We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best when go in a group”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #25 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed in the hotel with lagoon view. Full occupancy and people are everywhere. If you enjoy activities like surfing, snorkling, swimming, driking, the place is for you and it adds to the enjoyment if you are in a group or more than one family. The amazing part is to manage such a place with all the facilities as everything is inclusive. Very well maintained kitchen with variety of food at all the time. The whole place is well organized. People are very friendly and co-operative. Try to get a room close to swimming pools if you dont like too much walking. 5 mins walk opposite the road you have all shops to do shopping as well. Overall good experience

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinu235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 4,184 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2009

Stayed with Gate1 trip in June 2009.

Overall, it was average. The food IMO wasn't as bad as people have made it seem. It was lukewarm and there wasn't a ton of variety, but there was enough that you didn't starve and they always had staples like pasta and chicken. If you're only there a few days, that's good enough, but I suppose if you're there longer it might become a problem. It wasn't the best or the worst food on our trip.

The pools were nice, with plenty of loungers. Main one had a swim-up bar with soda and beer. Didn't try any of the restaurants except the included buffets because I heard they cost extra. Had wine once here but it was nasty. Smoked my only shisha pipe here, but it (from what our friends told us) cost a lot more here than it does elsewhere.

This place has a small fitness center with one treadmill, some free weights and one or two machines, but if there's more than two people working out, it gets crowded. When I was there, several staff members just kind of sat around and watched, talking amongst themselves, as I worked out in front of them, which was awkward.

The beach includes a man-made lagoon that was so calm it was like a salty, sandy swimming pool. Go beyond the lagoon to the real beach for a more authentic experience.

As others have said, the main problem here is all the sunburn-red Russians (and they are all, almost without exception, bright red.). They butt in line at the buffets and just seem to have an attitude problem. A story: I once sat in my lounger and watched as a Russian couple (know they were Russian because I could hear them speaking) with a small child, maybe a year old, went for a swim. I noticed them because they took off the child's diaper before putting him in the pool, and he ran around the pool deck screaming and naked. That was kinda funny. But I was grossed out when I realized they weren't changing him into his swim diaper -- that they were going to let him swim naked. Sure enough, within a few minutes, mom pulled the naked boy out of the water and I watched as she bent him over and wiped his backside with what I can only assume was toilet paper, then got back in the water with him. Needless to say, we didn't stick around that pool to see if anything floated by, but do the math -- you don't just pull a child out of the water and wipe him for fun.

That story aside, this place was OK, but nothing special. There were probably 50 other resorts in that town, and I've got to imagine that better all-inclusives are available if you're not stuck going to this one with a tour group like we were. I won't be going back and wouldn't recommend it, not because there's anything horrible about the place, but because everything about it was simply average to below-average and I know there's got to be better available.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superbrian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights during a 12 day tour of Egypt with Gate 1 Travel. The premises were fairly well kept, pool was large and clean, but VERY cold. Did not really go out to the beach area. Our room was standard, by North American standards I would say a "budget quality" room. One thing that I had read on Trip Advisor before and experience in our room as well as 2 other rooms within our group of people on the tour was broken patio door latches that they could not or would not fix. This posed a security risk and we were located on the first floor. The all inclusive title is a flat out lie. The only thing that is included is the AWFUL food in the mess-hall style main dining room and the soft drinks and beer around the resort. Any other restaurants around the resort charged to eat there, seemed about $15-20 US per person. Any type of juice there was also a charge for. Again at snack time, the place serving the snack charged $5 US for the snack which was a personal size pizza. Definitely not like any all inclusive I have ever gone to in North America or the Caribbean islands. My biggest issue with this place is the food was horrible. I have never not been able to find something to eat anywhere, but it happened at this place. I had thought about trying to eat at the pasta station but turned away when I saw the guy stir the sauce in the pan that he was heating, lick the spoon and stick it in the sauce again. Other features included beef liver with fried veggies, and the rest that looked literally like slop. Feeding time at the farm anyone? We never ate any meals here, couldn't bear it, even out guide recommended against it. We went into the downtown area of Hurghada one evening and ate at a nice place called Little buddha. Asian style place. The area is only about a 10 minute taxi ride and was very nice area to stroll around after dinner. Taxi ride was 20 EP there and 20 back. Not bad when you split between 2 couples.
If you have any other choice, DO NOT STAY here! There are many many other resort hotels all around this area, they have to be better than this. The area however, is very nice and take your guide up on the tours offered like snorkelling at Red Sea or the Desert Safari 4x4ing in the desert. These are definitely worth the money.
The hotel seemed nearly empty and the staff that we dealt with were friendly enough, but some did say how they don't care for the Russians and that they are often frightened by how they behave. We were lucky enough not to have to deal with that issue.
High speed internet was available, they charged 30 EP for 30 minutes. It was wireless so you can use your own laptop in the lobby (very smoky) or their computers. Other places in town like McDonalds have free wi-fi or much cheaper rates, but you need your own laptop.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Great food, a bit repetitive, but you are not moving in, are you!? Good beach, always plenty of spaces, beautiful corals with all the colourfull fish 20m away from the beach. Still, I wouldn't go there with little children. There is a lagoon for the winter months, away from the wind, but don't stay there in the summer, it's really a pond, you can be by the sea, I don't understand people who stay there in the day! Fish restaurant on the site is too expensive - avoid! The hotel is too far from the town centre, but you know it before you book it, you will definitely need a taxi to go to town. Staff friendly, but they always are in Egypt. Only problem I had was with a guy who cleans the pools, there are several on the site, including a proper olympic swimming pool, but you can only use them from 8am-8pm. All inclusive means you get three meals, coffee, coke, orange juice or beer throughout the day (10am - 10pm) Had to pay extra for a room with a sea view, (they don't have that many of them!) but that's often the case, I think it was about £3 per room per day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

This hotel is very nice, it's very large and at the moment only 33% full, mostly with Russians! The rooms are quite large and comfortable. They are cleaned daily and fresh towels changed daily. I was advised to tip little and often as to keep in with the cleaner, which I did, every three days. After leaving a second tip of LE20 the standard dropped, not drastically but enough for us to notice! The food is as Egptian food is for AI hotels, luke warm and plenty of it. Salads are plentiful and the variety of bread and rolls are good. You will get a jippy tum, I took Imodium Extra and it seem to work. If you do get it very bad a trip to the pharmacy will provide you with the remedy, they are used to us. The drink is local spirits and the Rum with coke is drinkable. You can get brand names at a price! The beach is lovely but while we were there it was exceptionally windy. Apparently it's Spring and they tend to get strong winds then. If you can get out of the wind it is very hot. We had a couple of overcast days but it was still warm and you still get burnt! Luckily one of those days we booked to go to Valley of the Kings, which I have to say is disappointing. All you see are shaft-like entrances with Hyroglyphics on both sides of the walls, the tunnels are only a few hundreds yards deep. All the treasures are in Cairo Museum, which is some distance away by plane never mind coach! Our Tour Guide was Egyptian and a former teacher of history, so he knew his stuff. He actally fed you too much information. He was the person who informed us about the Russians.He told us the reason they are so many Russians is because the Egypian Government needed to get tourism back on it's feet after that terrible shooting of a couple of tourists on a temple steps a few years back. So they offered the Russian people half price holidays and flights in the Red sea area. This was a five year contract due to end the year after next, but our Tour Guide to his dismay thinks it will be re-newed. My husband and I were in Hurghada 4 years ago and loved it, hence the reason we dicided to revisit, but sorry to say Never Again. The staff were fabulous they couldn't do enough for us, they are eager to improve their English, which they are taught in school.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moraybrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We arrived at the Desert Rose after the hotel we were supposed to stay in was overbooked - we were told we had been upgraded to a 5 Star, which the Desert Rose is most certainly not!!

Check in was quick, if not a little abrupt, but the cases arrived at the room quickly and were delivered with a smile. The room itself had single beds (but could be pushed together and the cleaners kept them that way), was clean and with a large bathroom area. Our only serious issue with the room was the constant calls we had to make to reception to ask them to fix the air conditioning!! Which, again, was done quickly but was annoying that it broke every day!!!!!

One thing we were pleased by was the private beach - a man made lagoon which got nicer the further away from the main hotel you went. The hotel offered aqua aerobics in the sea and dancing lessons during the day - the music was ear splitting within 300m of the "DJ booth" (hence the further away towards the sea you went the better!!), but they were enthusaistic and lots of people participated.

As a Brit (and we mean this in no hostile manner) the main problem with the hotel is that it was FULL of Russians - we think there were only another 2 British couples there with us. The staff hated the Russians and very quickly became friendly when they realised we were English.

As Russians were the main guests, the food was tailored towards their tastes. For our tastes (and we are by no means the burger and chip loving Brit types) breakfast was toast, omlette, boiled or fried egg, lunch was the same recycled food every single day from the previous nights meals (in salads etc) and the evening meals were very samey - rice, salad bar, meat option, chicken option, fish option that all looked the same and were lukewarm at best. We both suffered from very upset stomachs during our holiday and have done since we returned 2 days ago - we can only put this down to eating the meatballs.... so don't do it!!! We ended up eating plain tomato pasta with salad for 3 nights in a row for fear of more upsets....

As regards alcohol, if you would like an enforced detox then this is the place! The lager is OK but quite gassy after a while, the wine disgusting and all the spirits taste like paint stripper!! For a couple who enjoy dinner with a nice glass of red wine to be drinking fanta, you can see how bad it was. We both came back pounds lighter!!!

This is not an all inclusive 5 star resort, there are 4 restaurants that were deserted - you could have all inclusive drinks there (bring out the fanta!!) but had to pay for the food. In addition, if you wanted fresh juice, again, you had to pay.

We booked this holiday on a very last minute basis to get some peace and quiet, good time together as a couple and sun. We got all of those, but the Desert Rose made us realise that other things are just as crucial - choice of food that wouldn't poison you, a drink you could enjoy and fellow guests who were not rude, arrogant and Russian. We feel terrible writing this as fairly open minded individuals but it is true!! Different cultures...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarmerGiles40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Desert Rose is a fairly good resort with good rooms and a wonderful pool. It also has a manmade lagoon where beginers can learn water sports like wind surfing, snorkling etc. The service was slightly less than what one can expect in a resort of this kind. But a good getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rajesh1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,390 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
2.5 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#22 of 222 in Hurghada
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: km 16 Hurghada Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $53 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort - snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing