We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family destination”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #24 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was good, but major issue we faced was lack of communication from hotel staff, the reason language being a big issue...staff could only understand Arabic or Russian..they could not speak or understand English...our room no 1105 was like a mosquito breeding room...even after spraying mosquito repellant..there were at least 25 Mosquitos in the room...there were lot of activities for kids around...but all activities and games were communicated in Russian language...overall we enjoyed our stay...except the mosquito issue...we are vegetarian, dinning staff has been cooperative trying to explain ingredients of the food...as these were not communicated by the names of the dish..and there was no demarcation of veg & non veg food

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chintu54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,079)
There are newer reviews for Desert Rose Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,857 - 1,863 of 4,083 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

hotel is near airport, very big and nice. room always clean and room staff make nice animals with towels. fish restorant. italian restorant. lebanese restorant and huge main restorant and all in all inclusive. alot of BBQ fresh food and good service.
three swiming pool and very nice big beach. aqua park free and 24 hours eat and drink. nice staff speak ruski. big gardens and kids garden. very very nice hotel. we will go there again

Room Tip: building 3 and building 6
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yana y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We would like to share our experience at the desert rose hotel. First of all; once we arrived to the hotel there was a fight between a russian women and one of the staff members (The staff member was hitting the women ; even if she was mistaken this should not have happened infront of anyone because the kids that were with us were scared to death). After that me and my wife received our room and we were shocked because we were given a twin bed instead of giving us a king size bed as per our request. The twin bed room problem was solved and we were given a room that is across the pool that has a king size bed but it was the most noisy room I have ever had. The noise was due to the fact that the windows of the room are not insulated enough and we could hear all the music that comes from outside. Beside all of that; the bathroom was not cleaned well everyday and it has a very bad smell. The last day of our vacation we had to wake up at 8 ocklock in the morning because they were mawning the grass outside the room. Furthermore; the food was not tasty at all although it was served in LARGE QUANTITIES that you you do not feel that you want the food at all. Finally; the hotel was full of low standard russian people with loud noise. So in coclusion; if you are looking for relaxation this is not the best hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just came 2 days ago from a week in desert rose with my wife and 11 months joujou; the week was very nice room in the 6000 building was large and huge bed with a view on the garden and one of the three swimming pool, the room was near to the beach near to the restaurant and near to he pool,
The animation team was amazing hope to c u again jessica, the animation team daily free show from (8-9 kids disco, 9:30-10:40 different shows) keep us in the hotel and didn't matter that the hotel is more than 1/2 hr from downtown althought the hotel arrange for shuttle bus 15$ to down town

There is also 2 kids slides on the pool beside an 8-9 aqua park slids in the hotel just beside the reception all for free

cola-beer-wine-juice available all the time, breakfast 7-10, 10:30-12 snaks,12:30-2:30 lunch, 3:30-5:30 snaks again,7-10 dinner, 10:30-12 late dinner, 3-6 early breakfast, all this with only 1500 EGP for all of us

May be this is a special offer as my company make a long term reservation for many rooms
there is a lot of bazaars, pharmacy, bars, market infront of the hotel but you may not need to go out the acitivites keep you inside all the time
the breakfast include every thing crossoisant, patee, egg, foul, falafel. cheese, salads, fruit

The only moderate thing in the hotel is the food for lunch and dinner not of high quality rice, vegetable, chicken/meat, fish, macaroni, beside some mix grilled but was nice
the desserts were really good
there is a lagouna in the hotel with a small part o f the beach on the sea, and amarine where we took the boat trip to giftun island

Room Tip: 6000 was near to every thing except the aqua park; have a look on the photos i uploaded the layout o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AfraKoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we enjoyed everything, even quick service if there is a negative thing. The rooms must be carefully inspected that they are 100% before and not after check-in. It will be nicer if it is possible to keep a room for few hours (free) for late check-out of a family. Inspite of that: comparing with other equal resorts>> Desert Rose Resort in Hurghada is one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EgyInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from August 13th till August 23rd as a family. I will start with the accommodation. Our room was specious, everything worked very well, TV had a few English channels with great movies, and the view was good. When we arrived at the check in my husband gave a tip to the receptionist- 20 dollars, and asked a good room so we were happy. The rooms are not so clean and the furniture is a bit outdated, the curtain in the bathroom was old and not so clean. I really liked all the pools, they were all the time clean. The beach was also kept clean and I was happy with the sea water too. I didn't like the main restaurant, not because of the hotel but because of the guests. There were 95% of the Russians, and don't get me wrong, I have nothing against any nation but most of them really lack some manners. They take too much of the food on their plates, they spill everything everywhere, they are too noisy and it seems like you are in a national restaurant for homeless people with all that noise. I am a bit picky about the food but still I could find plenty of variations for myself.

Room Tip: Always tip the receptions when you check in in order to get a room in which A/C and TV work without...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

it was the best holiday I have bin on. The animation team was the best I have ever had at a hotel, . They was always smiling when ever we seen them and would do anything for us to make sure we enjoyed are stay. There shows at night was really good .While I was there it was my birthday and the animation team organised for me to go up on stage to received a birthday cake that they had made for me! and tori would take us out for nights out, and make sure we all got back to the hotel safe which I think was really good.
The hotel it's self was really clean and tidy and are room was really nice and big. There was so much food to pick from which is really good . Me and my friends are hoping to go back in October again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#44 of 222 in Hurghada
2,325 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
2.5 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: $53 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort Snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing