We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect family retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect family retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is just one place where you can pamper yourself and spoil your family. A well deserved retreat for those seeking solitude and comfort. The service is top notch, the food is impeccable, catering for all tastes, including picky eating kids, or those with food sensitivities. Kids activities are brilliant, and a variety friendly to all ages. Paying attention to details is what makes this place perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,349
    441
    109
    38
    25
See reviews for
1,133
955
159
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had visited Hurghada several times but this was the first time in your hotel, really it was amazing stay starting from arrival in air port, shuttle bus was in time and driver very friendly, checking out did not take long, front desk people very gentle and always smiling and very welcomed us.
Staying very nice, room well furnished, clean and room boys very good and polite.
Restaurant well arranged, food very tasty, quality is high standard, waiters and supervisors very friendly.
Beach was very nice and privacy, no need to go out of the hotel.
I stayed 4 days with my wife, next time I bring rest of my family.
Really, staying in this hotel, I feel that it was family atmosphere.
Rating this hotel is not excellent but outstanding.

Best wishes.
Sami Saad

Room Tip: Room in south side are quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samisaad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was the best & greatest happy experience of the magnificent like dream hotel in Hurghada ;Egypt. It was a great to be a guest at this & one of the best hotels. From reception to room services & restaurants with their welcoming friendly to make you feel at home. I am so happy to spend my holiday at this hotel. Always be back next time.
Dr Rizk Girgis

Room Tip: Excellent; it is a full board hotel. All rooms are same excellence
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I ve just came yesterday back to Cairo with my family and friends..All I want to say that I didn't want to leave this fantastic hotel and we enjoyed everything with the best service we ve ever seen,,thanks a lot and we will come back again for sure..Ashraf Tharwat(owner of Attori Tours)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We just returned from our vacation at Steigenberger Al Dau Beach yesterday and would certainly recommend the Hotel to everyone. The Hotel hosts a wide range of nationalities, none of them disturbing in any way.
The breakfast buffet was various and delicious, european as well as middle eastern food.
Due to the Hotel size the pool and beachside was never too crowded, even if the Hotel was almost fully booked. There was animation in the pool area but in a decent way, not disturbing anyone looking for relaxation.
The staff was always helpful and especially Receptionist Ahmed Farag handled all our requests friendly, fast and to our full satisfaction. He gave us good tips about where to go in Hurghada and what to do during our time here. We felt he really cared for our comfort and he truly made our stay very special. Big thanks to him.
The private beach was always kept clean and the sea itself was fabulous..clearest water I have seen in a long time.
The only small minus in our opinion was the Roomservice. The Food was tasty but the size was simply too small. We ordered mixed grill and had literally two pieces of meat on the plate.
But all in all we would definitely recommend Steigenberger to everyone..families as well as couples/singles. For sure we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for several nights with the wife on our honeymoon and was immediately impressed by the grand entrance and superb service by the front desk staff. They were polite and quickly got us into our rooms and put a couple of special touches.

When we asked about getting dinner for the night, we were told that the two resteraunts were booked out for the night, but that the buffet was available. Feeling tired, we decided to instead get room service which was quickly delivered, but quite average in composition. How a 5 star hotel can muck up a Club Sandwich is a bit confusing but there you go.

I then headed down to use the complimentary wifi in the lobby (which is a nice touch) but had ongoing problems sustaining a Skype call due to lack of bandwidth with speedtest reporting that I was only getting 15-50kbps max. If you can't get Skype to work on a network connection, then its pretty heavily congested.

Breakfast was fantastic with a great spread, but we then tried to get ourselves booked into the resteraunt and were told that the main one was fully booked, but that the other would be available. Dinner food at Tanja was great, but trying to have a relaxing feed with screaming children isn't really a good way to spend an evening on holidays, and another couple on the table next to us ended up leaving half way through due to the noise.

As a matter of interest, we then walked past the "fully booked" resteraunt and noticed that it was 30% full! What the!?!?!

Suggest that the hotel:
- Get some bandwidth allocated to the lobby wifi or put in some QoS / bandwidth limiting if individual patrons are using up all of a limited set of resources. Most modern Wifi installations do this to stop people downloading and using up bandwidth
- Fix up the room service menu (there were only 10-15 options) and get the quality up to scratch
- Sort out the resteraunt policy and setup multiple sittings - one at 6am for families and one at 8 for couples / groups. Having a resteraunt that is 30% occupied yet is "full" due to an artificial constraint of 10 tables being served is just ridiculous. Suggesting that a couple have a "romantic dinner by the beach" when you're sending them a resteraunt with loud music playing and screaming children is just absurd
- Fix the bathrooms so that the shower doors properly close and don't leak water on the floor - again attention to detail is important

If these relatively simple fixes were put in, easily it would be a 5 star review, however I note that for couples, you may want to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay a bit away from the main area and up on the higher floors, however all rooms have great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We've stayed in many hotels in the area and this is still one of my favourites. Like the resort feel but still easy to get into town. Plenty of activities, friendly staff. Felt the food this time was good but not wow and the main buffet restaurant was full of very noisy kids. How about making part of it a designated family area? Still highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarekNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,046 reviews
10.0 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
#30 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
4.3 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel is an exclusive luxury hotel built in fascinating Swahili architecture, situated directly on the beach at the southern tip of Hurghada with a spectacular view of the sea. The hotel is famous for its luxurious spacious rooms and superb restaurants, and it presents a variety of unrivaled features; from a unique Lazy River, inviting you to lose yourself in the tranquility of a gentle river ride, floating through the landscaped gardens until you disembark straight into an amazing pool covering 5,000 m3. A private beach that is almost half a kilometer in length, just to relax or to play, with "Ilios" the world class dive club and aqua center, where you can scuba dive, snorkel, go windsurfing, water skiing or parasailing. A 9 hole par 3 golf course, floodlit, for playing a challenging game of golf under the summer night sky. As for the feeling of complete well-being; immerse yourself in 1000 m2 of the "Algotherm Red Sea Thalasso & Spa" for pampering body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing