We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A week in the awesome hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #22 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A week in the awesome hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just came 2 days ago from a week in desert rose with my wife and 11 months joujou; the week was very nice room in the 6000 building was large and huge bed with a view on the garden and one of the three swimming pool, the room was near to the beach near to the restaurant and near to he pool,
The animation team was amazing hope to c u again jessica, the animation team daily free show from (8-9 kids disco, 9:30-10:40 different shows) keep us in the hotel and didn't matter that the hotel is more than 1/2 hr from downtown althought the hotel arrange for shuttle bus 15$ to down town

There is also 2 kids slides on the pool beside an 8-9 aqua park slids in the hotel just beside the reception all for free

cola-beer-wine-juice available all the time, breakfast 7-10, 10:30-12 snaks,12:30-2:30 lunch, 3:30-5:30 snaks again,7-10 dinner, 10:30-12 late dinner, 3-6 early breakfast, all this with only 1500 EGP for all of us

May be this is a special offer as my company make a long term reservation for many rooms
there is a lot of bazaars, pharmacy, bars, market infront of the hotel but you may not need to go out the acitivites keep you inside all the time
the breakfast include every thing crossoisant, patee, egg, foul, falafel. cheese, salads, fruit

The only moderate thing in the hotel is the food for lunch and dinner not of high quality rice, vegetable, chicken/meat, fish, macaroni, beside some mix grilled but was nice
the desserts were really good
there is a lagouna in the hotel with a small part o f the beach on the sea, and amarine where we took the boat trip to giftun island

Room Tip: 6000 was near to every thing except the aqua park; have a look on the photos i uploaded the layout o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AfraKoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    552
    180
    77
    67
See reviews for
1,127
503
71
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor and Alexandria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

we enjoyed everything, even quick service if there is a negative thing. The rooms must be carefully inspected that they are 100% before and not after check-in. It will be nicer if it is possible to keep a room for few hours (free) for late check-out of a family. Inspite of that: comparing with other equal resorts>> Desert Rose Resort in Hurghada is one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgyInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuzla, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from August 13th till August 23rd as a family. I will start with the accommodation. Our room was specious, everything worked very well, TV had a few English channels with great movies, and the view was good. When we arrived at the check in my husband gave a tip to the receptionist- 20 dollars, and asked a good room so we were happy. The rooms are not so clean and the furniture is a bit outdated, the curtain in the bathroom was old and not so clean. I really liked all the pools, they were all the time clean. The beach was also kept clean and I was happy with the sea water too. I didn't like the main restaurant, not because of the hotel but because of the guests. There were 95% of the Russians, and don't get me wrong, I have nothing against any nation but most of them really lack some manners. They take too much of the food on their plates, they spill everything everywhere, they are too noisy and it seems like you are in a national restaurant for homeless people with all that noise. I am a bit picky about the food but still I could find plenty of variations for myself.

Room Tip: Always tip the receptions when you check in in order to get a room in which A/C and TV work without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

it was the best holiday I have bin on. The animation team was the best I have ever had at a hotel, . They was always smiling when ever we seen them and would do anything for us to make sure we enjoyed are stay. There shows at night was really good .While I was there it was my birthday and the animation team organised for me to go up on stage to received a birthday cake that they had made for me! and tori would take us out for nights out, and make sure we all got back to the hotel safe which I think was really good.
The hotel it's self was really clean and tidy and are room was really nice and big. There was so much food to pick from which is really good . Me and my friends are hoping to go back in October again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nataly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayoum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

well I've been to this hotel for the first time of my life , I'd like to say it's one of the best hotels I've ever been to , I will start with the overall atmosphere it's just great great friendly staff there , the food , well I can say It's not the best but still can do , the pools are awesome and the aqua park is so incredible , rooms are comfortable -a bit small but O.K.- , the beach is not sandy , well it's a kind of a man-made beach like a small lake , but the real beach is rocky great for snorkeling , the disco is good , the daily animation show is wonderful but sometimes a bit boring , I wouldn't recommend you guys drink the Egyptian alcohols there and ice creams are free for -12 kids and for money for +12 , anyway it's a great hotel I can recommend it to you all , msg me for more information ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very nice hotel enjoyed very much diffrent swimming pools &nice beach also a varity of resturants and very nice diffrent shows in the evening forgot to mention the cool aqua park area very intersting :-).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HazemNemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at the Desert Rose. The grounds are beautiful, and the POOLS!!!, the best! The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond for us. The food?....Incredible!! Our stay there is still one of the most memorable places we have been to. Would and WILL stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.9 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
6.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park
Jungle Aqua Park
#36 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
4.7 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 208 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Rose Resort

Property: The Desert Rose Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort Snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing