We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful and luxurious resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A beautiful and luxurious resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Steigenberger was booked for us by our tour operator (Ahmad at Egypt Tours Portal) as part of our package and what a resort it is! There was nothing more we could have hoped for in Hurghada...the Steigenberger has massive bedrooms, bathrooms with bath and shower, resort facing balcony, attentive and prompt staff, mouth watering food and top class resort facilities including an aqua club for water sports. In the evenings, there would usually be a pianist filling the hotel's huge lobby with pleasant music which was a great touch.

Despite the above, the Steigenberger is very reasonably priced in all departments which is the icing on the cake. We tried the dinner buffet a couple of times and the selection and quality of both food and drinks on offer was outstanding so although pricey, it was certainly worth it. Whilst enjoying the private beach, we ate at the beach cafe which again was very reasonably priced for a nice lunch.

I'm not sure what other hotels rated better than this can have but I would definitely recommend this hotel and resort for a properly relaxing stay in Hurghada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTheWorld84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,349
    441
    109
    38
    25
See reviews for
1,133
955
159
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stay at this beautiful hotel many times in the year, in different times and different locations. We find it amazing and really standing out for the quality of rooms, very tasty food with many daily varieties, the services are outstanding. And all services are great.

it's funny that sometimes we want to try other hotels as sort of a change, but strange enough we immediately spot the big difference and run back to this property the same da or the next morning. Then When we reach the hotel our kids 4 and 10 scream by saying " oh home sweet home".

The staff are really very helpful and always smiling back at you. I find the comment about one the front desk staff is unfair as he in particular is one of the most helpful and cheerful guys.

They were very understanding and helpful to our late check out requests, and did their utmost to help which have assured us of their credibility

I recommend this hotel to any family with kids, and also for travelers who are seeking a quality holiday in Hurghada

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgyptTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I read many reviews on hotels in Hurghada before choosing this one. Our room was huge and spotlessly clean. It was on the end of a wing and the only slight downside was the music from the hotel next door - it wasn't too loud inside but you did know it was intrusive when you sat on the balcony watching the sunset. The views were great. The pool complex and lazy river are wonderful but we prefer a beach and the sea. The only disappointment was that there were no fish in the sea which spoilt my husband's snorkelling. We have learnt that if you want to see all the amazing fish which we did in Sharm, you need to avoid a sandy beach and stay where there is coral and a pontoon to swim from. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine and the waiters always went and found me a banana from the kitchen as there were never any on the buffet. Lunch at the beach bar was good. The buffet dinner was bland and predictable and not worth £20 each. We took a taxi downtown each night and ate there.....always an experience and sooo cheap! The food and drinks in the hotel are quite expensive but the accomodation and ambience are well worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room in the centre or in the right hand wing to avoid noise from hotel next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyskowice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Once again we decided to visit Steigenberger, this time for our honeymoon and we haven't been disappointed at any stage.Rooms are always cleaned with time manners and with elegant views.Service wise they must to work on "natural" behavior as you can get impression that most of time waitress are forcing themselfs to be nice which doesn't look good.Hotel facilities are generally good a part of luck wi-fii in the rooms without additional charges.It is most luxury hotel in Egypt so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Whole resort is amazing, rooms are huge, clean, stuff is pleasant always smiled, food is wonderful, pool, beach, everything is great, really i do not have any bad word.

I have only one suggestion for hotel, maybe could enrich the evening animation.

Definitely the best hotel in Hurgada.

Room Tip: everzthing is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I liked this hotel and hotel stuff while they always work to entertain you.
I liked pool Area, Lazy River, and room View.
24 hours Room Servie is great but room service stuff some time forget to supply Tea and Coffe to the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haythamdiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

After reading through the reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided to book a one week holiday at Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel in Hurghada, Egypt. The reviews stated that it was one of the best places to choose when looking for a relaxed holiday, and based on the many many reviews, I decided to book.

In advance, I tried to communicate with the hotel quite a lot (requesting mealplan information, requesting airport transport, etc.). All communication was quick and clear, perfect! I was always surprised by the fast and accurate response on my emails. This was up for a good start.

Due to the fact that I booked the hotel on their website (and not through a travel agency), I got the offer to have free airport transfers to the hotel, and the other way around. When arriving at Hurghada airport and waiting in line to get the Visa, Melek from the hotel was already searching for us. He guided us towards the bus (which was the most luxurious one we spotted in front of the airport) and helped us with our bags. Very friendly and perfect service!

Arriving at the hotel, the view was amazing. Nice lobby, friendly staff. Beware, not everything someone promises you, is also valid for other members of the staff. This is propably an Egyptian thing, we asked if we could change mealplans during the week and the staff member at the reception at arrival told us this was no problem, but during the week when we wanted to change, somebody else told us this wasn't possible. Yeah well..

We got our keys for the room and towel cards, and went up to the room (where our luggage was just delivered). We had booked a Deluxe room with view on the pool and see, and we were at the 5th floor. AWESOME VIEW!! If possible, try to get a room on the top floors! The room was spacious and clean, very very clean. The guy who delivered our luggage told us that the airco wasn't working. Hmmm... But when he left, we discovered that he meant that the airco doesn't work when the balcony door is open. Allright! To be short about the room: spacious, large, perfect beds (we slept sooooo good), free bottle of water every day (usefull to wash your teeth or taking on a daytrip). Some negative points: separate beds (this wasn't really 'romantic' cause the beds kept on sliding apart), and a very loud AC. Furthermore, awesome.

The swimming pool is magnificent as well. Very large and clean, with the awesome 'lazy river'. Just relax in a big blue band and slide along. The pool isn't heated, but this makes it even better to cool down after laying in the hot Egyptian sun for a few minutes/hours. There is a heated pool as well, if you want to, but to me, not necessairy. There are also plenty of sunbeds, so it's hard not to find a spot when you arrive before 11h. Of course, after that time, lots of places are taken, but normally you should still find some space. We preferred laying at the sunbeds near the heated pool. Calm, not many passage and toilet and bar/restaurant nearby. Relaxing!!

Concerning the food, that's something else. The first two days, we went eating in the buffet restaurant, but this wasn't our thing. Lots of local stuff, and it all tasted quite flat. Our preference was to eat at around 15h in one of the restaurants either by the pool or at the beach (pizza, burgers, pasta's), and then order roomservice in the evening. Roomservice is only 10LE (+- 1€) extra, so you can have dinner for two on roomservice for about 20€, while the buffet is per person around 25€. Easy choice for us. Drinks were also good, nice cocktails, and very refreshing. Quite expensive though at about 9€ for an alcoholic cocktail. Oh yeah, we didn't book All Inclusive, that's why we paid all the time :) And plus, we didn't get sick, eventhough we drank icecubes in our cocktails etc!

The best food we ate, was the breakfast. OH MY GOD, awesome! So many choices and you never run out of ideas of what to eat. Toast, bread, croissants, pancakes, waffles, eggs made especially on your order, different sorts of drinks,...... Perfect!

All in all, a nice and relaxing holiday. If you're not a picky eater or prefer local foods, this is supposed to be your number one hotel in Hurghada! And otherwise as well, but then just don't take all in and enjoy roomservice for the rest of your stay ;)

Room Tip: Take a Deluxe room with pool/sea view on booking, otherwise you're about to see: sand, unfinishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewdb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.1 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,051 reviews
10.0 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
#30 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
4.3 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel is an exclusive luxury hotel built in fascinating Swahili architecture, situated directly on the beach at the southern tip of Hurghada with a spectacular view of the sea. The hotel is famous for its luxurious spacious rooms and superb restaurants, and it presents a variety of unrivaled features; from a unique Lazy River, inviting you to lose yourself in the tranquility of a gentle river ride, floating through the landscaped gardens until you disembark straight into an amazing pool covering 5,000 m3. A private beach that is almost half a kilometer in length, just to relax or to play, with "Ilios" the world class dive club and aqua center, where you can scuba dive, snorkel, go windsurfing, water skiing or parasailing. A 9 hole par 3 golf course, floodlit, for playing a challenging game of golf under the summer night sky. As for the feeling of complete well-being; immerse yourself in 1000 m2 of the "Algotherm Red Sea Thalasso & Spa" for pampering body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing