We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just want to give my satisfaction to the GM. I would like to congratulate Ali, an animation guy wich speak my langage, the french. My week was wonderful. Thanks you so much Ali. The animation was very nice, the weather also. The lazy river was wonderfull and the red sea. What can i tell you about the red sea. My apprectiation was really really good.
The food was really good. i hope my futur vacation will be as soon as my stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Use the room1384, it was so pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 3,383 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the steigenberger al dau beach in June 2012 and had a great holiday there so I thought I would give it a try again this november, wow never thought you could improve on perfection! The whole experience was like home from home and I cannot thank the staff at the hotel enough for all they do for you. The food, the rooms, the pool, but especially the staff in the Karubu bar special thanks to Remon, Romany, Michael, John,and the lovely Mohamed I feel as I though I have made some life long friends. The reception staff always helpful, the rooms so clean, the pool staff cannot do enough for you, the pool bar staff great. I would like to thank the general manager for running such a great hotel and will certainly be back next year. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a home from home with sunshine thrown in.

Room Tip: I would suggest from third fourth or fifth floor for good views of sea and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz122_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

LOCATION
The hotel is approx. a 10 minute drive from the airport and in walking distance from the southern centre of Hurghada. Take a cab though if you wish to visit Hurghada (which you actually don’t, more on this below).

Although being close to the airport, commercial aircrafts taking-off or landing are barely audible. However keep in mind that the airport also functions as a military airstrip, and the jetfighters taking-off on occasion you will certainly notice!

HOTEL GROUNDS & POOL
Compared with neighboring hotels, the Steigenberger hotel looks great from both the outside and inside. Very impressive lobby and well maintained grounds. The pool area is stunning with lots of flowers and palm trees. Since the hotel applies a ‘no-reservation policy’, sunbeds are always available on the large or on one of the many smaller terraces around the pool or lazy river. The proximity of the Steigenberger Golf Course gives a very unspoilt feel to the pool area. Great plus is the attending staff around the pool pampering the guests.

Keep in mind that one of the neighboring hotels always plays music during the day and the hotel's animation staff does so on set times, so in our experience it never was quiet at the pool.

RESTAURANTS, SERVICE & HYGIENE
The hotel has one large buffet-style restaurant in the main building, one bistro-style pool-bar and two restaurants beautifully located at the beachfront. Everywhere hygiene appeared to be on the highest level. All eating facilities have decent menu's or buffets with food tasting quite respectable, but don’t expect any real haute cuisine (not even at Alexander’s, which advertises itself as such).

Alas, the service seems to be a bit of a hit-and-miss and at occasion even a little chaotic. Sometimes orders for drinks/food would be taken immediately when seated, sometimes we had to wait for about 15 mins or signal the staff before we were paid any attention.

ROOMS
Rooms are spacious, well-furnished and have good quality super-kingsize beds (200cm/78inch wide). Bathroom is well equipped and has walk-in shower, but with the disadvantage of having a very low sink and toilet compared to European standards.

In general, the quality of house-keeping appeared to be good. The bath and shower could have been cleaned better though (for instance, see photo of showerhead).

SECURITY
Hotel’s management have paid attention to guests’ security, with guards at the entrances to the grounds, at the entrance to the lobby and at the end of the beach. When entering the lobby, everyone has to pass security scans. However, when alarms went off, none of the guards seemed to be least bit bothered by it.

HURGHADA
The small city of Hurghada itself looks like an awful concrete jungle, with no historic centre whatsoever, lots of vacant buildings and some of those construction-sites which never seem to reach completion. My advice: stay inside the walls of your hotel, and the Steigenberger is one of the best to do so.

Room Tip: Send an e-mail to the front desk in advance of your arrival and ask for a room on a high floor. Less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rpd051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Being lazy in the sun ,food is good, all employees are very hospitable,all services are great,......once again we decided to visit Steigenberge, from 29/10/2012 to 01/11/2012 and everything is Great what a ressort it is there was nothing more we could have hoped for in Hurghada

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibrahim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I did spend a week at the Steigenberger Al Day hotel (2-9 November 2012). It is really great hotel just by the beach in Hurghada with its own dive center, several restaurants and a great pool area. I had an all inclusive stay at the Al Day and it was good except for that I several times did have to ask them to change the glass they gave me because they were not clean. Rooms are good, silent area, food fully okay and I managed to spend the whole week without enjoying a bad stomach - that´s a good thing when visiting Egypt. The dice center was really good. Super friendly people and experienced.
If I would recommend this place to my friends? Yes for sure - it is well worth what you pay for.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms are not with a view to the sea, make sure you do not end up in one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100donesofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I have just got back from 5 days at this hotel, the standard of this hotel is excellent.

Rooms are brilliant, service brilliant!

The first time I have been to a hotel where they have staff going around the pool and beach cleaning your sunglasses, they also give you cold flannels.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 93% of rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

i just return from Steigenberger couple of days ago, everything was amazing, staff was smiling & very helpful & very hospitable, also service was so perfect, the resort was soo nice, atmosphere was so beautiful, The pool is magnificent But the 'Lazy River' wasn't that great!! only one thing is terribly bad there THE FOOD !! its very terrible, no taste, no variety, i guess in my next stay i'll ask them for Bed&Breakfast boarding, we had to go out everyday for lunch & late dinner as its good quality with fine prices, another thing i don't like is the animation team i guess they're too lazy, otherwise the resort is so amazing, This is the best hotel I ever stayed in at Hurghada.its really perfect

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARagab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#37 of 222 in Hurghada
2,561 reviews
13.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
973 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
#28 of 222 in Hurghada
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $116 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel is an exclusive luxury hotel built in fascinating Swahili architecture, situated directly on the beach at the southern tip of Hurghada with a spectacular view of the sea. The hotel is famous for its luxurious spacious rooms and superb restaurants, and it presents a variety of unrivaled features; from a unique Lazy River, inviting you to lose yourself in the tranquility of a gentle river ride, floating through the landscaped gardens until you disembark straight into an amazing pool covering 5,000 m3. A private beach that is almost half a kilometer in length, just to relax or to play, with "Ilios" the world class dive club and aqua center, where you can scuba dive, snorkel, go windsurfing, water skiing or parasailing. A 9 hole par 3 golf course, floodlit, for playing a challenging game of golf under the summer night sky. As for the feeling of complete well-being; immerse yourself in 1000 m2 of the "Algotherm Red Sea Thalasso & Spa" for pampering body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing