We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort, but please change the mattresses”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dana Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
De Kwakel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great resort, but please change the mattresses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Dana Beach, especially after a disappointing experience in Sharm el-sheik last year this was going to be our last Egypt attempt. At arrival we were assisted and checked in very efficiently and friendly. We loved our room in building 3 on the ground floor as we enjoy sitting on the terrace till late in the evening. Rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is huge. Our only feedback concerning the rooms would be to change the mattresses, they are so hard it is like sleeping on the floor and by the end of the week my back was starting to hurt a bit.
We preferred the Castello pool as no one comes to harass you to sell safaris/dinner shows/massages/excursions etc. the beach was also beautiful but more salespersons.
Food was good and widely available, there was always somewhere to eat for those who wanted,loved the small pizzas made to order in the Italian restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    324
    101
    36
    33
See reviews for
421
512
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We returned on 24th Jan after spending 4 weeks in this brilliant hotel, where we went to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary, we were very sad to say goodbyes and leave. The first class service provided by the very friendly staff is excellent nothing is to much trouble for them. You have the choice of 5 restaurants (which you do not have to book like in so many other resort) German, Italian, Asian, Oriental and International, where there is a wide variety of dishes to choose from, hot, cold or your choice cooked in front of you. Our favourite was the Don Camillo where we were so well looked after by Mahmoud, Mohamed and Malak also of course the best chefs ever. Thank you all, we miss you. Not forgetting the other restaurants which are equally as good. Even on our 4th week we were still finding new dishes to eat because you have so much choice. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by very pleasant room boys, clean bathroom and beach towels every day, once again nothing to much trouble. They realised it was my birthday1st January and we came back to the room to find a nice display and birthday cake on the bed. The gardens and grounds are kept immaculate, also the very nice big beach is kept so clean. On the beach is a very nice beach bar serving drinks and snacks plus hot snacks and salads at lunch time. Every where is a credit to the staff. New Years Eve the hotel held a Gala Dinner which was fantastic, congratulations to the hotel on this event. We had the best new year ever made even better by our daughter and son-in law turning up that evening to spend the next week with us, its a new year eve we will never forget. Why more British Travel Agents do not use this hotel we can not understand. We can not wait to return to Dana Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Third visit to hurghada and very disappointed with this Hotel.

Indifferent staff especially the reception team who really could not be bothered to assist with a few issues.

Food was ok for breakfast but dinner was poor and Luke warm. Feedback given but management became defensive despite our constructive points being delivered in a polite manner.

Shame as could be a nice resort but we will not return as feel there are better options out there

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Webbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the best resort in North Africa by far!

Very good service, fantastically clean and friendly staff. Gardens are immaculate.

The lagoon reef has unfortunately been walked over and all the soft corals are now gone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lepraik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Dana Beach is a very nice resort. It is rated 5 star by Egypt ministry of tourism, but it's more like a 4 star. Food is good. Service is excellent. The grounds and landscaping are impeccable. Beach is average. They offer some amenities like a spa and horse/camel rides which I think are actually offered by vendors that are not managed by Dana Beach, because the quality is lower than the resort itself. The least satisfying was the Sudeya spa. I had two massages by a woman named Sahir. I felt that she hated her job and maybe didn't even have any training as a masseuse. The horse/camel ride in the desert which was offered by a vendor on the resort was not what as advertised. They gave no instructions to the riders at the start. Some instructions WERE given in the form of shouts when the rider and animal did not do as the guides intended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEl_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a waste of money

Unfriendly welcome most unusual for Egypt. Allocated poor room and staff not interested in changing us despite low occupancy.

Food very poor choice and poor quality.

Rooms poorly maintained.


Staff dis interested partly I think as the managers seemed to do little but belittle them.

A real shame as we have had much better experiences in Egypt before.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank helenstone45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were one week in Dana Beach Resort. The food was great great. There are 6 restaurants the buffet is equipped and there is something for everyone. The staff worries agitating about a, we were very satisfied. Plates were changed quickly, for a drink you never had to wait. And the cleanliness in the restaurants was excellent. Which we personally liked a great deal, was directly at the beach a beach bar. So you could always (all-inclusive ) Cola, water, juice and so on. Get-of course all inclusive. The sea was clean. It was all 6 hour low tide and high tide. When the tide was had one stop 100 meters to the waves walk, which we personally didn't bother us. We traveled as a couple, it give however gaucher many playgrounds and pools for the kids. The complex is very nice and clean. They put our opinion a lot of emphasis on the cleanliness as on the rooms. With the room service we were very satisfied. Fresh towels every day, the room was every day very clean and what we also liked a great deal. The safe is free. We can only recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpit_Jaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.6 mi away
Albatros Palace Resort
Albatros Palace Resort
#39 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#40 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#29 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Beach Resort

Property: Dana Beach Resort
Address: Sahl Hashish Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dana Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 841
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Beach Hotel Hurghada
Dana Beach Hurghada
Dana Beach Resort Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing