We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #25 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the hotel at the very beginning of May 2010. The teritorry is rather big. Sinse it was very windy there were always heavy waves in the sea. But there is also small lagoon there, where you can easily swim even if it's a windy day. You can also learn surfing there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,716
    799
    269
    115
    93
See reviews for
1,866
822
110
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nis, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This summer from 11th June until 25th June we stayed at lovely hotel Desert Rose(Hurgada,Egypt).Me and my family(husband and son 2 years and half age)have unforgettable holiday.Everything was great.Rooms are clean and big,you have enought place to put all your luggage and wardrobe in to the closet.Specially bathroom is much more bigger than we have at home.
Everything is well organised.Hotel has main building(reception) and 5 buildings around(24h staff is taking care about you and your needs).If you need doctor you just have to have insurance and you want pay.They give you local remedy,but dont doubt,they are very good and quick.
If you want to buy souvenir,no need to go out of hotel.Here you have around 10 shops to buy everything you want.and every Friday infront of main restaurant you can buy original Egyptian carpet from wool or leather.Offcourse you have to bargin.
This resort is like small town,you want meet the same people twice.
What to tell about food-24h French,Italian,Asian,Sea food every dinner different and delicious cakes,fruit yogurt...Best cappucino is on a Beach bar.
Beach is also large lagoon and beach at the open see and very,very clean with full time animations-bally dance and latino dance lessons,aqva gym...
Everywere you look you see paradise,palms,gras,flowers,blue water(from see or 3 pools or aqva park)Perfect well done-BRAVO!
Desert Rose is 5 star hotel and deserves every star he has.It is not just for family holiday (has kids club,mini disco at night,baby poll with play ground)It is also great for couples because is very romantic at night with candels in a bar near pool.It is great for single young people because disco is working every night from 11pm-03am,and during day you can play tennis,minifootball,learn windsurf or just lay laisy on a beach.
I would recomend this hotel to everyone.Visit Desert Rose you want regret!I am looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank endzi_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Large pools. A lot of space on the beach. A big bay.
A good place for children: 3 pools and 3-5 meters of shallow beach, water slides and water park, fresh pancakes, pastries and sweets.
No corals and fish, there is no entertainment for young people.
Children's discos.
Staff solves problems, but slowly.
A large area, lots of greenery.
In general, a good place for a quiet holiday.
The tourists - 90% Russian and Ukrainian.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I had been there in December for 2 weeks. Very big area. Excellent hotel in Hurghada.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murlakatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

*WARNING*: Hotel actively solicits positive TripAdvisor reviews by running a reward contest! This review is independent of that program.

Armed with the previous reviews, we managed our expectations for the Desert Rose and were very pleased with our vacation! Primarily, as some of the few English-speakers among a predominantly Russian clientele, we were treated like celebrities. All of the staff were thrilled to see us, went out of their way to address even the smallest concern, and actively sought us to encourage us to their activities. For some, the signage and announcements in Russian might be off-putting, but for us it was as though we had our own private resort.
Positives:
- Plenty of sun loungers throughout the day, beach or pool.
- Felt perfectly isolated from poor-man's Las Vegas that is Hurghada.
- Close to the airport BUT without traffic or flyover noise.
Negatives:
- The main building and rooms reek of old, wet smoke! Beware that you must request a non-smoking room in advance, and that there are few of them. However, if you get one of these and don't use reception or the pay-internet, then you can avoid this.
- The activities plan is unclear: You never know what's on when and where, and the Animation team don't either.
- Absolutely nothing to do if it rains (as it did 2 of our 4 days). No indoor swimming or activities, no Animation plan, NOTHING.

My partner and I disagreed regarding the food. He thought that there was a great deal of choice; I disliked the way that they used leftovers (chopped ham from breakfast in a chef's salad at lunch, for example) and thought that choice was limited.

Would stay again if in Hurghada, but likely no to both.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mov1ngMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2010

08.12.2010 - 15.12.2010
It is Super hotel! Sea, Shopping, Great food, Beautiful places, Room Service is 5*!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpatata135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed in Desert Rose last year for 1 week for a vacation. I should say that the hotel seems rather old, however the rooms are tidy and clean. The food and drinks there were good, though they were often serving the same stuff every day.
All the personnel was very friendly, nice and helpful. However, there were some Russians who were staying there too and their attitude to the personnel was very unpleasant. I think that's why some people get bad service. If you treat bartenders with respect they will respect you as well.
I used the spa center for a massage and it was quite a relaxing experience.
All in all, it was a nice and enjoyable vacation with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vwest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,261 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
2.5 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort Snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing