We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,503)
Filter reviews
1,503 results
Traveler rating
926
379
117
43
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
379
117
43
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castello restaurant family room fish shops opposite the hotel heated pool reception staff tennis courts beach bar non smoking table tennis superior room reception area sharm el garden view fantastic hotel asian restaurant our favourite
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,503 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2018

Dana Beach is definitely in top-5 Hurgada hotels so meeting Egypt's 5-star standards. It is rare when reality exceeds the expectation.

Services are at their top. Starting from cleaning rooms, serving at restaurants and up to doctor's cabinet with daily open hours (yes, we needed one for the kid). Btw: if you travel with kids - you will notice the locals are true fun of kids.

Seven restaurants (all having their on kitchens!), nice food and beverages must be addressed in separate revue. All tasty, fresh and diverse. Just note that you may have your lunch on the beach or try an international food almost 24/7.

I love windsurfing though it was a big surprise they have a spot right on the beach. It was not advertised. Of course I did some surfing few hours a day.

The beach is sandy, perfect for kids. Separated from the sea by a net stretched across the lagoon. So no big fish may come and easily bite, eat or steal a guest/wife/kid :)

You can walk on a sand bank to coral reef. The reef is 2/3 dead. Though worse snorkeling. for better snorkeling experience - dive from Dana's pier, to is right side. There is a big reef right in between Dana's and Desert Rose piers.

Rooms are clean and simple in design. I like it. Also loved their black-out curtains. Cleaning daily. What else one would need said you are not travelling to Africa for a room-staying.

Room tip: Try to pick pools view for silence to avoid discos from neighboring hotels. Rooms facing South or South-West take less noise from planes.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

Have just returned from a 10 day holiday at Dana Beach. We were a party of 6 English (3 couples) amongst what is predominantly a German hotel,but don't let that put you off. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. There are several pools to choose from plus the beach with plenty of sun beds umbrellas and a never ending supply of clean beach towels. There is a canal running through the beautifully kept gardens which will transport guests from the reception area to the beach. There is a good choice of restaurants including Asian, German, Italian and international providing well cooked food with plenty of choice. There are many bars in various locations around the resort. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
The service we received was excellent and in particular from Adel Kamal and Elseyad Mahmoud at the beach bar, Abd Allah the beach boy, Yasser Alawi who makes lovely scrambled eggs and our room boy Ahmed Sabry.
If we were to make a criticism it would be about the wifi which only worked intermittently and this was frustrating. It would also be good to have some early evening entertainment especially as it gets dark so early in October.
All in all this was an excellent hotel and we will back.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Di-and-Arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

I booked 2 weeks Hurghada, Dana Beach Resort as the rating on the other Holiday Portals was very good. Unfortunately, I do not share the opinion of many other guests of the great review. Perhaps it is also because I`m travelling a lot and can compare thus much.
Here is my resume:
Dana Beach Resort is a 5 star hotel resort. Unfortunately, I do not share the standard of a 5 star hotel.The hotel area is very large. It also consists only of hotel rooms, pools and restaurants. Within the complex there are only a few shops. A shopping mall (Senzo mall) is only outside the area, where you can go by taxi or a tuktuk.
Hotel area: rooms are a bit old. The wall paint is partially detached from the walls. It is also being renovated <block by block (work is day and night), so that you hear the building noise during the day. At night, the loud noise of the air conditioner drowns out the building noise. Rooms are clean at check in day, but they are not cleaned daily. By that I mean that you can feel the sand from the day before the next day, unless you give the room boy a tip. Even clean towels are not simply put into the bathroom. The room boy lurks in the evening on the guests and when he sees that they are back from the beach, he comes with fresh towels and holds up a hand for a tip. Tipping, this is something to follow every step and step one in the Dana Beach Resort. We booked all inclusive. But had already heard from friends, that it would be useful to exchange 50 USD in 1 USD bills to be able to give tip money. We had done that, but we did not want to believe it would actually happen that way. The experience has taught us something better. We did not tip at the beginning. We were also almost ignored by the waitress. All around us were served nicely, he is past us and when we called him, he has served us but wait a long time. Since we were traveling with a 2.5-year-old child, that had no patience to wait long for their drink, we also tipped and promptly we were served quickly and friendly. Since that we tipped for breakfast, dinner and at the Beach to get our drinks at the loungers.
The beach: the complex is very large, so you have to walk far to the beach if you live in the back room. But you can also take the boat inside the pond of hotel, which brings you to the beach. Otherwise you can use the many pools within the area. The children's pool is equipped with slide and games. However, the floor mat dissolves and rises in waves from the floor. When running through the pool you have to push it down with your feet so that children do not trip over it. The beach is equipped with many beach chairs, so that sufficient beach chairs were available. The sand, was pretty rough to stony. Children had to wear beach slippers to walk over it. The beach was also divided for the various resorts and thus limited and locked for others. You could not go for a walk on the beach, because you stood in front of a fence. The beach chairs were comfortable and the beach umbrella large. For each screen there were 2 beach chairs, 1 small table and possibly a chair. With Paravans you can shield yourself from a small private area. The annoying on the beach are the whole salesmen who bother you every day with trips, massage and other activities. This can be counteracted by asking for a red towel at the towel issue, which reads "Do not disturb". This one then attaches to the screen. Thus, the seller may no longer appeal to one. They do not always do that, but very often.
Restaurants: The food was good and adequate in the 7 restaurants. There are Asian, Arabic, German, the Marche, Food court, and yet another with good food. We had just opened a new restaurant with Ballermann music and they celebrate the "October Fest" with beer, sauceges, chicken grill and Haxen like in Muenich.
Safety at the pool and beach: there are lifeguards at the pools and also on the beach. The master bather at the beach is alone for a large beach section and by the way he cleans the beach. Lifebuoys are distributed in the sea and anchored to the ground. If someone has a problem in the water, he can not be there as fast as it may be necessary. In the complex there is a lake created, where you can ride with pedal boats. However, these pedal boats are not in good condition. We wanted to go with a pedalo but came in through a crack in the floor water. By the time we realized this, we were already off the jetty and heading for the lake. He is not deep. Only 1 to 1.5 m deep, but there were no ladder where we could climb out of the lake again. The jetty was glistening from the moss so you did not have to hold to climb out. We had to wait in the water until the next boat had brought the guests to the beach and helped us out of the water. On the subject of security, unfortunately, I could write even more bad experiences. The TÜV standards we know from Germany are missing in Egypt. All in one, it was 2 weeks with some good and bad experiences. For travelers who just want to spend their holidays on the beach or at the pool, this is a good hotel. For travelers who want to see something of the culture, country and people, it is mediocre. It may be a 5 Star Ressort for the Egypt standard but for a German standard it`s like a 3 Stars.

Room tip: Rooms with the Pool view are nice and good
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariannesiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The rooms were very clean and comfortable,the various resturants, the pool was very nice the beach was very clean also and the lagoon was new experience for me
“The hotel is wonderful and I like everything In this hotel”

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank gracewaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Famous hotel fur retired Germans. Most people are 60+. Very kid friendly. Large pool areas for kids and adults.
In general one of the better resorts in Egypt. Good gym also. Every machine is working well. Croudy gym in the morning. 11am is perfect.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank benjaminw182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews