We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dana Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$75
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$209
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$171
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$500
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$195
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea World(Hurghada)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveler rating
870
361
113
42
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
361
113
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastello restaurantfamily roomfishgerman restaurantshops opposite the hotelheated poolreception stafftennis courtstable tennisbeach barreception areasharm elsuperior roomall inclusive resortfantastic hotelkids poolenglish guests
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We booked via budget airline and online hotel website.
15 minutes from airport, so for comfort a great location. We arrived and were taken very swiftly via golf buggy to our room. We had the two plus two family room, with two balconies overlooking the Lagoon. Spacious, airy and comfy. TV limited to BBC World, all others in German plus a Polish music channel. Water, Coke and Fanta supplied in mini bar once a day at no extra charge.

Guests are from many parts of Europe, with German the primary language spoken and English spoken very well too, by pretty much all staff.

Bank and ATM in entrance. Tours quoted in Euros, shops in Egyptian Pounds.

Staff were very helpful and polite.

Pools were great, something for everyone. Kids slides mainly for the under 12's.
Cold water pool was great to freshen up.
Main heated pool had lovely swim up areas to peep over at the lagoon.
Posh pool, which was heated and had canopied sun beds.

Beach area was large and you could walk on water out to the sea.

The Lagoon that runs around the resort is lovely. It has lots of fish to watch. You can buy food to feed them. The taxi boat ran regularly to transport you to the different areas or you could take yourself out on a pedalo.

Restaurants. Largely the same core dishes in every one. However, each one had its fresh order cook, with a specialty every night. Themes are Italian, Egyptian, German, Mediterranean and a new one from last year, Asian. BBQ and fresh cooked bread is served on the beach during the day. You can eat and drink at all times of the day, somewhere on the resort. Crepes by the pool in the afternoon everyday. From 10.15 the children can get ice creams, although the waiters will say no to them if they think they have visited too much!

Alcoholic drinks are all local brands and are OK, if you a wine lover you would be disappointed. The cocktails are ok but the spirits are a bit harsh. The beer is very nice. There is never a problem getting a tea, coffee, soft drink or hot chocolate anytime of the day.

Plenty of playgrounds for the younger children.

Mini golf and petenque well kept. Giant chess near the beach. Organised beach volleyball and darts competitions every day.

We enjoyed our stay with our two children under 12. The staff do not expect tips but are grateful when you do.

Evening entertainment is too samey and could do with a revamp.

We only did local excursions, via companies in the hotel, but the jeep safari was great fun and definitely worth doing. The Submarine trip is OK, but if you like snorkeling better to do that.

The SPA near the Artists is the same price as UK, but for some treatments you had use of the whole SPA.

There are shops onsite, they are expensive and you can easily step outside onto the strip and buy what you need in a huge convenient fixed price shop. There is also a pharmacist on site, 24/7 medical clinic and a pre-bookable gym.

Cannot really think of a reason to complain. We relaxed quickly and would seriously consider going there again.

Room Tip: Try different areas of hotel, it adds variety
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheIntrepidTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We booked this holiday without going down the package route...we booked cheap flights with Thomas Cook charter and then went through You Travel to book the hotel and transfers. We paid £500 pp and think this is the best value holiday ever!

Hurghada is further south than Sharm so the flight time is longer; it’s not as protected as Sharm so it does get quite windy. The area itself is similar to most of Egypt, lots of unfinished buildings and lots of gaps between hotels. It looks quite derelict but the hotel more than makes up for the surroundings. Airport was pretty straightforward; do take dollars or sterling to pay for the Visa which you HAVE to buy, not like in Sharm where it’s optional. The transfer time was about twenty mins and check in at the hotel was easy. A little golf cart takes you and your bags to your room!

Our room, 3139, was lovely, massive bathroom, clean sheets and towels every day, mini bar stocked daily! Had a garden view and was two minutes from the beach. Hotel itself is massive; they have a boat that goes from one end to the other which is free and very helpful in the heat.

Restaurants are great - no tummy bugs on this holiday! It is mostly buffet so the range is somewhat limited but they have a massive salad bar, a grill doing fresh chicken or steak, a guy who makes up pizzas and pasta dishes especially to order. Breakfast is the usual, pastries, fruit, yogurts, eggs and hams etc. Dinner is similar to lunch though they do have a few restaurants to choose from. Resort is mostly German so they have a German themed restaurant which serves...slop and unidentifiable vegetables as far as I could tell! Don’t go there. The Asiatique restaurant was brill...pretty standard stuff, egg fried rice and beef in black bean sauce etc. Not exciting exactly but tasty! Wine and spirits are pretty strong but the beer is lovely.

Didn’t bother with the entertainment much...they had singers in a few times which sounded nice enough. It was quite chilly in the evenings so we didn’t sit out too late. It’s very windy so make sure you take cardi's and light jackets. The daytime is hot, high twenties to early thirties so don’t worry about it being cool in the day; it’s literally just the evenings.

Service is good, tipping isn’t expected but it’s appreciated and will get you more attentive service (saved tables, drinks bought the minute you walk in etc). The pool but reception is heated and quiet with massive beds to lie out on. That was our favourite. Hotel shop with FIXED PRICES in the window is soooo cheap - flip flops and hats for as little as £1. Final thing, sea was pretty chilly, had a few jellyfish too so be careful and it wasnt really the place for snorkelling. Didn't see many fish so if thats what you want this may not be the hotel for you.

Overall, we loved this holiday. There is nowhere to go outside of the resort and the resort doesn’t have many English people but if you want to stay put and relax and you aren’t worried about socialising, this is the place for you! We have booked with You Travel a few times and found them to be cheap, efficient and only selling holidays to above average hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed at Dana Beach Resort in ian. and we have a very nice holiday. The hotel is the best hotel we have stayed in Egypt. We were in Egipt for the third time, and this hotel was amazing, the food was good and plenty, many restaurants to choose - assiatique, kaiser, don camello, castello, le clef de'l orient - all with very good food and variety. The staff were very friendly and very well trained. There was one big heated pool, and another pool, smaller - heated too with jacuzzi. We can do more in the resort : bar Alexander - with live music were you can dance, another bar were you can watch sports, a library - too play cards or other you like, lobby bar with piano music-live till 23, Havana Club - disco - we didn't go there. I would definetly come back again if the political athmosphere will be OK.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NadiaSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I am writing having just returned from one of the best holidays ever with my partner at the excellent Dana Beach hotel.
The whole resort is spotless and the attention to detail,quality of food and service and choice is first-class.
The beach and snorkelling off the pontoon , on one of the trips or even from the sandbank was brilliant too.
We must give special praise and thanks to the whole team at the Asiatique restuarant where the food and the tandoori ovens and the way they prepared and served Thai,Indian and Chinese as an Asian Fusion was of the best quality.
The whole team at Dana Beach sought to deliver fantastic customer service .The heated pools and facilities for disabled customers was great too. We met some fab couples from Germany and the atmosphere and ambiance were fantastic. Cannot wait to return one day.Keep up the excellent work and dance the night away at the Bella Italia bar. Steve and Sharon from the Wirral UK.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevevonBayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

have just returned from spending xmas there, if you are looking for a clean, well run hotel with good food and pleanty of facilities this is the one to choose. If you have requested a room with balcony make sure that is what you get as there are some rooms without. Great kids pool with slides etc plus really warm water next to it there are swings so pleanty to keep the youngsters happy. We are thinking of going back, we met people that had been back several times so go ahead and book you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank essexgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews