The buffet was varied and there was something for everyone. For children they had a special buffet. The staff was very helpfull - especially the two girls at Guest Relations - one of them danish ;-) There is a sport center where you can excercise, get a great massage, manicure or have your hair done. An the price is right!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the laguna and that was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 19Sanne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were in the hotel for 12 days in april 2013. Everything was so good. The whole staff tried to give us satisfaction on our wishes. We go back for sure!!!!! Rooms are very clean and the food is so tastefull. Everything you need, you can find it in the shops near the hotel. Management is so professionell!! Also a boattrip, you can request it in the hotel, is wonderfull!!!

Room Tip: Ask the seaside, it is so nice to wake up with the sun!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wouterdeconinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Bel Air Azur Resort
Bel Air Azur Resort
#81 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#62 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
10.5 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#38 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Arabella Azur Resort
Arabella Azur Resort
#79 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunny Days Palma De Mirette Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabia Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabia Azur Resort

Property: Arabia Azur Resort
Address: El Corniche Road, Hurghada 17007/ 5, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabia Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arabia Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabia Azur Hotel Hurghada
Arabia Azur Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing