We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, better than expected after reading the reviews on here!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Garden Hotel
Ranked #187 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, better than expected after reading the reviews on here!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Having read a few reviews on TripAdvisor we were quite nervous about what we'd booked but upon arrival was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel was actually quite nice. The first room we had wasn't the best so we asked to move and we were immediately moved to a better room - absolutely no hassle at all and the staff were very friendly and polite.

The breakfast wasn't amazing it's true but there was plenty of fresh melon and croissants. I wouldn't recommend booking half board here because the very pretty marina (literally a 3 min walk away) is host to a range of really nice restaurants and really well priced. We had a fantastic steak and chips meal for just 8.00GBP (go to The Lodge - great food and lovely staff)!! We were on a budget of 13.00GBP per day for lunch and dinner so we just bought rolls and sandwich fillers from the local supermarket for lunch and ate out every night. Didn't go over budget at all! Also around the corner from the hotel (not in the marina) was Cafe del Mar restaurant which also does very good food at great prices and is run by a lovely Swedish lady.

The pool area is nice and sheltered if the wind's up, the pool is clean and very refreshing (unheated but it doesn't need to be!).

The nearest beach is the best place to go (just behind Ministry of Sound - which isn't a pumping club as I had expected, well not during the day at least but then it was early season so I'm not sure if was even open). It's literally 3 mins away and entrance is free for guests of the Sea Garden hotel. There is also free access to the Hedkandi beach and pool but we preferred the local beach as the stretch of beach and access to water was much bigger. The only drawback being that you weren't allowed to bring in your own food and drink - to the extent that our bags were searched every time we entered! But the food and water is cheap once you're inside and the beach is clean so it wasn't as inconvenient as we first thought.

The only drawback I have about this holiday is that we were two girls traveling on our own (well traveled girls too! In our mid to late 20s) and we had a lot of unwanted attention from the local Egyptians both the hotel staff and in the neighbourhood. You do get used to it, it's best just to ignore them but they can be pretty persistent and it can make you quite uncomfortable - especially when they stare at you while you're sunbathing on the beach! The reception kept ringing us asking us to go for drinks and the pool guy tried to persuade me to go out for a drink - we avoided the pool as a result. We ended up having to be quite rude, ignoring everyone and avoiding eye contact to avoid being approached which is a real shame - doesn't come naturally to me to be rude to people.

I would not recommend this as a place to travel for younger girls on their own who might not have traveled much or don't feel comfortable saying no! If you have a guy with you you're much less likely to be hassled.

All in all it was a very nice holiday and I'm super brown so happy days :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camicazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    25
    16
    24
See reviews for
13
49
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

The people here really look after you the furnishings are a bit tired but thats not important to us - its a bit like Bagpuss, a bit frayed at the seams but lovable. There is such a caring and friendly atomsphere: by the time we left we were on first name terms with most of the staff and we really felt that they genuinly cared about the enjoyment of our holiday. The cleaners showed us how to make towel swans and towel babies!
At lunch the food is cooked at the grill by the pool its clean and tasty: no tummy problems after a week! Its location is good close to the marina and you get to hed kandi beach and pool (the best places to catch a tan in our expererince) for free.
The main problem is that a lot of building work is going on around the site, despite it only being a 3min. walk from the marina, if your a women only group ask for advice e.g. get a taxi for the short run to the Marina. hopefully this is only a short term problem.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhianbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkenhead
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Paid £240 each for holiday including onboard meals and transfers. Hotel on arrival seemed better than reviews but our room was dirty , noisy and tepid hot water. We were on the front of the hotel and taxis honk all night and there is an all night disco at the end of the road. Next morning our rep asked the hotel for a move and about an hour later after looking at two rooms we got the jackpot. Two balconies , overlooking the pool , bath, shower , bidet cloakroom, dining room. So smile at everyone, tip everyone, and hold your ground.
The staff are the best we have met and you will be entertained and looked after as long as you smile and tip. As soon as you can change your big notes into tens (9 egyptian £ for £1). If you give 10 egyptian pounds a tip doors will open.
The food is passible at the hotel but there are some fantastic eating places within 5 mins. but if you can't be bothered room service is 3egypt pounds extra. (You won't get exactly what you asked for )
Pool is nice but you can get passes for two lovely beaches 5 mins away. Get there before 11 for best specs.
In summing up it was very cheap , central for everything, not for the faint hearted, ideal for a mid winter break wih sun every day. Tip everyone, laugh when it goes wrong, and try everything. Camel meat is like beef but no fat.
Plane was delayed 48 hours but we were put in 5 star all inclusive. What a bummer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

This is the dirtiest hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The sheets were dirty and the first two rooms I was shown were smelly and had bugs running around the bathroom. (If I'd had the funds, I would have moved).
Due to the state of the rooms, I asked to see the restaurant kitchen and was horrified by what I saw; it was filthy and there was no sign of any kind of soap or running water. The pot-washer was actually scooping dirty water out of a bowl, (with a few bubbles), onto the pots and used a dirty cloth to wipe them with! I felt sick.
As I was unable to change hotels, I bought fruit and yoghurt from a supermarket for my breakfast and ate my dinner at restaurants which were recommended by locals, (Brits and dive guides).
The public area looked bright and was cool, though the furniture was old and worn. In fact, all of the furniture in the hotel rooms was worn and tired-looking. Almost all of the towels in my hotel room were rough and very old.
I strongly advise anyone against staying at this hotel.
On a positive note, the staff were always polite and respectful, though sadly, pretty inefficient.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldlywiseSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

As divers we wanted a cheap hotel because we would be spending our days out scuba diving. So on the plus side it was very cheap, the staff were friendly, and the limited evening buffets fine. On the down side we had no shower for 3 days because of a split shower hose. The toilet seat fell off each time and we could not get the plug out of the sink, fortunately it drained slowly. These last two problems were not fixed. We, like other guests, asked for a room change, it was promised, but never happened. The Sea Garden is 5 minutes walk from the upmarket restaurants of the Marina and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping street. Like everywhere else in Hurghada it is surrounded by abandoned building sites

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydiverWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

On arrival we found the toilet was leaking all over bathroom floor got them to fix it but after a few days it started again. The bed itself was smelly and I found hairs on the sheets the first night got them to change them but there was still a funny smell. One day we had no water at all and could not shower on other days it was just a trickle and cold. We didn't bother eating breakfast there at all it looked vile. Reception staff have bad attitudes an would ring our hotel room to ask us out on dates in the end we unplugged the phone. Sat around the pool area once was very noisy as was the hotel at night and in the mornings we didn't sleep well. Went to head kandi beach most days and loved it snorkeling was great, went to the marina in the evenings which is full of modern bars and restaurants and is hassle free. The main high street is an experience but can be good fun haggling on prices. Went on a trip to Mahmaya island and I would recommend it, it's like paradise and great for snorkeling bar area and food also great. Overall holiday was great but the hotel really did spoil it, I've stayed in many 3 star hotels and have been more than happy but sea garden was something else!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Second trip to Egypt in 12 months, and after staying at a 5-star hotel (Le Meridien) in Dahab, we decided to go for a 3-star residence on this holiday. We just felt that 5-star didn't actually mean a great deal in Egypt, and that both service and quality were compromised on our last trip, and we paid twice as much compared to this trip.

Upon arrival we discovered that the hotel looked a bit shabby. It probably was a really lovely little place once, but just looked a tad unloved. The staff looked a bit scruffy, ill-fitting uniforms, shirts half-in/out and the general reception area was dimly lit and and dirty. (We did remind ourselves that we had paid half the price of the 5-star hotel in Dahab). The 'front-of-house' staff are also quite lecherous of western women.....I know that's 'just how things roll' out in the middle-east and my wife and I expect/don't pay much attention to/know how to deal with it when it occurs out and about, but in the hotel is a bit too much. After a busy day in the hustle and bustle of an Egyptian town or tiring ourselves out in the sea, it's nice to be able to come back to a sanctuary of sorts and this was a bit of an (minor) irritation to us both.

We'd booked a double-room, but were presented with a twin, which we instantly complained about and the management to their credit immediately rectified by placing us in a double-room overlooking the pool, albeit with a bit of heated debate over the booking. We started to explore the room and were dismayed to find no safe-box. These are located in a rooom behind reception on the ground floor and require 2 keys to open, one held by the room occupant and one by the hotel management. This proved to be a bit of a drag keep having to go down to and getting the manager to assist every time you just wanted to get some money out of it or put something away. However at £E8 (approx. £1.20) per day at least valuables can be secured for small price.

The bathroom was poorly maintained and the shower didn't work the first morning after arrival due to low water pressure. We did get this fixed however, but the general quality and upkeep of the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom was of a poor standard and a bit dirty. The room fridge was not too efficient either and barely cooled drinks. Towels were laundered when requested, but they did come back a bit grubby looking.

There was only one plug socket in the room, which was half hanging out of the plaster work and a bit risky to use. So if you have lots of gadgets and gizmos which need charging such as we did with iPods/digi-cams etc. then it might be worth asking for a room with a couple of power points.

The room entry key cards fail at will and the staff got a bit shirty when asking them to fix this and give us a new card.

We only ate in the hotel's restaurant at breakfast, and this was most disappointing. My wife and I tend to want to get a good feed in early, and then head out to dive sites for the day and eat out later in the evening when we explore the locality. The selection offered was limited to a lot of bread/pastries, cereal and basic mediterranean salad, a platter of processed fatty meat slices and some sliced cheese. There was very little in the way of 'hot' foods or regional dishes and the scrambled eggs were never brought out until after about 8.30 am (usually the time minibuses were coming to pick up guests to head out on trips) and there was no fresh fruit either. The coffee tasted terrible and no bottled drinking water was available.

In May, it's generally a quieter period for tourism in Egypt, and a s a result the hotel was mostly empty which did make it seem quieter, but at the same time a little austere. Otherwise the room we had was pretty peaceful, although guests should be aware the Ministry of Sound nightclub is just down the road and that was audible in the middle of the night a couple of times.

This review is trying to be honest and objective, it may seem like I'm slating the place, but it did us OK for what we needed for a week of diving and snorkelling along the red sea coast. It's basic and if you have the guile to meet the Egyptians head-on when things go wrong, they generally get it sorted. You don't always get what you pay for, but in this instance, it seemed about right (approx. £375pp for 7 nights B&B with flights and transfers). We just needed somewhere which was secure, had a nice room even if it was modest and had a few teething problems and felt comfortable and was somewhere really just to rest our heads at the end of the day. If you like staying by the pool, I'd say go for one of the more expensive hotel complexes further out of Hurghada towards the airport, but if you like to get out for most of the time, Sea Garden could be a cheap option, bit DO take into account some of the points here. On the upside, it's a good location (100m away) for the main drag through Hurghada where you can soak up the local atmosphere and also the Marina (5 minute walk) which has more contemporary bars and restaurants (more expensive too).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLC-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Rose Hotel
Golden Rose Hotel
#158 of 229 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Resort
Regina Resort
#102 of 229 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#178 of 229 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Triton Empire Hotel
Triton Empire Hotel
#162 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beirut Hotel
Beirut Hotel
#203 of 229 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#114 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Garden Hotel

Property: Sea Garden Hotel
Address: El Sakkala | P.O Box 44, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sea Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Garden Hotel Hurghada
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Garden Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing