We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent for children”
Review of Giftun Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giftun Azur Resort
Ranked #107 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We where a group of 15 persons with 3 children under 8 years. All of us had a super stay here at the Giftun.

The food is OK+, we stayed a week, and i suspect we would be looking for a restaurant if we stayed another week. But the kids where happy, and then we are happy too.

There are many germans here, but not overwhelming. Lots of scandinavians, dutch and some russians guests also.
We had no problems with the usual german towel army... :)

I would recomend a diving tour and a trip to the desert for some camel riding. This can be arranged by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 413 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2008

PETER, HELEN
I stayed in this hotel with my wife for 2weeks last year , in general the hotel was really great, the food , the rooms, the service, the beach every thing was just perfect until oneday I think it was my 3rd or 4th day of the holiday and we met this guy so called ABD EL HAI (not sure about the spelling) we met him on the beach and at first he was nice and friendly and we thought he was a funny man , but then he kept asking us to go out with him to so he can show us around , we said no many times but he asked again and again then I realized what he really wanted , he wanted me to help him with opening his business ,he asked me to give him money to invest in Egypt, however I told him that Iam not interrested in having any sort of business in Egypt.but he kept asking us over and over again, besides I didn't like the way he was looking at my wife it was very rude, every time he came to us on the beach my wife had to cover her self with the towel or some times she just left and gone away becouse she didn't feel comfortable with the way he was looking at her. I didn't want to complain to the hotel manegment because I thought he will just stop, but he didn't , overall we had an ok holiday in this hotel but it could have been much better without this guy, I hope the hotel manegment can do something about this . I would love to go back to the hotel but I really don't want to see this man again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank petehele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Me and my girlfriend booked an all inclusive at the Giftun Beach Resport. Our travel agent had it rated three stars which made us fairly confident it would be a pleasant stay.
We were wrong.
Yes it was an all inclusive but the quality was terrible. Breakfast was at best acceptable. We tried the lunch twice during two weeks and it did not taste well at all. There were many things to choose from during dinner but almost all of it tasted awful. We only ate dinner at the Giftun four times during our stay and had to eat out instead (the Hard Rock Café was great).
The towels that the hotel provided had an awful smell (they were basically too old and never had enough time to dry) and in order to get a sun bed you hade to get up early in the morning otherwise other guest had reserved them by placing their towels on them despite the fact that signs said it was not allowed.
As for drinks the only thing that the bars served that was good was the local beer. Giftun's idea of a drink is 1/3 of local alcolhol and 2/3 of soft drinks that turned flat right away.

The rooms were of acceptable two star standard. The air conditioning was good and the cleaning was exellent. The hotel was probably nice 10-15 years ago but is in great need of rehauling.

Hurghada is good if all you want is the sun and beach. If you want to go out at night or visit different restaurants you should go elsewhere. The Egyptian salesmen (it is always men) are always in your face trying to sell this and that. There is no way you can walk on the sidewalk past some store without a few people trying to get you to get in to their store. It is quite tirering and at times they can be quite rude

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BennyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

A wonderful hotel in the best part of Hurghada.
We had a perfect vacation in this hotel, the staff were helpful and friendly.
Most of the visitors were german but there were polish, russians and some scandinavians other than ourselves.
Family friendly hotel
The food was exellent and a good variety of dishes.
The room were clean and spacious.
Plenty of things to do and a wonderful beach.
The only bad thing were the drinks.
When we return to Hurghada it will be in this hotel.

Micael Jonasson helsingborg SWeden


Stayed: April 2005
7  Thank mirakeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giftun2014, Manager at Giftun Azur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt einen T Block wo man übernachten kann, aber auch Bungalow, wo die C,D und Block modernisiert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giftun2014, Manager at Giftun Azur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vælg et værelse i et blokkene (såsom T-blokken). Bungalowerne så små og slidte ud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikDenmarkEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giftun2014, Manager at Giftun Azur Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.1 mi away
Bel Air Azur Resort
Bel Air Azur Resort
#91 of 222 in Hurghada
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#102 of 222 in Hurghada
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
4.1 mi away
Arabia Azur Resort
Arabia Azur Resort
#50 of 222 in Hurghada
938 reviews
4.1 mi away
Arabella Azur Resort
Arabella Azur Resort
#74 of 222 in Hurghada
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giftun Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giftun Azur Resort

Address: Youssef Afifi Road, Hurghada 54811, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $47 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Giftun Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giftun Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giftun Azur Hotel Hurghada
Giftun Azur Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing