We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overall a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alf Leila Wa Leila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Ranked #26 of 208 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overall a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Spent a week in this resort/hotel in March 2013. Hotel is quite big, about 600 rooms, 4 restaurants, a bunch of cafés and bars, a lot of pools, gym, shops etc. March is probably a low season because there was always a lot of space by pools, in the gym, in the restaurants etc. Really nice to not have to stand in long lines etc.

Rooms were great (family room in the 400 area). Big rooms, good beds, bathroom was ok, terrace and about 5 meters to the closest pool and 15 meter to the closest bar. Cleaning of the rooms was a bit so-so, if you gave some tip then you got a lot of attention (20-40 Egyptian pounds), if you didn't then no attention.

Wifi in the rooms was random at its best, but worked more or less ok outside (like by the pools or in other public areas. The bandwidth was really poor, so sometimes you could not use it at all when other guests were updating clogging the pipes with facebook updates and instagrams uploads.

Service was good and bad in the bars and restaurants. Some were uninterested (and then i describe them nice), some were great. Also here tips was a good way to get some extras. Giving the bar guy some money assured you awesome service!

Food was a bit like the service. We tried all four restaurants (main/mixed, Italian, Moroccan, Asian). Overall best was Italian, Moroccan had great deserts, Main was always a safe choice (they had plenty of different dishes so you could always find something) but Asian should be avoided since it was bad, bad, bad. Breakfast buffet was really good. Freshly made pancakes, omelets and bread. Lots of vegetables and fruits etc.

Shopping wise it was not so good. In the hotel area there are some 8-10 shops selling T-shirts (great quality, good prices), tourist stuff, dresses, bags etc. About 500 meters from the hotel there is a big mall but it seems very new and many shops are still in progress. Will probably be much better in a few months.

Many reviews complains about a lot of Russian and German guests. But to complain about a certain nationality is just stupid. During my stay I saw a lot of russians, swedes, germans but neither were better or worse than others.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400 area was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kimlean0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    292
    96
    47
    35
See reviews for
320
413
41
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice hotel,room 543. Good food. My favorite one - moroccan restaurant. Staff were very friendly. Room always clean. Next to the hotel is shopping mall.
But hotel is too big to keep everything under control. Next to our room were reconstruction works from 4.30a.m. No one couldn't help us:) We changed hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Room 440: Bathroom need upgrade, excellent cleaner and staff generally. 15 min walk to the Read sea or shuffle buss. Short walk to shopping with fixed prices. Food are ok, nothing more. Mainly because of Russians with no manner. This is NOT only for this hotel. The Russians should keep the Black sea. They are destroying all the nice places. Bringing out kg's of fruit and similar. Shame on you (but you don't know what shame is), of course ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaBibow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great hotel with very good service. 5 restaurants offer wonderful food. Recommend the Italian restaurant for breakfast - very good cooks.
Family Hotel, parts of the hotel has its own pool.
Give a tip $ 1 - is sufficient if you leave a man / man is always / a clean room, everything will be fine and the fridge will be full in mineral water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We arrived on the 28th of January for a winter break at the reception they asked us to wait 10 minutes and then they gave the key to a room that was a twin room but we are 3 cos my 13 years old daughter came with us they told us they would add a bed but if they had we wouldn't have moved anymore cos the room was really very tiny so I went back to the reception and the guy very kindly told me that he would have give us another room so we moved next to the main swimming pool in a nice room unfortunately night time as the discotheque is very near by we couldn't sleep until 4.30 am so I asked to be moved again this time they gave us a very nice room with double bed just on top of the tangine restaurant nice quite and very big
The Restaurants if you are in a all inclusive situation are 4 you can choose from Cave du Roi is the biggest one every night they have something different Tangine is the marocco restaurant also very nice La casa should be the italian Restaurant but frankly as an italian I don't understand why as there is nothing Italian going on there there is also a restaurant l asiatique that makes very nice oriental food.
Food is different every day and there is so much to choose from that I frankly don't understand how you can get bored
The only negative side is that the place is full of Very Rude Russian NOT FUNNY AT ALL BUT THEY SEEM TO BE ALL OVER SO YOU NEED TO LIVE WITH THIS
Staff is manly very friendly with some rude one but those are all over the world so again we need to live with it Shame that there is no music in the afternoon from 1 till 3.30 the place dies down and its s shame as you are in holiday and expect a bit of more things during the afternoon entertainment is ok not big deal with Egyptian night boccia volley ball belly dancing darts the usual stuff in the afternoon there is some zumba but its always the same stuff perhaps a bit of latino dance like salsa merengue or any other kind will be nice as frankly I find Belly dancing a bit boring all together its a nice place very big with loads of shops and things to see you dont even need to go out because it is so big I have the feeling that communications between parts cannot be kept under control very well there is a leek of organisation to but as i said in the global is a nice place

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at Alf Leila Wa Leila January 2013 for 2 weeks all inclusive. Its good value for the money, Food is good if you change around the different restaurants each night and generally the dishes are of an OK standard. Rooms were of good size and were always kept clean as was the hotel and all the areas within it . This is a very popular hotel with Russian and Germans and at this time of year which is the Russian Christmas holiday period you will feel in the minority if your British., However that didn't effect me in any way due to having a Russian Girlfriend, But they are no different from us all and are looking for a nice holiday.
I would recommend this Hotel to Singles,Couples and Children and would give it 7 out of 10
What i will advise is to take care is of Taxi drivers who's main goal in life is to rip off tourists, I have been to Egypt many times and I'm very savvy to the workings of these people.
You can travel from this Hotel to Down Town Hurghada 15/20 minutes Journey for 25/30 Egyptian Pound (£2.50/£3.00) They will try and get up to 100 Egyptian and more I have heard of some people paying 30 Euro. Don't be conned make the price before you get in and make sure he understands that you will only pay the figure that you agreed before you got in If its 25 Egp pound than that's all he gets ! a local will only pay 5/6 Egpt Pound for the same journey.

Room Tip: 400 upwards are newer and dont get room near reception or the bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just got back from this hotel after a bit of winter sunshine.
The hotel is by and large fine! It is very big but spread out so you never really seemed crammed in – although when we were there (Jan 2013) got to say it was not full so could be an entirely different story in high season.
The rooms are large and spacious with the biggest shower cubicle I have ever seen, also quite a large fridge, free safe and a massive bed and large balcony – we were in room 650 and it was fine – no complaints and kept very clean. One point particularly for the ladies there was no spare plug sockets in the room.
Food – hmmmm. Mass catering – what you would expect from an all-inclusive, quite repetitive and caters mainly for the Germans and Russians – in fact staff automatically think you are one of these two nationalities, this does get quite annoying after a while.
The hotel has 6 pools some of which are quite intimate and very quiet – my advices have a good walk round the place to get your bearings and then decide. The main pool is quite noisy and is where all the action is – not my cup of tea.
The staff around the “non active” pool are great and the pool boy is fantastic – a small tip and he will reserve you your sun beds and have them ready for you every day – we gave him 50 Egyptian pounds and he got us everything we needed – the same goes for the bar staff. The rest of the staff especially the reception staff look as though they have had a good slap, never once did I see a smile or a nice to see you or how can I help you not very good customer service!!!!!!!
The hotel does run a free bus service to the beach every day for you to use the facilities and there sister hotel at the Dana Beach, although it is only about a 10 min walk.
Overall would I go back to this hotel – probably not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billy1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park
Jungle Aqua Park
#37 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#11 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 3,014 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 208 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#31 of 208 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alf Leila Wa Leila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alf Leila Wa Leila

Property: Alf Leila Wa Leila
Address: Safaga Rd., Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alf Leila Wa Leila 4*
Number of rooms: 567
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alf Leila Wa Leila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alf Leila Wa Leila Hotel Hurghada
Alf Leila Wa Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing