We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #20 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A nice place to relax and spend a few days. Good place for family. I stayed with my brother and parents for four days and had a blast. We got massages and spent a day scuba diving. The food is OK. Some things are fantastic, others have no flavour. I seemed to live on cakes! There are three restaurants to try for free. The seafood one was terrible but the Italian and Lebanese were fantastic. The only real negative is the pools are so cold. They look so nice but I couldn't stand the cold!
Most of the guests were Russians so I guess they don't mind so much! We went to the disco and bar in the evenings and everyone made sure to include us, even though most things are in Russian.
The staff are wonderful, most can speak English or at least can find someone who can. The rooms are beautiful and kept clean everyday.
I would definitely recommend stays of up to a week. You'll be sick of the food by then!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    575
    186
    79
    71
See reviews for
1,243
517
72
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a Nile-Crusade I was ill, when I came to the Desert Rose.
Mrs Julia, the doctor and all involved employees did theyr best to care for me. It was felt, that they were not only doing theyr duty, but had a real interest in my well being.
I enjoy to remember the friendlyness of all nearly all the people working in the Desert Rose, who never lost theyr smile facing any problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaatKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

stayed for only 2 nights in rapid trip in desert rose hurghada... really the place is fantastic ...pools ,aqua, lagoon, but mangement is not good ...i do not know why...majority of guests are russians ..food is not good...number of working persons was few but they did good jobs

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 horrible dishes & food was served ,I think U can,t taste it because it is the most worst .I was stolen by the employees of the hotel just before I leave & U will not hear any other language but Russian language in that hotel because 95% of guests are Russians. the Gym is only a picture in propaganda but nothing is working even the walking machine .Overall it was very bad experience.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmustafa1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rest I Hurghada from 14 to 21 Jan. 2013. Food I personally don't like it. All monotonous. The only thing I liked that it pastries (cakes, buns). Fruit practically was not. There were only oranges, green melon, grapefruit. A good location. Close to the center of Hurghada. 3 pools, 1 heated (only there and swimming). Drinks of local production is quite possible to drink. And the beer and wine (red, white and rose) is quite good. As well as gin, rum, tequila, and so on. also normal. Cleaning every day. For$ 1 make different shapes of towels and blankets. We had a room overlooking the road and nearby hotel, which is not very much. Wanted to change the room, we were told that all busy. Although the people there were very few, and in the restaurant for breakfasts, dinners, suppers and near the swimming pool. Then realized that in the room there is nothing to do, and the hotel is practically were not. In General I liked everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekaterina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent our holiday as a family with 3 kids.
All of us felt satisfied and we enjoyed each day.
Beautiful beach, friendly persons, everybody very polite.
Amazing gala night, with excellent food.
Great aqua park in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms directly to the beach, are quiet, sunny and perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluediver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odessa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from sun rise hotel and it was fantastic! Staff were all brilliant especially the animation team who did fantastic shows every night and where even at reception to wave us off on our departure. All of them extremely friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. Food was fantastic, always a great choice. staff friendly, always on hand to help I'd there was a problem. Lagoon was super also and rooms always spotless. Would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roman99ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.9 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
7.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dana Beach Resort
Dana Beach Resort
#21 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Rose Resort

Property: The Desert Rose Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort Snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing