We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carefull with the local representants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #127 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carefull with the local representants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is fine specially if you like to do some activities like sport on the beach or in the swimming pool etc. But, never book it in hotels4u neither in Thomas Cook, their representants there lie to you directly when buying them visa. But not only the person in the desk, also the superotelvisor. when you claim to the the central office they dont even answer to you.
So, if you like the hotel try to book it directly.
Food is a bit repetitive but drinks are always available and you really need it

Room Tip: try beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arruxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    145
    68
    36
    31
See reviews for
124
121
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I loved this hotel so much, very welcoming. Food was lovely, and the rooms were always clean! drinks were nice, little shop in the hotel for wee bits crisps drinks etc.. The beach was lush and all the pools, there is a few pools, all of them are great, i would deffo come back to this resort, and will be next year :-) Peeeerfect!!!! Xxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

nice place for every body, very good security, polite personal, good rest, try aquascope view

Room Tip: rooms with view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marius106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Arrived at hotel on 20th March 2012 for two weeks, booked holiday with Broadway Travel and
as usual all arrangements satisfactory. I have a reasonable command of Egyptian Arabic and
find this helpfull when booking in at resort. This Hotel is predominantly German (60%) Russian
(30%) 10% others, in my first week I did not meet any other English, and only one couple in my
second week. I have been a lone traveller to Egypt for the past six years and I love it.

This was my first visit to Calimera, I found reception excellent at check in and throughout my
stay, my room was very nice although the beds are harder than I would like, bathroom/Shower
very good, good room service every day. The pools were superb, very clean, all types of
drinks available. No complaints about the restaurant, you can even boil your own eggs.

The Animation Team provided us with good entertainment day and night and were brilliant
with the children. I introduced myself to some Germans and we played Bocca on the beach
every day and disco'd together at night. If I am fit enough next year (I'm 74) I hope to return
to Calimera, best holiday in the six yrs. I have had in Egypt.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the main building do not have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The worst vacation memories are from Club Calimera in Hurghada. When we arrived to the hotel, we didn't get any room immediately but a guy from reception gave us a hotel plan and told us to choose a room, weird. OKei, I chose the best room which he suggested, then he said, sorry but these rooms here are all full,closed. And then gave us the worst room in the hotel. I wonder why he told us to choose a room, and you know, as we were for the first time there, we were really really confused. As usually you will be given a room with the key and you don't have to argue with your partner which room to take, and as a result you don't get either.! The second disappointment was that our luggage wasn't brought to our room, we waited about 15-30 minutes for our luggage, and what didnt come, was our luggage, then I went down to reception, and found my bags on the door,outside, nobody keeping an eye on them. Terrible ! And also, if you would like to have a beach vacation, dont go there! You cant swim there, as you have to walk for 10 minutes, and still only your toes are on the water. I was really disappointed as I wanted to swim there, but there was nobody swimming around.
The only good thing about that hotel was food ! Really good food and a wide variety!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Club Calimera, Hurgharda EGYPT for three nights as part of our African Tour. Upon arrival, you drag your own bags to the check in desk where an uninterested member of staff snarls, "Passport". That is the extent of the welcome! Handed a keys and left to drag our own luggage around the resort with no direction from staff.

Upon arrival at the room, it was dark and smelt like chlorine. We returned to the desk and were reluctantly given another room in the main building which was much better.

The meals and drinks were included and consisted of buffet style canteen food and very basic drinks. Very light (possibly non alcoholic beer!) was available as was wine that tasted like vinegar. Other beers were available for purchase.

Each time an enquiry was made via the front desk, we were met by rude and very unhelpful members of staff. Not a four star establishment. Rooms were clean and tidy as was the entire complex. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank plugga_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I went with a friend and never having been to Egypt I was a little wary, but when we arrived it was fine! You do have to buy a visa when you get to Hurghada airport which is £13.
You definitely have to respect their culture and I found it really interesting and fascinating. The hotel is set in lovely, well looked after grounds-with plenty of flowers and plants from all over the world. The staff are very friendly and can not do enough for you, although the beach bar staff are a little bit less so-Im not so sure why though. The rooms are spacious with a tv, plenty of wardrobe space and balcony. All with controllable air conditioning (ours did break down but with a few words to reception got fixed) and there are power cuts , a couple a night but only lasted about a minute or two (but this is prob because they are trying to run so much off of the generators!).
The staff do try to sell you trips and spa treats around the pool this where bartering comes in! We did a cleopatra spa that lasts two hours that includes sauna,steam room, jacuzzi, body massage, body peel, face massage and mask-it was so relaxing and highly recommended.
We also took advantage of the intro diving session in the diving centres swimming pool. We took a trip out to Luxor for fantastic-trip included breakfast, lunch, a personal tourist guide, entry to valley of the kings and luxor temple. It is 4 hours driving each way though and we had to leave at 3am to get there fairly early before it gets too hot (it was 40c at 7.30am!) but even though it gets very warm when we were there (5th - 12th Sept) there was a gentle breeze and it is a dry heat unlike the weather that is humid in England (well when the suns out!).
They accept euros and the egyptian pound in the hotel and in most places in and around Hurghada. They also love it if you learn a little arabic or at least say thank you (shookra). The reception staff are very friendly always with a smile as were the waiters. Food was varied and they do a wide selection from French, English,Egyptian, German, Italian and Russian-and there was no one complaining of a dodgy stomach! The majority of people there were German, Russian and some Egyptian-but when we told the staff we were English they really were welcoming-and they love football!! Drinks are great with again plenty of variety. They supply you with towels for the pool and beach, you have to get a card (5euro deposit which you get back). The guys who are at the bazaar inside the hotel are rather pushy but they are trying to earn a living and as long as you barter or say that you arent buying anything they are fine.
On our last night we had a photo shoot with the photographer they have their. The member of staff that sold it to us said that we didnt have to buy anything if we didnt want to, but the photos were 3.50 euros each if we wanted any. We had a brilliant photo shoot with the photographer, we went throughout the grounds and beach, lovely photos. But once we got back and were choosing the photos he got rather disgruntled that I couldnt afford to have that many photos (I am a student! And I had 12 photos in the end). So we did have a word with the bloke that sold it to us (I dont think he spoke very good English), so if you have it done and you are a bit worried with the price, definitely say at the beginning of your photo shoot how much you are thinking of spending. We got our photos and had them put on a disc too- but when I got home mine werent on the disc- but luckily having a father who is also a professional photographer it wasn't that much of a prob!

On our way back, at the airport a man took hold of my friends suitcase and took us to the front of the queue then asked us for some money - luckily I had read about this on tripadvisor- we said we havent got any money!:/ And he just left us alone.

The mosquitos are a bit immune to the insect repellant though!

But all in all we had a brilliant time and are planning to go back but for 2 weeks this time and to go to Cairo to see the pyramids and do some diving!!!

We would def book with sunshine.co.uk again as you can see exactly what you are getting and how much it all costs individually.

Room Tip: The promo rooms are just as good standard, just cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.8 mi away
The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
7.1 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
AMC Royal Hotel
AMC Royal Hotel
#86 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nubia Aqua Beach Resort
Nubia Aqua Beach Resort
#95 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Festival Riviera
Festival Riviera
#167 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Km 12 Ahia Rd., Hurghada 01993, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#71 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#97 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The complex is located northwest of Hurghada directly at the hotel's wide sandy beach. Shallow entrance into the water with bathing platform (swim shoes recommended). El Gouna is about 10 km away and the airport is about 20 km away. Equipment: The extensive hotel consists of a main building and 3 outbuildings in total, it has 456 rooms. Everywhere the theme of film is reflected again. The breakfast and lunch is served in the main restaurant "Indiana Jones" buffet, dinner should be reserved in one of the 5 a la carte restaurants - including "Don Vito" - Italian, "Aladdin" - oriental, "007" - fish restaurant, Buffalo Bill "or" Oceans 11 "- international) in the buffet restaurant. The "Grease" restaurant offers fast food from 10 am - 12.30 pm and from 12:30 pm 7.00 am fast food. Lunch snacks are also offered at the beach from 12.30 pm - 14.30 pm hours from the buffet. Further facilities include a reception with a lobby (safe available at a charge), free WiFi in the reception area, 9 bars (Celebrities Bar, Adults only Bar [only in winter season], Coyote Ugly Bar, Beach Bar, Pool Bar, Disco Bar[drinks not inclusive], the vitamin bar[not inclusive], the "I Scream" cafe), lifts, disco (drinks for a fee) and amphitheater. In the middle of the complex is the attractive pool area with artificial river, "The Black Pearl" a pirate ship with 5 water slides for large and small. 5 other pools (one heatable) as well as a sun terrace with sunbeds and umbrellas. Bath towels are available upon deposit. The hotel also offers a laundry service, spa and doctor on site for a fee, a pharmacy and some shops are located in the hotel. Country: 4 stars Room types Double room: 2 single beds and a sofa bed (double bed on request), equipped with bath and shower / WC, individually regulated air conditioning / heating, satellite TV, telephone, WIFI for a fee, fridge (once at arrival filled with water and soft drink) Balcony or terrace. Double Superior: 3 single beds and a sofa bed (double bed on request), equipment such as double, but larger, Double Sea View: 2 single beds Facilities such as the double rooms (double bed on request), but have sea view or side sea view. The rooms have a balcony and are located in the main building, partly in the side area with a view over the entire complex to the sea. Family room: A double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed, located in the main building, equipped as the double rooms with view to the desert and are larger than the double rooms. No balcony or terrace. The family rooms type B are double rooms with a connecting door either balcony or terrace. Super savings room (economy): 2 single beds (double bed on request) have the same facilities as the double rooms, view to the desert, no balcony or terrace. Availability is limited. Catering Ultra All Inclusive: Breakfast 07: 00 am -10: 00 am in Indiana Jones Buffet Restaurant, 10.00 am - 12.30 am Late Breakfast in the "Grease" restaurant, lunch buffet from 12: 30 pm -14: 30 pm in the main restaurant and on the beach, coffee / tea and cake / pastry, dinner in one The 5 a la cart restaurants can be reserved (inclusive). 12.30 pm - 07.00 am Fast food in the "Grease" restaurant. Selected local alcoholic drinks and soft drinks 10.00 am - 0.00 am at the bars. Soft drinks and hot drinks in the "Grease" restaurant during the entire opening hours. Conversation: Varied entertainment and show programs, Shooting studio with movie accessories. 3 D cinema, one of the largest amphitheaters on the Red Sea Hidden Camera: Through a professional camera team, different funny scenes are recreated every day, which could surprise you during your stay. Every Thursday at the "Night of the Oscars" in the amphitheater the funny results are shown. Free Style: On your arrival the animation team will divide you into 3 -4 groups, in each group the guests will be assigned individual roles from the film industry. Director, writer, actor and Cameraman. Through the professional team, each group will create a 10 minute film, with their own ideas. At the "Night of the Oscars" you can present your short film and a jury will choose the best idea, the best film as well as the best actor. Cinemagram / Video clip: Slip into the role of your favorite star (actor, singer, etc.) for professional make-up. Afterwards you will receive your own personal video as an unforgettable souvenir. Movie Clip: Allow yourself a whole day of the hotel's professional team with the camera to accompany your activities and take the unforgettable memories directly on DVD. For child Separate children's pool with 3 water slides. German-speaking childcare, hourly in age-appropriate groups (4-12 years / 6 days per week). In the vacation teen programs, children's shows, special days and children's parties, playground, Kid's Disco. Sport Included: Aerobics, tap aerobics, aqua gym, fitness room, water ball,volleyball, beach soccer, table tennis, Giant chess, shuffleboard, mini golf, 3 Tennis courts Sport for a fee: Kite surfing school, diving school, tennis equipment and floodlight in the evening, billiards, horseback riding (horses, camel) Hotel service: Early check-in / late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Calimera Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Calimera Hotel
Calimera Golden Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing